We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #68 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 10 May 2012

this property has possibly 35 rooms, Very small rooms. Everything you need and nothing extra. the a breakfast is marginal. We sampled 3 of the smallest rooms, the first two were problematic -- needed maintenance. The third room works beautifully.

Room Tip: take a top floor, avoid 507 or 607. 606 is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveling_Crone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

The Charlesmark is right in the middle of the Boston shopping and business district, and only a 30 mins walk to the university campuses at Longwood. Location-wise it couldn't be better.

While the rooms are rather small they have comfortable beds, free wifi and great showers. The free 24/7 coffee and tea, plus complimentary breakfast (bagels, pastries and OJ) are nice touches.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Hotels in the US just now always seem rather pricey! However, on a recent visit to Boston I was pleased to find excellent value for money, pleasant staff and comfortable accommodation well within budget.

Will certainly stay again.......,

Stayed: April 2012
Thank rdslight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed here for one night while visiting Boston. Chose this hotel for its location and good room rates. Very pleased. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel, rooms were small but, very comfortable. This was not a surprise as the information we had seen beforehand said the rooms were small. It has a bar that is lively during the early part of the evening. The simple buffet breakfast was all we needed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Loved this hotel. It's in a great location. I got off the Copley station, and the hotel was just steps away. It's in the heart of shopping and dining and beautiful old churches. From a financial standpoint, it's the best deal I could find in Boston, too. Other hotels I checked out were so expensive, even the basic hotel chains, but the Charlesmark was about half the cost. People who like large, grande dame hotels will not like it, though. The rooms are tiny. Closet space is minimal. The lobby is not much. But the small room was hip, functional and comfortable, and I'd rather have a few extra hundreds in my pocket than a doorman and brass chandeliers. My room on the 4th floor was very quiet too, considering that the bar downstairs is jamming on a Saturday night. Wow, this place is a hotspot. So I will definitely stay here again when I return to Boston.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are more quiet, especially away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VitalSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Good deal, great location, but stay away from rooms 106 and 107 on the weekend - the lounge area becomes a noisy bar.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Great hotel within walking distance of most of Boston's attractions.

Hotel was clean with a nice bar and breakfast room, rooms were a little small, but that's to be expected in a great ciy location unless you pay top dollar.
I would stay here again and recomend to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fountainshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#40 of 84 in Boston
674 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#72 of 84 in Boston
1,150 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#56 of 84 in Boston
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#67 of 84 in Boston
765 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £97 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing