We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boston in July”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Ranked #70 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Boston in July”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My experience at this hotel was very good. The hotel is showing its age, but was clean and comfortable. There was a distinct odour in the room, but was otherwise in very good shape. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located well, I was able to use the free shuttle, or walk one block north and catch the #1 bus to the Massachusetts subway station, which took about 10-15 minutes. There is a large hospital located nearby, so there were plenty of sirens to be heard, but didn't bother me. Boston is a place where drivers use their horns liberally, so there is traffic noise no matter where you go.
The hotel is on the border between a nice area of town, and an area that is a bit more depressed. You will therefore see several street people hanging about, but they never approached me and were not a problem. I would recommend this hotel. Overall very good, other than the musty smell and the breakfast buffet was very basic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 888Mike813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback.We hope you had a wonderful time in Boston and look forward to seeing you back at our hotel in the future. We will be renovating in 2015 so hopefully you will return to see the changes we make.
Thank you,
Jennifer B.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    470
    223
    114
    62
See reviews for
425
270
38
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not in the best neighborhood and my room was clean, but smelled like mildew. I can't imagine it was good to be breathing that in during my stay. Be careful walking around this neighborhood in the morning and night. Otherwise it was fine

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank misteri0ustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Roundhouse and contrary to some reviews we had No issue with noise. We were on the 5th floor Mass. Ave front. Sure there was an occasional siren but you are by a hospital & in a city. Every city has sirens. They were few & didnt bother us.
The Free shuttle with Enrique was Great to go to the Red Line.

If you are on the 5/6 floors you can have breakfast brought to your room, a great convenience for our schedule, Theo was very polite and prompt. The food service Manager is young, ambitious, pleasant and wants his guests happy.

The Front Desk staff, Helen & Ashia, know customer service. They were always smiles & very helpful.

If you want a Convenient Hotel, Comfortable Beds, Great Service, Free Parking, Free Shuttle To Red & Orange Line Plus the Mall & Free Breakfast this is your Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catwmn2xVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank You for your feedback. We are happy to hear that your stay was pleasurable and hope you enjoyed Boston! Please keep us in mind for your future stays in Boston..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

After flying in from Portland, Oregon, I was disappointed to find my reservation had been cancelled. Now, yes, I had changed my mind and made and cancelled 2 reservations a few weeks earlier, but the third reservation was not cancelled by me. Ariana apologized and said it was cancelled and asked for help from her co-worker, Helen. Helen said it had been cancelled and the hotel was sold out. I went to my emails to show, again, my confirmations and, to her credit, her customer service was incredible...never questioning my belief, but apologizing for the cancellation.

I left the front desk to double check my email confirmations...and compose myself. When I returned Helen had found a lovely suite for us to stay the night at the price of my original reservation. She and Ariana were great. It's always a difficult situation for everyone, but she handled it professionally.

The next morning, Thelma was most helpful in sending us on our way to the T with their shuttle. And our driver, Enrique, confirmed how to contact him upon our return.

People were great. Noise mentioned my other reviewers didn't affect us and we were on the front of the building. Breakfast standard fare. Parking included was the biggest pull for me. At $45 a pop at every other hotel, we saved a bundle.

Yes, I would recommend this hotel for Boston stays. A bargain in Boston.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccer3655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Traveler,

What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to review your property with us and share your fantastic experience! I will be sure to share your kind words with Helen, Ariana, Thelma and Enrique. We will be renovating at the end of the year - do keep in touch and come in back in 2015 and take in the new face lift!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Pros: Free parking, free wi-fi, nice breakfast included. Plus the rooms are quite large compared to what you'll typically get in the heart of the city.
Cons: The location is marginal. It's fine if you are planning on driving everywhere - but parking in Boston is hard to find and expensive. It's a 20 minute walk to the T....and some won't care for the neighborhood (it's old and industrial....definitely not Beacon Hill!). They do offer a shuttle, but it's a roll of the dice about how long it will take them to pick you up. And for added fun, the lock in the business center was broken, and we literally got locked inside until we could flag someone down to break us out.
So if you're OK with the shortcomings, it's not a bad hotel. The staff were quite nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi Tom,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry about your experience in the business center! Rest assured the lock has been fixed! We will be renovating near the end of this year - I invite you to return and take in our facelift in 2015!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I just stayed at the Roundhouse Suites for 3 days, and we were quite happy with this choice for Boston Hotels.
The staff were all very polite, professional and pleasant, from front desk to cleaning staff and everyone in general.
The rooms are a comfortable size, and they were kept clean.
This is not a luxury hotel, but it had everything we wanted and needed at a reasonable price.
Not what I would recommend if you don't have a car to get around, since it is away from the downtown core, but with a car it is a very quick drive.
Free Wi-Fi was adequate speeds for checking e-mail and general browsing.
Overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pitfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Traveler,

Thank you for your review! I am pleased to see you enjoyed your room enough to post pictures! We will be renovating at the end of this year - come back in 2015 and take in the face lift!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were in Boston to attend our son's graduation. This is an excellent hotel with clean rooms and free parking. There is a free shuttle to area locations. The hotel staff is very accomodating - they allowed us to check out after attending church on Sunday .There is a breakfast buffet downstairs, but can be overcrowded.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi Bill,

Thanks for the review! I appreciate you taking time out of your day to reflect upon your experience here. We will be renovating at the end of the year - be sure to come back and take in our new look in 2015!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Boston Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Address: 891 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA 02118-2607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#55 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Boston Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Hotel Boston
Best Western Roundhouse Hotel
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing