We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #66 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Good location. Clean and staff very friendly and helpful. However the room was tiny (it was smaller than our room on a cruise ship) and the bed was very short, 6ft2" and my legs hung off the end. The elevator broke so we had to walk up 4 flights of stairs, which is fine, but it was a mission to bring all of our luggage down when we checked out. For the money we spent on this room, I would rather pay a bit more and stay somewhere a bit more comfortable next time.

Room Tip: Be short, you will fit in the bed comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmd_shermin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    384
    93
    45
    25
See reviews for
65
403
119
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swartz Creek, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My grandson and I were in Boston three years ago. Returning in July this year for two Red Sox games, being from Michigan, we chose the Charlesmark hotel, and what a tremendous experience we loved the location and of course the history all around this area. The staff was wonderful and helpful, and just nice people to be around! This hotel is in a perfect location and I will return again perhaps next summer. Thank you Charlesmark and the people of Boston, for helping our stay a memory I will cherrish forever! Boston Strong Sincerly Dallas Mesack @ Logan Mesack

Room Tip: Rooms facing Boylston street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taby, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

First time as tourist in Boston I picked out a downtown hotel with good rating from Tripadvisor. My wife and I arrived in a rental car and dumped our luggage in the lobby. We had to return our car. When returned to the hotel, the luggage was brought to our room which was very appreciated.
The room was newly refurbished and nicely decorated but the view from the only window was a backyard alley. Since we only was using the room for sleeping we did not bother about the view.With the AC control it was easy to set the temperature.
The bathroom was close to luxury class.
In the morning a continental breakfast was served with coffee/the, bagels and cream cheese or jelly - not very exciting.
On the whole the hotel served our purpose for two nights as tourists in Boston

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amundin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazlet New Jersey USA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Spent three days at the Charlesmark in the beginning of July. It is located across the street from the Boston Library and adjacent to the Boston Marathon finishing line. The rooms are comfortable but extremely compact - just enough room for my wife and I but not much more. This was not a problem as we spent most of the day exploring the city, which we could do easily by walking from the hotel. Very reasonably priced for its superb location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeke421912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed in the hotel for one night and took a room with a pull out couch as we were 3 people sharing a room and was told that was the only option. Upon arrival, everything seemed great except for the fact that the air conditioning of our room was not very effective. The front desk staff told us they would do something about it, but the attitude was so rude and non helpful that it just ruined the experience. They showed us another room as an option and as we were still thinking whether to move or not, the hotel guy said well that's your only option. It was the attitude of that person that just ruined the whole experience. He was totally non-helpful and not once were we offered the option of an upgrade or taking another room at maybe a discounted price. The pull out couch in the other room was broken, had a dirty old sheet on it, and my husband who slept on it got an insect bite, so that pretty much explains the hygiene levels. I am surprised that this hotel has a good rating on trip advisor, which was our main reason for booking the hotel. I shall never return to this hotel. And may I add, these guys at the front desk can surely do well with an etiquette class in hospitality. The hotel is nice but the attitude of the front desk left much to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rash1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Andrew made the most wonderful suggestions possible for things for us to see and do. He is a true asset to you hotel. We would have expected the service he gave us from a 5 star hotel. If you are comfortable with small rooms this place is the best you could ask for. When booking think cruise ship cabin.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect for us. Right next to Copley Square with easy access to transport and lots going on around. We couldn't have asked for a better location.

We were very impressed by the boutique style room and the staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardwkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#32 of 83 in Boston
654 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#54 of 83 in Boston
2,108 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#70 of 83 in Boston
1,127 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,790 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Property: Charlesmark Hotel
Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing