We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot, but a couple of asides -”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #68 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 8 September 2005

I stayed at the Charlesmark August 26 and 27, and have some mixed feelings. I was generally pleased as it is right in the middle of the Back Bay, literally at the marathon finish line (which may be as close as I ever get to that!) You can walk to most of the sites and activities fairly easily, but know that I walk a lot and this may be daunting for some. It is a 1/2 block from the transit system, though. It is, also, centrally located to tons of restaurants and shopping. The staff ranged from very friendly and accommodating to slighly dazed and spacey - they were all young and not quite professional (but trying). I was left with the impression that everyone trains at some sort of chic hostel. They are in the process of serious renovations or completion of this hotel, so be aware. This isn't necessarily annoying, just a fact. Breakfast is adequate as in muffins, coffee, juice, oatmeal packets, etc. The baked goods were from Dunkin Donuts daily. The rooms are Very small and the bathrooms compact, and I mean small as in you should either be married to or exceptionally good friends with a traveling companion. There was no tub in our bath, but the slate shower was fabulous - good pressure, too. The toilettries are seriously lacking, so pack in. The stereo system is a nice touch - I don't know if this is surround sound or just a small space. Beware that if you are facing Boylston St (as we were) it is quite noisy throughout the wee hours. I'm not convinced my stay was worth quite what I paid for it, but Boston is a pricey town and this is a good location. The rooms and property were very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 971 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2005

Stayed at the Charlesmark for 4 nights this summer. Had a nice room with a view of the library, not noisy at all. Yes, the room was small but you're really only there to sleep anyway. The room is clean and well furnished. The bed was comfortable and the a/c works great. Nice modern bathroom with a great shower. One suggestion would be to have more of a reading light for bedside reading. The breakfasts were nice ( a toaster for the bagels??) and the internet was a nice touch. The location of this hotel is very good and just a short walk to the metro or Newbury Street. The office staff were friendly and very helpful. We would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ace624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2005

This is an excellent Hotel. Very good value for money, excellent position and very efficient and friendly staff. Rooms are smallish but have everything that is needed. Would highly recommend

Stayed: August 2005
5  Thank ahowarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2005

Great location. Friendly and genuinely helpful staff (made a pot of coffee for our 4 am departure to airport). Rooms were compact but efficient. Parking is off site but rarely need car given proximity of T stop and walking distance to theatre, Fenway, museums, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fresno5family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Corvallis, OR
16
Reviewed 20 August 2005

Quality space, Unbeatable location, Great staff. I stayed 4 nights with my son on a college visit tour, and will stay again when next in Boston. The rooms are small but inviting, and the small number of them (33?) gives the place a very human scale. Attention to detail is apparent everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bermuda
16
Reviewed 20 August 2005

After having travelled for a week in the Cape area, we stayed for 2 nights at the CharlesMark. What a wonderful hotel! Staff is very friendly, and knowledgeable. Rooms are intimate, very clean. We even took pictures of the bathroom for our house renovations! We had been looking for an internet cafe since being downsouth, and it was great to finally have internet. Free local calls is a great idea. Good location to major shopping areas, and top quality restaurants within 200 metres of the front door, close to Boston Common. The only thing is that maybe sound proof class would be a good idea if there are concerts nearby.
Oh, and piping coffee/water for the continental breakfast.
We have already decided to stay at the CharlesMark again and to pass on the name of the hotel to other Boston travellers!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2005

The Charlesmark is right across from the amazing Boston Public Library (go for lunch and check out the art) on vibrant Copley Square. The staff is charming and very helpful, the rooms are lovely and modern, the price is great, and there is a T stop right across the street. I plan to stay here next time I'm in Boston. They also have fresh fruit and bagels, coffee and tea, a large pitcher of ice water (which we needed in that June heat wave) and a computer you can use right in the lobby that over looks the street. There was construction going on in the front of the building when we were there, but it was not an obstruction to us. The workers were friendly too.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Treemonkneesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#42 of 84 in Boston
674 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#72 of 84 in Boston
1,150 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#57 of 84 in Boston
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#67 of 84 in Boston
767 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £96 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing