We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel is located very close to Copley Square and Trinity Church. We also walked to Boston Common and Public Gardens (if you'd like a trip out in the swan boats or a Freedom trail tour). The Prudential Centre is also quite close and the Cheesecake Factory is just a few short blocks away! The rooms, although compact, were well equipped, well air conditioned, and clean. Bagels and drinks (juice, tea, coffee) were provided for breakfast. We managed to get quite a reasonable rate and would return again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travel2k12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was probably the best location we could have chosen to see Boston, for several reasons.
First, the staff was excellent, especially Andrew who was helpful in making recommendations of places to eat and sight to see (though I pretty well new in advance of the trip what to see). His willingness to help and his attitude were what I'd expect from a luxury hotel. He could teach other customer service people a few things!
The location was great because we were within walking distance of everything - many historic sights to visit very close by and w/in a mile of Fenway Park to the West and a mile of downtown to the East.
Great shopping and restaurants close by also. And T stations were just across the street and on the corner. Would definitely stay here again!
(Rooms are small. Friends traveling with us got the smaller of the rooms we were assigned. Ours was a bit more spacious but none of them are large. We selected this hotel for it's location and were quite pleased overall.)

Room Tip: Don't select the standard size rooms. They are tiny. Ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Good location. Clean and staff very friendly and helpful. However the room was tiny (it was smaller than our room on a cruise ship) and the bed was very short, 6ft2" and my legs hung off the end. The elevator broke so we had to walk up 4 flights of stairs, which is fine, but it was a mission to bring all of our luggage down when we checked out. For the money we spent on this room, I would rather pay a bit more and stay somewhere a bit more comfortable next time.

Room Tip: Be short, you will fit in the bed comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmd_shermin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My grandson and I were in Boston three years ago. Returning in July this year for two Red Sox games, being from Michigan, we chose the Charlesmark hotel, and what a tremendous experience we loved the location and of course the history all around this area. The staff was wonderful and helpful, and just nice people to be around! This hotel is in a perfect location and I will return again perhaps next summer. Thank you Charlesmark and the people of Boston, for helping our stay a memory I will cherrish forever! Boston Strong Sincerly Dallas Mesack @ Logan Mesack

Room Tip: Rooms facing Boylston street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

First time as tourist in Boston I picked out a downtown hotel with good rating from Tripadvisor. My wife and I arrived in a rental car and dumped our luggage in the lobby. We had to return our car. When returned to the hotel, the luggage was brought to our room which was very appreciated.
The room was newly refurbished and nicely decorated but the view from the only window was a backyard alley. Since we only was using the room for sleeping we did not bother about the view.With the AC control it was easy to set the temperature.
The bathroom was close to luxury class.
In the morning a continental breakfast was served with coffee/the, bagels and cream cheese or jelly - not very exciting.
On the whole the hotel served our purpose for two nights as tourists in Boston

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amundin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Spent three days at the Charlesmark in the beginning of July. It is located across the street from the Boston Library and adjacent to the Boston Marathon finishing line. The rooms are comfortable but extremely compact - just enough room for my wife and I but not much more. This was not a problem as we spent most of the day exploring the city, which we could do easily by walking from the hotel. Very reasonably priced for its superb location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeke421912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed in the hotel for one night and took a room with a pull out couch as we were 3 people sharing a room and was told that was the only option. Upon arrival, everything seemed great except for the fact that the air conditioning of our room was not very effective. The front desk staff told us they would do something about it, but the attitude was so rude and non helpful that it just ruined the experience. They showed us another room as an option and as we were still thinking whether to move or not, the hotel guy said well that's your only option. It was the attitude of that person that just ruined the whole experience. He was totally non-helpful and not once were we offered the option of an upgrade or taking another room at maybe a discounted price. The pull out couch in the other room was broken, had a dirty old sheet on it, and my husband who slept on it got an insect bite, so that pretty much explains the hygiene levels. I am surprised that this hotel has a good rating on trip advisor, which was our main reason for booking the hotel. I shall never return to this hotel. And may I add, these guys at the front desk can surely do well with an etiquette class in hospitality. The hotel is nice but the attitude of the front desk left much to be desired.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rash1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#40 of 84 in Boston
671 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#55 of 84 in Boston
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 84 in Boston
1,881 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
3,379 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#72 of 84 in Boston
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £119 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing