We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing but location”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #69 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is located on the finish line of the Boston Marathon. That is the end of the good news. No place to park when you check in. Tiny rooms. Paper thin walls. Good shower head. You can do better in downtown Boston.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue95476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have just visited Boston and are still amazed by this beautiful town.
We stayed at the Charlemark Hotel which was a bit overpriced due to the Pride 2014. The room was quite small but still comfortable to stay in.
The Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, 2 free-to-use PC's with printer, iron, small ironing board, fridge, Comcast TV, and complimentary breakfast.
The staff was friendly most of the time. The friendliest guy of the staff was unfortunatly only at work on our day of departure. He was really delightful and very friendly.
The breakfast is exactly what is advertised on their website. fresh bagels, doughnut sticks, cream cheese, jelly, fruit, coffee, juice, instant oatmeal. I liked it, best bagels we have had so far. The Wi-Fi works perfectly.
The LOCATION is just amazing. Just minutes away from the Prudential Center. Right on Boylston and parellel to the Newbury street. Right across the street ist the copley station but you don't have to use the T a lot because everything is so near in this city. The back bay express stop is also right across the street which picks you up every 20 minutes and brings you to the airport if you have a valid charlie card (18$ for a whole week ! / unlimited rides in Boston) .
We really liked this hotel. A bit overpriced and the staff could be more friendly at times, that would turn this into the perfect hotel.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are quite small. You don't have much space to place your luggage and the quee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank themauks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here recently on a last minute trip to downtown Boston. Grateful for the reservation but the room was very small and difficult for two full sized people and 3 pieces of luggage. The bed was only a double, we are used to queen. The storage for suitcases was very limited in the room. Otherwise the room was fine for in and out with light luggage. The location was great right in the Copley square area and the T. The free breakfast was very good with fresh bagels, fruit cereal and Dunkin Donuts. The bar with outside seating looked interesting but we didn't use it

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Charlesmark is two blocks away from the Back Bay train station and right at a subway stop. There is also a shuttle bus to the airport right opposite, which is free with an MBTA pass such as the 7-day pass. I had the smallest room but it was fine, enough space for everything I had.

Breakfast was basic but enough to fill our stomachs before setting out. The location is really pretty with the Old South Church next door and the beautiful public library opposite.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodHunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a nicely appointed hotel, which is in a great location to visit Boston. The rooms are pretty small, but are neat and clean. The bar and lounge area are very nice, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Overall a good experience at the Charlesmark.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCMS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I just returned from 5 nights at The Charlesmark. I was very pleased with all aspects of this hotel. The location is great - right across the street from the Copley T Station. The hotel is clean, modern and well cared for. Everyone at the front desk I spoke to was friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was a great bonus. Although my room was small it was perfect since it was just me and I never felt like I needed more space than I had since the space was well utilized. I would definitely stay here and again and recommend it to others. Well done, Charlesmark!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel had everything we needed, and the rooms were surprisingly larger than we expected/were alluded to by other reviews. We stayed here for two nights as we were attending a wedding outside of Boston, but were coming from the airport and wanted to see a bit of the city first. PERFECT location, this point was already made but must be reiterated. Can walk everywhere and it's in a great location. We also did the Duck Tours which started two blocks away. Clean, nice rooms with renovated bath and speaker system throughout, very cool. We were in a room next to the elevator and facing the main street; didn't hear the elevator probably because the bed was far away from the door and the A/C was on, but we did need earplugs to cancel out the late night partiers. Didn't mind at all and we were also enjoying some cocktails downstairs in the lounge one night. Overall we loved exploring Boston and would do it again in a heartbeat from this hotel. (Big advice, if you can help it DON'T DRIVE! We paid a "discounted" rate of $28/day to have our rental car sit in a garage and it wasn't exactly close).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#47 of 86 in Boston
686 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#56 of 86 in Boston
2,177 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#67 of 86 in Boston
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 86 in Boston
2,009 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#74 of 86 in Boston
1,156 reviews
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#53 of 86 in Boston
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £94 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing