We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You stay AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“You stay AGAIN”
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while on business and loved it. First time in Boston and was leery because I was attending a convention down in the Backbay area and this was the closest and most economical hotel. The subway was right across the street so that was convenient. Shopping around the corner and a nice pub right next door. The hotel was stylish as well as my king room. The bed was heavenly. My stay came with breakfast which was great. Muffins, fresh fruit and coffee...Yum. Nothing bad to say except the tv could have been updated to a flat screen to match the stylish decor but other than that loved it especially the complimentary wine hour every evening. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed September 2011
Helpful?
Thank meka93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear meka93,

Thank you for staying with us last fall. Hopefully you find us again soon - at which point you will find that the "post-modern expression of our society's reliance on unidirectional electronic entertainment" in your room last time has been replaced been with a really cool HD TV.

Take care,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,668
    692
    144
    38
    31
See reviews for
506
1,152
151
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The hotel is very well located. As a family of four we had two large rooms across a small landing, which could have been closed off to give interconnecting rooms if we'd wanted. The rooms are very well appointed and decorated, the bathrooms excellent (even if it took us a while to work out how to use the shower). Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Tell the hotel if you are allergic to animals as the hotel is pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gelatoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Gelatoholic,

Thank you to you and your family for staying with us recently. We have a variety of set-ups to try and accomodate groups of people traveling together - up to 4 single rooms at a time can be blocked together and closed off of for a more intimitate effect. Or of course we can put you 16 floors apart. Additionally - we are a pet-friendly hotel as you mentioned, but we recognize not every traveler shares the same opinion so we have designated floors that are always pet free.

Now let's hear more about this gelato addiction...

Safe travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

As first time visitors to Boston we wanted to stay in the heart of the city for convenience and easy access. Loved the hotel decor! The room was nicely decorated, beds were comfortable and the staff was very accommodating. The wine hour was a nice treat too!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfaust9206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Cfaust9206,

Thank you for staying at Nine Zero on your recent trip to Boston. There is no doubt that we are at the heart of the city. Although I am pretty sure the city's head is over by Fenway wondering what is going on with the Red Sox.


Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varese
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The hotel is superbly positioned just a few steps from Boston Common, walking distance to Quincy Market, Aquarium and even the North End is not far.
Room size is large and the room is very nicely decorated and designed. The amenities in the bathroom are very good (bathrobe is awesome, shampoo, bar of soap, etc are very nice).
The breakfast served at the table in the restaurant of the hotel is a little bit impersonal and cold. but the food and drinks that it is served it's of a very high quality (fresh fruits, hot croissant, etc..)

Definitely Nine Zero is a very good choice!

Room Tip: Higher floor could have a great view over the Boston Common!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PietroVarese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear PietroVarese,

Also not far from the hotel...Freedom Trail, TD Garden, Newbury Street, Downtown Crossing, Dunkin' Donuts. And another Dunkin' Donuts. And another...this town loves donuts!

The animal print robes ARE pretty awesome. Wait until you see one of the Giraffe robes. They are for our taller guests. We feature only zebra robes on property - they are the most stylish of all animals.

Hope to see you again,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Road Town, Tortola
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We always go back here. You can't beat the location or friendliness of the staff. It is very central for everything you need downtown.

The rooms are a fair size and the hotel is peaceful. The evening free wine reception - with sangria - is a really nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear richeva888,

Thank you for continuing to stay with us on your trips into Boston. The Sangria is a great way to mix up the summer wine reception. And of course - look for our hot toddies this winter.

Happy travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at Nine Zero twice - my first and my second / last trip to Boston. The staff is ever so helpful and assisted us with several dinner reservations. The location is great being a convenient walk to anything downtown

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorsburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear dorsburn,

Thank you for staying with us last fall! If you think the first two stays were great - wait until stay number three. Third time's the charm as they say.

See you soon,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We spent 4 nights at Nine Zero during a recent trip to Boston. We choose this hotel based on its location and the fact it was a Kimpton property. We arrived at Logan Int. and took the free shuttle (bus 66) to the water and then rode a water taxi across the harbour to Long Wharf. We walked about 10 minutes to the hotel (cost $10 each), a nice way to arrive. When we left we walked 5 minutes to the blue line subway to the airport stop then boarded a shuttle bus to the terminal (cost $2.50 each). Door to door about 25 minutes or less!

When we arrived at Nine Zero we were pleased to have a great corner room with a view of the Park Street Church and historic burial ground. Quite nice. The room was large with a King bed and lots of windows (which opened). The bathroom was very nice, but had no tub (walk in shower). The decor was cool and funky as was the entire hotel. As Kimpton members we had free wifi and a $10 coupon to 'raid the mini-bar' (had some kettle chips and chocolate chip cookies). We also took part in the free wine reception each night from 5-6. They had white sangria, a dry red wine and super sweet white dessert wine. This was a nice way to 'kick off' our evening, before we headed out to dinner.

The location of this hotel is perfect. It is centrally located (Boston Common) so everything was within an easy walk. Hotels in Boston seem to be expensive in the summer so this hotel was about average in terms of value compared to others.

As others have mentioned there is no coffee maker in the room, however, it was available in the restaurant on the 2nd floor. My husband was able to get our coffee as early as 6:30 a.m. and it actually tasted good, compared to those cheap home 'brewers' you usually find in hotel rooms.

The staff, particularly the concierge, Andy, were helpful. Only complaint was that we were lead to believe there were plenty of complimentary bikes available, however when we wanted to get them we learned they only had 2 and 1 was out for repair. We had to change our plans accordingly. The next day we used the bike-share system (Hubway) and biked around the Esplande and the Charles River. This worked out better because we didn't have to ride our bikes through city streets to the river. We continued to use the various bike locations within our 24 hour membership including a bike tour of the Harvard campus.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Boston.

Room Tip: Corner room on a high floor provides the best views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentflyerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear FrequentflyerToronto,

The trip from Logan is always surprisingly fast. I love the 1 if by land, 2 if by sea approach. Very Boston. All of our corner rooms do feature the stand alone showers, as does about 45% of the rest of the hotel.

The coffee in the 2nd floor lounge in the morning is definitely better than any coffeemaker I have ever encountered - although we do have Keurigs for request - which make a mean (and fast) cup of joe.

Sorry about both bicycles not being available during your stay. We are pretty meticulous with their maintenance. You definitely need all the gears (and brakes!) given how many hills are around here. Luckily, as you mentioned, there are a couple of great alternatives if ours are "in the shop" or "out on the town" with another guest.

Regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
7,265 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#10 of 83 in Boston
1,097 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Property: Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108-4101 (Formerly Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing