We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Boston and the Charlesmark”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #61 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Loved Boston and the Charlesmark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Boston from June 4th 2013, we had two rooms. All the staff were fantastic especially Andrew, Rachel and Ferguson. The main part of our trip was to go to Fenway Park being Boston fans to celebrate our 50th birthdays and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff to make our trip one to remember. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and the location was great. We were also lucky enough to get arms distance from Dustin Pedroia after a game which was a massive highlight of our trip. Boston is a beautiful city,so clean and we plan a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pettl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    380
    92
    43
    24
See reviews for
65
396
117
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I was lucky to have the opportunity to spend one night in Boston. We wanted to stay in a central location where it was easy to get around to all the famous locations and hot spots. I have to say, The Charlesmark Hotel couldn't have been more perfect for a short Boston city visit. It is a modern boutique hotel located centrally on one of the most popular streets. It was easy to navigate in both directions of the city and it had some amazing restaurants and shops walking distance away. The rooms are small, but had everything you could possibly want a hotel to have! There is an amazing stereo system connected to the speakers along with a flat screen tv. The beds are comfortable for a good nights rest, the bathrooms are modern and clean with new, thick bath towels.
If you are looking for a place to stay that is modern, clean, and boutique style to come and go as you please...plus be in the heart of it all, then this is the place! The staff was more than helpful as well. They were able to highlight all the main areas to see and gave great recomendations of places to eat. I also loved how they were able to give me a great running loop for me to see the city while I got some exercise. They even provide a day pass to the Boston Sports Club down the road for $15!
I spend a lot of time traveling and have stayed in all kinds of hotels; five stars, boutique hotels, as well as hostels at times and I was very impressed with the quality for the price of the Charlesmark Hotel. For me, it was the perfect short stay in a clean, modern, and great location boutique hotel with a staff that was super friendly.
(I rarely leave reviews, but I had to on this one because it was a great short stay for the price and I want other to know about it.)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Great hotel at reasonable price right in the heart of Boston. Clean, quiet, and very pleasant. We were on the 6th floor, and never heard any traffic. The room was small but very comfortable, with a modern look to it. We loved the location.

Room Tip: Choose the 6th floor, you won't hear any traffic at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

My finance and I stayed here...worst idea ever! This hotel is in great location, but that's about it.

Pros: Location, close to shopping, restaurants, bars, subway, Fenway Park. It was clean and the shower had good water pressure.

Cons: Really small rooms and hallway. Two people cannot walk down the hallway at the same time. The room is super tiny, no space for luggage. The room has blinds, no curtains, bright lights from the apartments behind the hotel shine bright all night, it's like you never turned off the lights. Worst sleep I've ever had in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jptravels619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at Charlesmark Hotel for two nights and it was a very good choice. The hotel is located in a nice area of Boston and it's a good base for sightseeing and shopping. The room was little but comfortable, modern and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful.
I could stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Agatka_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Clean, friendly, chic little gem in a great location for our fun Boston weekend! We highly recommend it. Laura was working the front desk while we were there and she was helpful and thoughtful, going the extra mile to make our stay perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryajmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is a great base for sightseeing & shopping. It's really reasonable & the staff are both helpful & friendly. I have stayed here a number of times over the last few years & have no hesitation in recommending it or staying here again. The continental breakfast is a nice extra before you head out for a day in beautiful Boston!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#51 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#25 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Property: Charlesmark Hotel
Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing