We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and stylish”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #62 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and stylish”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I highly recommend staying at this hotel. Yes, the rooms are small, but I never felt cramped, and they are decorated very nicely. The staff is very friendly, and the continental breakfast is decent--bagels, donuts, fruit, and coffee. The hotel is in the Back Bay, less than a block from public transportation and Newbury St. shops. Boston Common is within walking distance. The only downside was the people staying in the room next door, who we could hear fighting through the walls, but this wasn't the hotel's fault. If you're looking for a good price without a compromise in quality, choose this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, ask for a street-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmholohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    383
    93
    44
    24
See reviews for
65
399
118
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I loved everything about the room (the old-fashioned TV), classical music playing on the CD player, cosy bathroom.

Breakfast is the only let-down, very basic - cereal, fruit, donuts and tea/coffee all in polystyrene cup/bowls.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mydoshmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Charlesmark is a nice little boutique hotel in the heart of the Back Bay area across from the Boston Public Library and Copley Square. The value at the hotel is excellent and the rate includes a decent continental breakfast in a modern lounge area. The rooms are small but reasonably appointed. Weekend evenings can be noisy if you are on the second floor and above the bar on the main floor. The staff have always been pleasant and helpful and the rooms maintained in a clean and tidy state. I have stayed at the hotel for three years running and will do so again so definitely consider the Charlesmark if you are looking for good value in the heart of Back Bay....

Room Tip: Ask for a hotel facing Boylston to have any decent view. Also ask about voice levels in your room fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Plains, VA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I travel lots around the world and if I could stay at a Charlesmark Hotel in every city I would do so. The Charlesmark is especially welcome in Boston because the alternatives can be pricey and low value, so impersonal are they. At the Charlesmark, the people are nice, the rooms truly unique and artistic. Bed and linens are very good, lots of pillows. Free wifi is essential, of course. Plenty of good restaurants and sandwich shops in the area. Stayed last week at the Sheraton (someone else paid and made the reservation) and there is no comparison, so far superior is the value at the Charlesmark. I will be back and am thankful for this hotel.

Room Tip: I've enjoyed several different rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePlainsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Didn't spend much time in the hotel, or in Boston, but I had gotten everything I needed from a hotel: cleanliness, a fridge, and a quiet night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bav20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The location is unbeatable. The designer did a great job with this probably former commercial property: the rooms and public areas are cozy and comfortable. The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful, no exceptions. Complementary tea and coffee available 24/7, breakfast menu simple but satisfying. The only inconvenience: the TV remote -- it had to be pointed carefully at the cable box, any movement away from it made the device almost useless. But it was no big deal as I spent my time out anyway. All in all, a perfect stay. Loved the city (it was my first time in Boston) and will stay there every time I'm back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Empo8040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel is small but well run. Staff are friendly and helpful. They checked me in early when I arrived first thing in the morning and offered me breakfast. Breakfast is donuts, bagels, coffee and juice. Perfectly fine to start your day with. Rooms are modern and adequately sized. Bathroom is small but this did not bother me. I had an older style tv but it would have been nice to have a larger flat screen, I'm sure they will upgrade these in the future. I would stay here again if I return to Boston, loved the location and ease of staying here!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sosuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#25 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#53 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Property: Charlesmark Hotel
Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing