We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value plus terrific location”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #66 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
191 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Value plus terrific location”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

What a find! Yes, the room and bath are very, very small but stylish and functional. The rate ($139 during the Christmas holiday) is great for the outstanding location on Copley Square directly across from the T stop and the lovely public library. Quiet! Really nice bar downstairs with quality cocktails and you can order food which comes from a good Asian restaurant next door (try the appetizer platter). Free wifi, which the ritzy hotels charge for. Only downside is the "free continental breakfast" which is a bad pastry, coffee, juice...just forget about it. We will definitely stay at this small, 40 room, hotel on future trips!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lilybdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    384
    93
    45
    25
See reviews for
65
400
119
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Charlesmark Hotel for one night at the end of our trip around New England. We had tons of luggage and the staff were so friendly and helpful, helping me up to our room with all our bags whilst my husband returned our hire car. It's a great boutique style hotel, our room was very modern and had everything you could possibly need. It was a great location in the centre of Boston, so nowhere was too far away. We would highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great price, great location, great service, great hotel!

Was visiting Boston for work end of October and stumbled across this hotel.
Can't go wrong with this hotel. Rooms are a little smaller but very clean and updated make it worth every penny and more.

You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_S2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

This is the 3rd time my husband and I have stayed at the Charlesmark Hotel. For a great rate, we stayed for 2 nights. I wish we were able to stay a third night because they were running a special that if you stayed 2 nights, the third night is free. The bar in the lobby is awesome and the drinks were excellent. The room was very clean and our room overlooked Boylston and the Boston Public Library. The location can't be beat...everything from great restaurants to great shopping is within walking distance. We will continue to return again because the staff made us feel like valued customers!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This was my first time to Boston and the staff at Charlesmark made it very memorable. To the time we arrived until we left they went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. I have the privilege to travel quite a bit and this was by far the best customer experience I have ever had. Whether it be about directions, tickets to sporting events, questions about the history of the city and etc. they were happy to answer. Oh yeah... they also make the best Martinis.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is our second stay at the Charlesmark, it is a boutique style hotel near Copley Square, very close to the T (train station), close to the the Hynes Centre. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, wireless internet included as is a light breakfast, 24 hour coffee and very friendly staff. We have stayed at a number of hotels in Boston over the years and we feel the Charlesmark comes out a winner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vlp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed here two nights during a conference at the Marriott a block or two away. Charlesmark's rates were half the conference rate at the Marriott, and the location was better since I was able to step right out onto Boylston St. instead of trapped in the Marriott/Westin/Prudential Tower's impossible-to-navigate shopping/conference/hotel complex that looks like something of downtown Atlanta. The Charlesmark was clean, comfortable and quiet. When I arrived, there was a mix-up over my booking, but the gracious staff ended up upgrading me to a street-view room at no extra charge. After I needed to leave one night early due to a family emergency, I received an e-mail from the manager assuring me that I would not be charged for the last night booked and extending good wishes to me. All in all, this is a delightful establishment. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roshwaav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#28 of 83 in Boston
639 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#53 of 83 in Boston
2,093 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,718 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,285 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#68 of 83 in Boston
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Property: Charlesmark Hotel
Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing