We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why pay more or stay anywhere else in Boston?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #61 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Why pay more or stay anywhere else in Boston?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel had everything we needed, and the rooms were surprisingly larger than we expected/were alluded to by other reviews. We stayed here for two nights as we were attending a wedding outside of Boston, but were coming from the airport and wanted to see a bit of the city first. PERFECT location, this point was already made but must be reiterated. Can walk everywhere and it's in a great location. We also did the Duck Tours which started two blocks away. Clean, nice rooms with renovated bath and speaker system throughout, very cool. We were in a room next to the elevator and facing the main street; didn't hear the elevator probably because the bed was far away from the door and the A/C was on, but we did need earplugs to cancel out the late night partiers. Didn't mind at all and we were also enjoying some cocktails downstairs in the lounge one night. Overall we loved exploring Boston and would do it again in a heartbeat from this hotel. (Big advice, if you can help it DON'T DRIVE! We paid a "discounted" rate of $28/day to have our rental car sit in a garage and it wasn't exactly close).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    380
    92
    43
    24
See reviews for
65
396
117
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Charlesmark in a queen room June 8th to 14th. Took a cab from Logan airport, it was $27.00 for the ride, we were greeted at the front desk by Lucas who was very friendly and helpful, we were up to our room on the 6th floor in a few minutes. Our room was very well appointed, the stereo system was on as well as the air conditioning so the room was very comfortable. Along with the full stereo system there was a flat screen television, fridge and a large pull out desk and shelving unit. Under the bed there were two large drawers, the closet was a little small but big enough for us. The bathroom wasn't huge but was beautiful, with dark slate and a very nice spa like shower. Our room was very clean and was kept that way by the excellent housekeeping staff. The heat/air conditioning was very easy to use and worked well. We slept great and heard no noise through the night.
There is a guest lounge area on the main floor. Every morning there is a light continental breakfast, bagels along with pastries , fruit and instant oatmeal, coffee and juice. It was enough for us to get started every morning. There are also two computers and a printer for guest use in this area. At the front of the hotel there is a lounge that opens at 5 pm, with inside and outside seating, great bartenders, Juan was a favourite of ours, they also have food available from the Thai restaurant next door.
This hotel is in a perfect location to explore Boston, the subway system is right there, we bought a one week pass which we made good use of, also there is an airport shuttle operated by the transit system...it picks up nearby and is a short ride to the airport, included in the transit pass. Many of the highlights of Boston are within walking distance and then when you get a little tired you hop on the train or bus to get home. Fenway Park was an easy walk, and had a great time at the game.
Our stay at the Charlesmark couldn't have been better, all the staff were very helpful , very informative and the hotel was the perfect size for us, if you want a pool or spa or a room with a view, this isn't your place but there is so much to do in Boston you won't miss it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: This is typical Boston style building, narrow so if you aren't at the front you may not have a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in May 2014.

Enough had been said about its arguably the best location in Boston in earlier reviews. It is!

I had booked this hotel 6 months earlier and got a confirmation two weeks back with directions to get to the hotel from airport. This was impressive. The check in formalities was quick and the room allotted (# 605) was spotlessly clean.

The room was small by any standard with the double bed quite narrow for two people. But the room had everything we could hope for. A good TV, music system, bedside radio with alarm; guide book of Boston; fridge, clean and well equipped bathroom with lots of towels and toiletries; a really hot shower with adjustable volume; compact furniture with space for hanging clothes/suits; drawers beneath the bed; lounge chair and another foldable chair, foldable rack for placing bags; iron and ironing board; etc. We only wish there was tea/coffee maker in the room (available 24 hours in the bar); and a place for writing (board or desk).

The bonus was free wifi (fast speeds) and complimentary breakfast. The breakfast was much better than expected with tea/regular and decaf coffee/orange juice; varieties of instant oatmeal; bagels/doughnuts; cream cheese/jams/marmalade; fruits (banana/orange/apple).

The service was professional but with a human touch. We wanted a sample of the liquid candle in the bar and scouted Boston shops unsuccessfully for it. What a pleasant surprise when we were given two samples by the hotel staff during check-out. This really touched us.

This could possibly be the best hotel on Bolyston Street for the price. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Quieter on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RusiGovernor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for five days while touring Boston. The location is wonderful, in Back Bay, very close to a subway line. It is just down the street from Trinity Church and the Boston Public Library.
The staff is friendly and helpful.
The rooms are very small, but modern and clean. They were also comfortable and quiet.
There is a nice bar area on the main floor, but be aware you can't charge your drinks or snacks to your room, as apparently the bar is leased out.
They offer a limited breakfast bar with really good bagels, coffee, donuts, and orange juice but curiously have no toaster to heat up the bagels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGJ1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights while attending a conference at Hynes Convention Center down the street.

LOCATION: The Charlesmark is in a fantastic location on Boylston street—the Boston Marathon finish line is outside the door, the Central branch of the Boston Library is just across the street (go check out the galleries upstairs!), the Prudential Center (with shopping) and Hynes Convention Center are a 5-minute walk (like 3 blocks), Starbucks, Apple Store, Crate & Barrel, Copley Square, Old South Church, and more restaurants than you could ever need on the charming and upscale Newbury Street. Inbound T stop is just across the street in front of the library (use to hit up the North End, only a few stops away). Outbound T station is on the corner.

STAFF: Helpful staff, extra props to Andrew at the front desk and Chris behind the bar. Fun chatting with you fellows! And to the female front desk employee (sorry I don't know your name!) who flagged down a cab for me.

HOTEL: Definitely has a boutique feel; the bar and comfortable lounge area are very nice and seemed to have a regular/nightly local clientele who were very friendly (watch out, they might convince you to do tequila/whiskey shots!). Bar has TV screens which are great for catching a game. Free breakfast in the morning (apples, bananas, orange juice, bagels/cream cheese, donuts, coffee, instant oatmeal). Winding/narrow hallways. Free WiFi. Serves food from restaurant next door (Thai I think?).

ROOM: I was in 406 and it was a nice corner room but you can tell that it's a remodeled old building because the room was small (similar to boutique hotels in San Francisco). No closet, just a half-height wardrobe cabinet. It was a perfect room for business travel, but I would have felt cramped with two people and more than one suitcase. The room did have extra amenities, however, including light dimmer switches, surround sound speakers w/ DVD/VHS player, and large floor-length mirror. Doors use real keys instead of key cards.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here 2 nights. Room was bit small but well equipped and in good condition. View from window was a brick wall. Copley station next door and 5min walk to the Back Bay station makes the location perfect for my needs. Super friendly staff. Breakfast is more like a snackbar, but includes everything needed..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sami J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Very good location. Directly in the marathon finish line. Rooms are very tight but adequate. Staff is helpful and friendly. Walking distance to great shopping and eating. Walls are fairly thin so can get noisy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Caleb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#51 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#25 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Property: Charlesmark Hotel
Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing