We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, functional, updated rooms”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #64 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Central location, functional, updated rooms”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. It was our first time in Boston, and we were looking for somewhere that wouldn't break the bank. We were warmly welcomed when we arrived and were able to leave our bags until check in. The rooms are cozy, but we were not planning on spending much time in them anyhow. We had enough room for our bags and ourselves. i wish that we had gotten a queen size bed, but the space was sufficient. the bathrooms are beautiful, and i really enjoyed the overhead speaker system. The lounge area had computers and space to eat breakfast, and at night, the hotel has a hopping hotel bar. the continental breakfast was good. Bagels, donuts & fruit. i would definitely stay here again. you can't beat the value or the location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smarties79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    384
    93
    44
    25
See reviews for
65
400
119
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel because of recommendations on TA. Unfortunartely we were very disappointed.The plus points are the location and the fact that there is free wifi in the hotel. Other than that, it wasn't good. We had booked one of the 'larger rooms' and it was tiny. The 'wardrobe' was only long enough for shirts, not for dresses. And there were no drawers/cupboards - we were supposed to use the shelves which were also covered in ornaments! And then there was breakfast - best summed up as the worst we have ever had, anywhere! Unfortunately we were booked for three nights - on our return after five days in Cape Cod we stayed at the Lennox which is literaly across the road but light years away in terms of quality; and we got a room for a lower price!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francoberri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We needed a nice place to stay that wasn't $300 to $400 a night like all the other hotesl, and Charlesmark fit the bill. As other reviewers have noted, GREAT location near the T and premiere shopping. The rooms are very small, but very nice and modern. I was doubtful about our room assignment on the second floor, given comments about the bar noise; however, our room was toward the back of the building, and it was nice and quiet. As other reviewers noted, you can hear footsteps from the room above. All hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. One small complaint: we'd asked for a wake-up call, and it was 40 minutes later than our requested time. Fortunately, we were traveling for pleasure, not for business.

Room Tip: Rooms with higher numbers will be quieter, since they are further away from the Boylston street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrdywmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We spent two nights at the hotel and enjoyed it very much. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the room although small was clean and well maintained. We were located on the fourth floor and found it very quiet and not noisy at all.

We really liked the location as it was a short walk from Back Bay train station and walking distance to many attraction in Boston.

They offer a continential breakfast every morning and have a very nice Bar that serves Thai food which was very good.

We have stayed at two other hotels in the Copley area but the Charlesmark Hotel is by far the best value and we would defiinitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryjanes764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

In terms of what it charges, The Charlesmark offers excellent value for money - it is a handsome hotel, slap bang in the middle of Boston - by Copley Square station and the Boston Public Library.

However, even though we were on the fourth floor - a good room but given we had an upgrade I did wonder what a standard was like - it was very, very noisy. This is because downstairs there is a bar, which insists on playing music very loudly late into the night, but
insulation is such that the noise still travels four floors up. Also, the construction of the hotel is at fault in that the ceilings are insufficiently insulated to stop one hearing every step across the floor above.

Another point. We were delayed two days due to the hurricane. I could not call the hotel with the required cancellation notice time - we were given only a few hours notice of flight cancellation - but the hotel refused to drop our fees even given the extra-ordinary circumstances. When I pointed out to the receptionist to whom I spoke that, in such a hotel in such a city, they were likely to get bookings for those nighs anyway, and so not lose, she affected not to understand what I was talking about.

This is par for the course. You may ask why I rebooked this time but in 2006, when Heathrow was closed due to a terrorist scar, we also had to forgo a booking - even though we could not even reach the airport, let alone fly to Boston! Not only did the hotel still charge for the room, but an email to the owner, Mark Hagopion, to state that this seemed an extraordinary decision given the circumstances did not even warrant the courtesy of a reply. Here the hotel seemed to place a quick buck higher than some sympathy for British guests - ironic when you think that the US suffered 9/11/

Room Tip: Impossible to offer this tip given what I say about both the bar music and the ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryPhilpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The first impression was great. The young receptionist welcomed us like we haven't been welcomed so far on our trip. Very nice. We could park our rental car in front of The Charlesmark Hotel for 15mins to get our luggage to the room.
I must say the bed itself was rather small and not the most comfortable. The bathroom was classy&clean.
Then he gave us a map and told us directions to several points of interest. The hotel is well located, just a few steps from the T (Copley Square), which you don't really need as in Boston centre everything's within walking distance. Boylston Street is safe, we could walk at any hour of the day to different areas. Then the Bruins won the Stanley Cup, we saw the parade from the hotel! It was one big party throughout the day and night.
Newbury street and it's fancy shops/restaurants is just around the corner.
The Charlesmark also has a cocktail bar/lounge where we would have a last drink before going to sleep. They would tidy up the place for breakfast the morning after (bagels / cereals,...) excellent.
As we had a late flight from Logan, we could leave our luggage there after having checked-out.
Next time in Boston I will consider returning to the Charlesmark Hotel, because of the better price compared to other hotels. Thanks Charlesmark crew!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atomiumBXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Charlesmark is a boutique hotel in a location that could not be better. The hotel is a few blocks away from the Back Bay Amtrak train station, is central on Boylston St (which seemed central to everything in Boston) and it is around the corner from Newbury St's shops, cafes and restaurants. Boston Common is a few blocks away, the Esplanade is a few blocks away, and Beacon Hill is a short walk!

We were given a free upgrade to a nice sized room (which was still small relative to large hotels) on the top (6th floor) that faced Boylston (right across from the library). Room was comfortable and clean. Even though we were facing the street, noise was not a problem at all. There was no refrigerator and no coffee pot and the closet was half the length of a normal closet. For our two night, weekend getaway, however, these things were not a problem. (Grab coffee around the corner at Wired Puppy cafe). We generally found the front desk very helpful and they were willing to hold our luggage for a few hours after we checked out.

We also paid about $75 less a night at the Charlesmark than our family paid at the Doubletree -- which did not seem to be located in as desirable an area as the Charlesmark (across from the Tufts medical center). We think this was a great value!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGO42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#30 of 83 in Boston
639 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#54 of 83 in Boston
2,092 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,711 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,282 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#68 of 83 in Boston
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Property: Charlesmark Hotel
Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing