We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can not fail to love this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Ranked #15 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Level Contributor
472 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“You can not fail to love this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This property looks very average (but respectable) from the outside, but it is transformed into a lovely funky well styled hotel on this inside. The reception area is cosy and all the staff in the reception are absolutely superb, in fact every member of staff was brilliant. The rooms are a comfortable size and nicely furnished in a modern unique style. The location of the hotel is just great, its just across by Boston Common, so the walk through to Copley Sq and the shopping area is pleasant or a mere $6 in a cab if required. Beacon Hill is a mere few mins walk away and a lovely place for a gentle stroll into the boutique shops of charles street, whilst in the other direction is the wharf areas and Quincey market, the location for all areas is great and the metro is a mere 100 yards walk away. I got a great deal with Virgin flights

Room Tip: Ask for one over the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lostpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,625
    679
    137
    35
    29
See reviews for
495
1,118
146
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We have stayed twice at this hotel over the course of 5 years and enjoyed it tremendously both times. It is a very stylish, and comfortable hotel. The rooms are modern, cozy and quiet. The staff is attentive, and the location is just perfect. There is a very popular wine happy hour in the lounge, from which you can overlook Tremont Street. Perfect for a pleasant stay in Boston!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed at the Nine Zero for 4 nights for both work and pleasure. The staff was very friendly, always saying hi when you walked through the lobby, and eager to please if you had any questions. The room was very nice and very clean. I LOVED the decorating in both the room and the common spaces of the hotel Not much of a view from our room, but that didn't bother us at all. The pressure in the shower was great!!

The only minor negative things are the lack of a coffee pot in the room, and you had to pay in excess of $10.00 a day for Wi -Fi service. We walked down the street to Bruggers and got both coffee and free Wi-Fi.

The best part of this hotel is its central location. Less than a 10 minute walk to any major attraction in Boston.

We will definately stay at this property again when we visit Boston. I would recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelma0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

My wife & I love visiting Boston, we travel from Texas every summer to enjoy the city & catch a Red Sox game. For the past 3 trips in a row, we have stayed ath the Hotel Nine Zero. It is everything you expect from Kimpton - stylish decor, clean modern rooms, friendly & attentive service. For the price of other hotels in this area & around the Common, Hotel Nine Zero is great. We found the location to be perfect, 2 blocks from the Public Garden/Boston Common, and right on the Freedom Trail. It's about a 10 minute walk to Quincy Market.
Every evening around 5pm they have a wine & cheese hour for the guests. Haven't sampled the restaurant, but there is a great pub with food just across the street. All in all, clean rooms, cool design and great location.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dia1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

From the minute we walked in, we were impressed... the staff was fantastic and the rooms were immaculate, well decorated, and had a wonderful, subtle scent. The wine happy hour was a nice touch (free wine in the hotel lobby each evening), as was the complimentary continental breakfast. The valet folks were pleasant and were always eager to get whatever we needed, whether the car or a taxi. The hotel is situated right on the Freedom Trail, so the location could not be better! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amykb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear Amykb12,

Thank you for a great review! I'm delighted that our employees assisted you eagerly with all of your needs, and that you got to take advantage of Nine Zero's many offerings. Hopefully you will pay us another visit the next time you are in Boston.

Kind Regards,

Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Trendy Hotel with a friendly staff. I booked 2 rooms but was placed on floor 11. If you are in any way claustrophobic request another floor. We were within chatting distance of the opposite building - an office building with hundreds of windows framing hundreds of curious employees. Our curtains were closed the entire 3 night stay. With black carpet, furniture, bedspreads,curtains - it was a Goth nightmare for those who need a view. The evening wine reception is a nice way to mingle with other guests - room service is prompt but unimaginative. Dim lighting in the room and bath was maddening. I will forever be grateful for the functioning a/c in November as the room's sole small window functions as a pipeline to garbage truck cacophony until the wee hours. Plus side? Central to Historic sites, the Metro, and North End restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose only a high floor with a view unless you want to spend your whole stay in a black out curtain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grimaud55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_NNZ_Manager, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We have many different room types and many different views that go along with the rooms. Unfortunately, being in the center of Boston some of the views are going to be of the building next door. I am sincerely sorry that you were not satisfied with your view and wish we got the opportunity while you were staying with us to offer you some alternatives.

I am glad that you got to enjoy our nightly wine reception and our proximity to some of the best spots in Boston. If you are ever returning to Boston, please feel free to email me (andrew dot smith at ninezerohotel dot com) so I can personally ensure you get a room to your liking. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Nine Zero Hotel is perfectly located to the Freedom Trail, theatre district and surrounded by plenty of night life. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The concierge recommended restaurants in the area and make our reservations for us. Every recommendation was on point. Nine Zero is a classy, five stars hotel from the minute we walked-in to the minute we checked-out. We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 17th floor and heard no street noise. Slept perfectly all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chopandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,948 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Property: Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108-4101 (Formerly Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing