We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Level Contributor
480 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We love Kempton hotels and decided to try this property. Great location, and great service. The front desk was small but efficient. We stayed in one of the themed suites and it was outstanding. Great décor, very spacious and comfortable. It was a bit strange not having a window in the bedroom, but, that was the only thing that was off. I would recommend this property to anyone coming to Boston and looking for a central location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jleibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Jleibo,

Thank you for choosing Nine Zero on your recent business trip to Boston. Our suites are really cool - be sure to come back and try the other 3. They all have a very different feel but with the same great space and bedroom so dark you probably won't even be able to tell if you're sleeping or just lying there with your eyes open wondering if you're actually sleeping. I think that's a zen mind thing.

Happy new year,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,636
    684
    137
    37
    29
See reviews for
500
1,124
149
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acushnet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Great location close to everything. Very comfortable room with great amenities. Decent fitness center open 24/7. Bummer that they charge for wifi though. Very friendly and helpful staff. First time here but I will definitely try to stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you for ringing in 2014 with us! I'm guessing using the fitness center was some sort of resolution obligation because you shouldn't be working out on a holiday. I'm sure we told you but wifi is complimentary for Kimpton InTouch guests (that's our loyalty program).

Hope to see more of you this year!

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I were in town to bring our 2 year old to see Yo Gabba Gabba, down the street at the Orpheum. I travel quite a bit, in North America, and am Platinum with both SPG and Marriott. Lately, I've been leaning towards trying out boutiques, as there's only so many Autograph Collections and W's you can try before getting quite bored of the big chain service (and lack thereof)

Check in was quick and smooth. Room and keys were provided even though we arrived 2 hours prior to check in (take a note SPG and Marriott, making your top elites feel bad about showing up early is lowbrow). In fact, the Nine Zero staff didn't even make a comment about checking in early. That, my friends, sealed the deal.

We booked a suite as my two year likes room to move around. Great space, had a tub/shower (which works out well when you have a kid tagging along). Room service was spectacular. They show up on time, explain the menu items and are very friendly folk.

Checkout and car pickup from the valet was simple and quick as well. Great valet staff.

I'm planning on hitting Kimptons in cities I have business in for 2014. I can hit IC relatively quick. The only concern I have is stay credits for Kimpton hotels. The loyalty portion of their booking site needs work as past reservations don't always show up. I'm hoping this stay credits normally, as I hate having to fill out missing stay forms.

Overall, fantastic hotel, great location, top notch staff and great experience.

Room Tip: Suites have a stellar layout and ample space to entertain (or have your kids stay with you)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalgleish_michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear dalgleish_michael,

Thank you for choosing Nine Zero. Hopefully we were able to preserve some of your sanity after the rousing evening at YGG. And a special thank you for choosing us over some other options that you may have greater familiarity and incentive to stay with. We will work on the issue with your stay credits. I assure you the record of them is out there in the interweb somewhere. In the mean time, we (the Kimpton "we") look forward to seeing a lot more of you in 2014.

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The location was perfect. We walked through Boston Common and the public garden daily. The T was a block away, but we rarely took it since we explored the city on foot. Dim Sun in Chinatown, the North End, Newbury St., and Beacon Hill were very close. The hotel itself was lovely. A nice staff, cozy room, plus hot apple cider waiting for you after walking in the cold. The wine hour was a nice touch too. Bigelow products in the bathroom!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Clubu,

Dim sun...great call. Hopefully you followed it up with a coconut bun or three from Bao Bao Bakery (my favorite - and also very close to the hotel).

Thank you for choosing Nine Zero.

Happy travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very nice and clean hotel. Great location to the common and the T.
Staff friendly and hotel decor is great.
Large rooms with plenty of space.
Would stay again.


Negatives:
Bathroom light had no shade, was way too bright. Wound up pulling both bulbs and just used overhead light.

No free wifi in this day and age is stupid. Must pay or join their club.

Room Tip: ask to look out on north end church
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear pikster,

Thank you for choosing Nine Zero. Sorry our lighting led you to perform some ad hoc electrical engineering - we are working to make sure the lighting isn't so blinding in the future.

You did leave a few words out of your review: "awesome, stay-customizing, deal-giving, and stay-earning". They go between "join their" and "club".

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

This property is the "go to" place in downtown Boston. It's centrally located near the Boston Commons and the financial, waterfront districts.
The decor is modern as well as the neat amenities.
The staff could not be any friendly and efficient.
Parking is a bit pricy at $42.00 per night.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have excellent views of the commons and Charles River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Harry S,

Thanks for coming to your go to!

We have made sure our parking rates are favorable for the area believe it or not, PLUS that gives you unlimited in and out privileges, 24 hour access, AND a warm, secure place for your car to stay for the evening!

Hope you see you again soon.

Regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northborough, MA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Nine Zero has done it again. Stayed here for two nights to celebrate my mom's 60th birthday in early December. She was welcomed at the front desk with birthday greetings and then we were shocked to find champagne ready and waiting for us in our room. The staff are all so friendly and helpful - those at the front desk, concierge, valet - everyone! It is so nice to stay somewhere and feel incredibly welcome and special. Love all the small touches - the flavored waters in the lobby, wine hour, turn-down service. The location is perfect - we were able to walk to Newbury, Copley, the North End, and Faneuil Hall and took a short cab ride to Symphony Hall. We had been thinking of a trip to London or Chicago and decided on Boston instead - cannot imagine we would have had better service in either city. There are many choices for hotels in Boston (I have tried others!), but it doesn't get better than the Nine Zero. This is my second stay in six months, and I already can't wait to go back. Book here - you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have amazing views of the Boston skyline and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenkgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear jenkgen,

Happy belated birthday to your Mom - although staff is pretty sure it was her 2nd 30th birthday based on her youthful and radiant appearance.

I agree that we are probably the beacon of service for London and Chicago - so you definitely made a wise choice. Thank you for returning to us and we can't wait to see you again.

Happy travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,051 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Property: Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108-4101 (Formerly Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing