We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun way to spend an afternoon!”

Bites of Boston Food Tours
Ranked #6 of 50 Food & Drink in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Get off the beaten path and get a "taste" of Boston's most vibrant and delicious neighborhoods - literally and figuratively! During our tours, guests can expect to not only taste delicious local food specialties, but also to learn about the chef/owners behind each of these eateries, and to to visit and learn about unique points of local historical, architectural and cultural interest in the neighborhood. Our tour experiences are filled with food, facts and fun! All food tastings are included in the ticket price and collectively provide enough food for a satisfying lunch for most people. This tour covers approximately 1.5 miles in 3 hours and is suitable for a variety of ages and fitness levels.
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The walking food tour was fabulous! My husband and I live in the Southend but we still learned so much about the history, architecture and restaurants with our wonderful tour guide Alyssa. There is definitely enough food tastings and interesting information on the chefs and their restaurants.

1  Thank Penelope611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitesofboston, Manager at Bites of Boston Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you - it is always an honor to host our own neighbors on the tour! We often learn as much from you as you do from us, which goes to show there is always something new to learn and explore - even in our own backyards. Thanks for joining us and we look forward to seeing you around the South End!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"south end"
in 184 reviews
"fried clams"
in 21 reviews
"flour bakery"
in 14 reviews
"meatloaf sandwich"
in 14 reviews
"great tour"
in 34 reviews
"elephant walk"
in 8 reviews
"cheese shop"
in 8 reviews
"walking food tour"
in 7 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 19 reviews
"wrapped in bacon"
in 5 reviews
"food establishments"
in 5 reviews
"three hours"
in 15 reviews
"chocolate chip cookies"
in 6 reviews
"local history"
in 9 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 14 reviews
"fun facts"
in 10 reviews
"fun afternoon"
in 5 reviews
Filter

217 - 221 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

we enjoyed the tour - 6 bites was enough but it should have included only one dessert
Also would have preferred a different restaurant tasting than the cheese store
Also the appetizer at the Venezuelan was not very imaginative
The meat loaf sandwich was exceptionally good
and the Fried clams!

Alyssa does an excellent job - enjoyed learning about the history of the south end

Would like to have spent more time at each spot - would think that the businesses would also have liked people to have the opportunity to check out other local shops on the way and to have been able to purchase a few things ( like a dozen of the FLOUR bakery cookies - delicious

Thank catherine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitesofboston, Manager at Bites of Boston Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed the tour, especially loved 3 of the foods you tried and found your guide to be excellent. We regret this translated to only an "average" experience for you. While you may not have loved some of the tasting locations as much as others, we have done our best to illustrate the eclectic variety of eateries and food options available in the neighborhood. With so much variety, what appeals most to some will naturally be different for others. In our opinion, this is a big part of what makes our tour unique and fun!

As for the local businesses - yes, I am sure they would love to have people visit their shops anytime. However, this is not a shopping tour. This is an organized walking food and neighborhood tour designed to showcase Boston's South End - past and present. We never want any of our guests to feel any pressure to purchase anything along the way. However, we do provide a handy map of our tour route, including all tasting locations visited, to make it easy for any guests who wish to further explore the neighborhood to do so after the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was an expensive tour and only 6 tastes of food. There was too much info given on the South end of Boston and not enough restaurant "bites". The restaurants were good but samples were mostly small and we were not even allowed to buy anything due to time constraints!! There would have been plenty of time to buy if tour guide (who was nice and knew a lot about the area and local chefs) shared less information. My family and I would not recommend this tour unless you want a lot of history and very little food.

1  Thank karen202014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitesofboston, Manager at Bites of Boston Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. While we appreciate all feedback, it is unfortunate your expectations were not in line with what we offer. We have done our best to accurately describe the Sweet & Savory South End tour experience on our website. In fact, your main complaints are actually specifically addressed in our FAQs section as copied directly below:

Can I make purchases during the tour?
Seeing as the tour has been coordinated in advance to ensure an on-time tour and fresh food-tastings, it is critical for us to stay on schedule throughout the tour. We do ask that you refrain from shopping until after the tour, but we will provide all the information you need to return to your favorite spots easily.

How much food is served on the tour?
The tour includes 6 food tastings, enough for a satisfying lunch for most participants.

This tour is a carefully crafted, organized walking food AND neighborhood tour of Boston's South End. If you are looking for 6 full meals in 6 restaurants with additional time to shop, this is not the tour for you. However, if a creative afternoon filled with local food, culture and history in the company of a knowledgeable local guide sounds like fun, we look forward to seeing you in the South End soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I thought this walking food tour was outstanding. You learn about chefs and restaurants. But for me the highlight was the architecture and the history. Alyssa is very knowledgeable and pointed out many things of interest. The amount of food is perfect, not too much and not too little. The amount of walking is also perfect.

3  Thank GwenM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitesofboston, Manager at Bites of Boston Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for your glowing review! We are so glad you thoroughly enjoyed the tour and were able to enjoy the South End for the wonderful neighborhood it is!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I absolutely loved the Bites of Boston food tour. It was a fantastic way to see the less touristy side of the city. I would suggest going there early in your trip (if you are visiting out of town). We left with a list of restaurants we can't wait to check out during our next visit! We also learned a lot about the city and the South End neighborhood. Overall I would recommend this tour to anyone!

2  Thank MaggieandGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bites of Boston Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Bites of Boston Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing