We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #66 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Charlesmark is a small botique hotel located right on the finish line for the Boston Marathon. Subway is a block away, and Newbury Street is right around the corner. It is an easy walk to the Commons or Beacon Hill. The rooms are small but very functional and very nicely decorated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordo412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    384
    93
    45
    25
See reviews for
65
403
119
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for his birthday.
It is the most adorable super cool hotel.
The service was outstanding and the lounge in the lobby was great fun too.
I recommend it to anyone wanting to stay right in the middle of Boston!

Check it out- support a small business and have a fabulous time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loch Ness
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Location is superb, and the cleanliness of the room faultless. Room a touch on the small side but no great problem as I was travelling alone. Breakfast rather a non-event. Bar downstairs is very good though, with a decent selection of beers - including the local Harpoon IPA which I strongly recommend. Food there is also very good. I'd give it 3 1/2 if I could - better than average, but not quite very good!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The location is great it is right in the center of Boston. The rooms are a bit small but if you won't be at the hotel a lot and you will be using your room only for sleep I believe it is a great option.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here for three nights at the end of February. They offered a deal where a two night booking entitled you to the third night free. A very reasonable price for a great location. The hotel is small (perhaps 40 rooms) and is located immediately next to the finish line of the Boston Marathon. There are numerous stores and restaurants within easy walking distance and is located less than 50 yards from the subway station.
The room was small, but clean. They have free wireless as well as 2 desktop computers that are available for guests free usage. The front desk staff was pleasant and willing to answer questions about the area. The place is not fancy, but it perfectly suited my needs. Other than the faiilure to deliver a wake up call, I have no criticisms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nedzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our mattress and pillows were too soft which hurt our backs a lot (and not super pregnant-friendly for me). Fortunately, they agreed to give us extra pillows. Even if we are not picky on breakfast buffet, we would have prefered bread and cereals over bagels (w/ no toaster) and donuts. At least they offered fruits. The staff at the front desk was super friendly, the location was perfect but the room was not appropriated for light sleepers like us.

I recommend this hotel if you get a good price for it like we did (Book 2 nights, get 1 free), however, we will book a quieter spot for next time.

Room Tip: Our Queen room (401) was facing Boylston St. and was next to the elevator. We did not hear the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stepheecnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petach Tikva, israel
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Came to the hotel in cold cold Boston and got a warm welcome. The location is perfect with great access to public transport and the middle of Boston. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The included breakfast was more than enough to take you through half the day even without ordering more. The staff was as helpful as any I have come across. All in all, not a bad word to say about this small hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#32 of 83 in Boston
655 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#54 of 83 in Boston
2,108 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#70 of 83 in Boston
1,127 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,793 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Property: Charlesmark Hotel
Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing