We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Very nice hotel and great location. Subway, tours, etc are near the hotel. Nice staff and clean rooms. I will come back to this hotel if ever in Boston again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenmark14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,674)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,919 - 1,925 of 2,675 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

Just checked in and I am very impressed with the staff. The hotel rooms are small but intelligently laid out. We have a corner king room with great views of the common. Plus I am really digging the CD in the player. I guess a mix by the hotel staff. Overall pleasentlu surprised. Finally although it is a pet friendly hotel my allergies have not acted up at all. Saw a full size poodle in the lobby. I like this place and will be back

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tadvise112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Dear Jacko1221,

Thank you for writing a review about our hotel! I'm happy our team impressed you with their high level of service and that you didn't experience any allergic reactions while you were here. I hope the remainder of your stay was perfect and that you will continue to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Wonderful location for Boston sightseeing. Beautiful boutique hotel. Staff was fantastic - we were even welcomed at check-in with glass of wine (much-needed after a long drive)! Room was beautifully decorated, though rather small, and not much of a view. Very clean, great shower, very comfy bed. Attempted dinner at the restaurant but they were fully booked for the night. Room service food was excellent and much more enjoyable anyway, being freshly showered and settling in with our wine.

Parking is only via valet, at $42/night (no big surprise in abig city) and was tough to get to - valet entrance is on a tiny side street at the corner of the hotel and easy to miss. With all the one-way streets, if you pass it up you'll have a heck of a time getting back to it - speaking from experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed at the nine zero as part of our 30th wedding anniversary trip to the US. Boston is a great city and the vibe was good as soon as we arrived. The hotel was a $20-25 ride from Logan airport. It is very centrally located to just about all the city has to offer. We were given a bottle of wine on arrival, for our anniversary, from Patricia at the front desk whom we found more than helpful. The room was not as large as previous hotels on our trip, we had trouble locating a position for our two suitcases that was not in the way. The room itself was very nice although there were no facilities for making coffee in the room. I joined the Kimpton club to take advantage of the free wi-fi for members. This was very good. My main problem with the hotel was on the last night there was a function held in the lobby. Guests were ushered through a back door by staff, who seemed to be there to make sure that you kept moving and would not interfer with the function. The noise generated by the function was quite loud. We were on the 10th floor and could feel the thump from the base music. It would have been unbearable on the lower floors. The music continued until around midnight. I feel the hotel management was treating the guests with contempt for hosting this event. They are either a hotel or event management establishment. We paid a considerable amount to stay at the hotel and did not appreciate the inconveinance from the hotel, especially when we had to catch an early flight the next day.

Room Tip: ask if there is any functions downstairs, if so go as high as you can !!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter_Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

When I checked into the hotel, the clerk demanded to see photo ID. When I declined, he got all huffy and told me it was to prevent credit card fraud. I explained that demanding to see photo ID violated the credit card merchant agreement. He didn't seem to care. What was particularly odd was that I had pre-paid for the two night stay, so I was handing over my credit card only to guarantee payment on incidentals (like the mini-bar that no one touches, I suppose). I complained to management, which replied that the policy was to prevent credit card fraud, but they completely ignored the fact that they were violating the terms under which they are allowed to use credit cards. If they are ignoring these (really rather important) rules, you have to wonder what other rules they are ignoring. If they think it's OK to put their guests in danger of identity theft (which is why they aren't allowed to ask for ID), maybe they are cutting corners with fire safety, too? Maybe they don't thing that building codes are something they need to comply with?

Two other complaints: the motto for this property is "Inspired by Design". The rooms are certainly distinctive, and while the decor is easy on the eyes, it is anything but practical. For example, my room had a wing-back chair that had all sorts of wacky odd proportions that made it look like something out of Alice in Wonderland. The problem with this is that it also made the chair really uncomfortable to sit in. There was also a bed spread that looked like it was covered in feathers, but you had to wonder how they keep this thing clean - dry clean after every guest comes through? The bathroom had very clean, simple lines, but that meant there was nowhere to hang your towels after you used them. Your average Marriott may never be featured in Architectural Digest, but you'll have a more comfortable stay.

Finally, the location on Tremont Street was convenient for the T, but at night it can be a little seedy, with lots of teenagers and panhandlers hanging out nearby.

You're better off staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank cjstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Dear Guest,

As you know we disagree with your assessment of your arrival experience (specifically in regards to any violations) but always welcome the feedback so thank you very much. As for your comments about your guest room again we thank you for your feedback. Again please do accept our apologies that you didn't feel properly welcomed and have a happy remainder of 2011.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We arrived here during the time for the complimentary afternoon wine reception and we were greeted at the front desk by a friendly staff person who asked us if we would like a glass of wine and when we said "yes" she brought it to us while we finished checking in! The entire time we stayed here (4 nights) we found the entire staff extremely warm and friendly and immediately helpful with everything we asked. Our room was fairly small, but very tasteful in a modern way and we had a large bathroom. The view from our room was an office building next door and it was so close, we could watch the people working there type on their computers. We were not there for the view, so it did not matter. The location of this hotel is fantastic. The weather was beautiful and we walked to all the sites in the historic district, including the entire freedom trail. It was also convenient for many good choices for dinner. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone sightseeing in Boston. Also, it is close to 2 subway stops and one day we took the subway (transferring to the commuter rail) to Salem.

Room Tip: Ask about the view, if it matters to you.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vegeterian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear Vegeterian,

Thank you for writing a review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers! I'm glad you got to enjoy a glass of wine at check in and that you took advantage of our prime location and Boston's beautiful fall weather. Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

What an awesome find! Great location right across from some of Boston's beautiful landmarks & a stone's throw from the MBTA (Boston Metro) Park Street station! Hubby & I arrived after 11pm and easily made our way from Boston airport to Park St station. The hotel was fantastic. I had been corresponding with Thomas the concierge before we arrived and he was exceptionally helpful and friendly answering my questions and helping me to plan our 4 day stay. Thomas had also assisted our request for a quiet room and a refrigerator all before we arrived! The room was lovely. Modern, sleek, tastefully furnished and welcoming. The only things we werent in love with was the queen size bed (tough when we're both 6 feet tall!) and the tiny shower cubicle! Again, tough to manoeuvre in and out of when it was a tiny square space with a door that pushes into that space barely giving you enough room to even get in! Trust me...you wouldnt want to be podgy!

As mentioned we arrived late and found that there was a tiny Boston bar/cafe across the laneway called Barracuda where we were able to get some seafood for a light snack before bed. Alternatively there is also a popular bar on Tremont St right across the road too.

We found the location to be right in the heart of everything. Boston is a great walking city and it
was easy to navigate to see the sights.

My best parting tip is a little cafe called 'Thinking Cup' on Tremont St opposite Boston Common (maybe 5-7 mins walk away) where you can get the most delicious Stump Town coffee made by the most expert baristas around! The cafe also does tasty sandwiches and breakfast and seemed to stay open later than 10pm most nights! Oh...and the Woodward Gastro Pub at the Ames hotel was delicious too! Great Napa Valley Wines (Sebastiani pinot) and ridiculously delicious duck flat bread & lamb breast with succotash! The lamb was incredibly good value at $23.

Ps....7 eleven was walking distance for basics as is the Loews Cinema in case you have time to catch a movie!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camnicsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,315 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#14 of 84 in Boston
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,630 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108-4101 (Formerly Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
#15 Green Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £175 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing