We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Yet Warm and Friendly Hotel, in the Heart of Historic Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The feel of this modern hotel in the historic, Boston Common location is both cool and unique, yet the ambiance is warm and extremely friendly and professional. You feel more like a guest in a small Inn, as the excellent staff treat you like you're special--recognizing you and calling you by name, for example. The rooms were a good size for a city location, and very clean and comfortable. There is free wi-fi, which is appreciated and easy to access (no complicated codes or hassles). Between 5 and 6 pm, they have a nice wine reception in the lobby area, that included delicious hot toddies when we were there on a snowy late winter weekend. We were there on Oscar night, and Meghan at the front desk (very helpful and professional) told us that they were having a viewing party in one of the suites, so we had fun watching the red carpet with some other guests and enjoying complimentary snacks and champagne. It made the evening memorable. We enjoyed complimentary take out coffee downstairs in the mornings, but skipped the expensive breakfast and opted to dine in one of the nearby pubs or in Quincy Market, only an easy 6 minute walk toward the Harbor area. The location is so good that we parked our car in the garage and walked everywhere (with a valet to park it if you choose, at an additional fee--plan to pay for parking just about anywhere you stay downtown). The T train is only two blocks away, which can take you most anywhere that you can't walk to. They are pet friendly, but the guests with pets are relegated to certain floors, so aside from a well-behaved dog going through the lobby on a leash once in awhile, you wouldn't even know there were any pets on the premises. You can easily and safely walk to the Harbor, Quincy Market, the Freedom Trail, Old Granary Cemetery, Kings Church, and Little Italy. Overall, the Nine Zero feels like a luxury, boutique hotel, amid one of the oldest historic locations in Boston. As a frequent traveler who stays in a number of hotels, I have nothing but praise for the hotel and its staff, and would highly recommend it, whether you are traveling as a couple, or as a family, or for business. A shout out to Meghan and all of the great staff at the Nine Zero!

Room Tip: Even the room near the elevator was very quiet. Next time, we'll see if we can get a room overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,622 - 1,628 of 2,746 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed here to attend an interview. Not a very visible hotel on Tremont street
Lot of restaurants around this place (try The Park)

Close to downtown crossing T station

Close to shopping district as well

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camssmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Love this hotel! It's well-located, stylish and well-maintained but best of all, the staff is terrific! After a disappointing experience at another Kimpton property I wondered if our positive feelings about the chain had everything to do with the Kimpton we frequent most but the Nine Zero has reaffirmed our belief in Kimpton standing for gracious service and a touch of whimsey.

Thank you, Thomas, for reading our In Touch profile and sending goodies up to our room and for two great restaurant recommendations. And it was absolutely delightful to walk into our room after a very chilly evening out and find that Lici had done a wonderful turn down service: not only was there a crackling "fire" waiting for us but she has put a local beer that we had purchased on ice, placed a beer glass next to it and opened our guide book to the page that describes the area surrounding the hotel. We were charmed.

This is a very welcoming property and we will be back. Kudos to Kimpton and the management and staff here at the Nine Zero. We've had a splendid experience.

Room Tip: Loved the corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackblaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed only one night during a deep freeze. We had our Bulldog with us and our room was perfect - isolated a bit on the 5th floor, so he had peace and quiet to sleep the afternoon away while we hit the aquarium - it was way too cold to do anything else! The wine reception with hot toddies was wonderful. There were many restaurants within walking distance.

If you have a well behaved pooch, Kimpton is the way to go - this is our 2nd time @ Kimpton with our dog and it was PERFECT.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrstn43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

only upon checking out I was told I could have a simple kettle and teabags, instead of this hideous tea-making machine. And I would have loved a warm drink as it was freezing cold. However room and amenities are up to standard.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chatouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

First, let me just say that the service in this hotel was impeccable. For whatever glitch we experienced, there was instant caring and satisfaction. That said, were I to choose between attention to design and working plumbing, it's not a difficult choice. We checked in late at night, our requested foam pillows were not in the room, the bathroom door was a sliding door with a broken stop and the toilet would not refill after flushing. No problem, we were given another room that had better plumbing and more foam pillows than we could ever use. The only issue would be the beautiful concept of a glass shower that leaked all over the bathroom floor.
Again, all of that said, the staff was fabulous. They were genuinely concerned about our comfort and were helpful at every turn. The bed was comfortable and the location is great. I just wish that as much attention was put into maintenance as was put into "design".

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Love Kimpton hotels! Fantastic location - within walking distance of Public Gardens, Newbury Street, ChinaTown. Wine reception late afternoon. Modern rooms, well furnished- very nice staff. Oh- call at least 30 mins for your car otherwise you'll have to wait quite awhile

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank LaFamilleAventureuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,738 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#12 of 84 in Boston
1,365 reviews
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#26 of 84 in Boston
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108-4101 (Formerly Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £125 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing