We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Wonderful!”
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
Ranked #62 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
Reviewed 13 October 2005

I stayed there for my fifth anniversary and it was perfect. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms were very modern, spotless and I loved the decor. The beds were very comfortable and the location could not have been beat. I would definitely recommend this hotel. I will be back! The staff recommended a tremendous restaurant about a block away - L'espelier - phenomenal! Also, we came back to a nice bottle of champagne on ice in our room as a congratulatory gift. All in all, a perfect anniversary!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    383
    93
    44
    24
See reviews for
65
399
118
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2005

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Charlesmark. Excellent location- doors down from the T, shopping and restaurants just around the corner, comfortable room (we had a queen size), and all the extras included with no additional cost (bottled water, fresh fruit, continental breakfast, computers with internet access,and even a bottle of champagne for our anniversary)- made for a wonderful vacation.
But what really pulled the package together was the attention to detail that our concierge Calvin Cherry provided us- greeting us at 1PM in the morning with a smile, after hours dinner connections, chilled champagne and a lovely note of greeting, followed by fresh coffee when we awoke after hours- and that was just the first 24 hours!
Only complaint was the musty smell of the stairs and basement hallway- avoid the basement if you can, but don't turn it down if it's your only option.
Hope to have the opportunity to return again.

Helpful?
8 Thank salmondan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 October 2005

I stayed w/a girlfriend at the Charlesmark Hotel over Labor Day weekend and must say, it was terrific! The room was delightful, cozy, and the modern decor was lovely.

Staff was friendly and very helpful. It was so nice to see the same smiling faces each day.

I loved that the hotel doesn't penny-pinch their guests... we weren't charged for our phone calls, breakfast, internet or even printing. What a relief to checkout and not be hit with extra charges.

Overall, I was very impressed and charmed by this small property with a warm feel to it and recommend it to other Boston travellers!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 October 2005

My wife and I booked a larger room ,which was attractively decorated, if rather dark .Despite the higher price of the room,I was surprised to find that it had no windows to the outside.As mentioned by another correspondent, the room smelt musty.
Breakfast was described as " continental",but it was not clear to us ,with the cramped arrangements and limited variety ,which continent was being referred to.

Overall, I was disappointed at the value for money,which might have been better with a better room.The location was good.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulare, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2005

We just returned from a week long stay in Boston and we stayed at the Charlesmark (my husband and I). We have absolutely no complaints about it. It it such a nice hotel, awesome decorations, cool bathrooms, the staff is very friendly and always willing to help or give suggestions, breakfast was good and the hotel is in a perfect location! We were able to walk everywhere! I must admit, my legs hurt like heck but we were still able to walk everywhere!!

The construction at the hotel is all finished already ( I've read some complaints in past reviews, but there is no more going on.)

We had the oppurtunity to stay in both the standard and queen rooms and I must admit, the standard rooms were pretty small, but the queen rooms are just fine!

My husband and I really enjoyed Boston and especially staying at the Charlesmark Hotel.

Things we did and enjoyed included:
The Freedom Trail
Boston Duck Tour
Fenway Park Tour ( a must )
Fanueill Hall
Red Sox Game

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank luv2dohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2005

We stayed at the Charlesmark June 2005.

Minuses: Do not stay in a room on the ground floor of this hotel. We had to walk through construction to get to and from it. It was a strange feeling because reception is on the 2nd floor so it did not feel like we were even staying in a hotel. There was no view from this room either, just the backs of the surrounding buildings through the alley. And the window was high in the room, making you feel like you were in a basement. We had to keep the AC on high (which was freezing) or else the room smelled musty.
Pluses: Location location location! Very nice bathroom wired with speakers from the sound system. Internet access in the common area.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenSpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2005

We just got back yesterday from Boston and the Charlesmark Hotel. We stayed there for a 3-night mini-vac and couldn't have been more pleased. The only negative of the place is that the rooms are small. However, they make up for that in every other way. Breakfast is included every morning (pastries, bagels, fruit, coffee, OJ). Your mini fridge is constantly stocked with complimentary bottled water, and if you run out, no problem, they'll immediately get you more. Free computers and internet service are located in the lobby. They also put guide books in every one of their rooms for visitors to use during their stay. It's the little things that count, right? Aside from all these plusses, the location of the hotel couldn't be better. There is a subway stop literally across the street from the hotel, tons of bars and restaurants and shops up and down the street. We highly recommend the Charlesmark, and the next time we go to Boston, we'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank SommerinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#25 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#53 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Property: Charlesmark Hotel
Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116-2804
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing