We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We travelled to Boston with four children. Nine Zero was everything we had hoped it would be - rooms were perfect - loved our queen suite with the book/author theme. Beds were extremely comfortable and we slept very well. Great location - we walked to dinner, sights. Liz at the front desk was extremely helpful - as was all the staff. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi Shannon352,

I’m glad our suite worked out for you and your family and that our location was ideal for touring the city. I’m looking forward to telling Liz how fantastic her service was.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,625
    679
    137
    35
    29
See reviews for
495
1,118
146
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The wonderful part about this hotel is the location which is hard to beat. Adjacent to the Freedom Trail, with the T station so close by and Boston Common virtually at its doorstep, the location is hard to beat.

However, there were so many disappointments during the stay, which all added up to a feeling of being hugely let down.

I had chosen the hotel based on reviews here. For the $310 plus taxes that I shelled out, I expected much better in every way.

Housekeeping does not clean under the desk, on higher surfaces, behind the bathroom door. The bathroom door is a sliding one, but can be swung out a bit. Rather disconcerting.

I was given a room where not much light filtered in even on a bright July day. I had to switch on all the lights in the room and even then, it was rather dim. The view was of a badly peeling wall just a few feet away and there were rooms there. The bed was saggy. The armchair for reading was positioned in a dark corner of the room with no lighting there.

The air conditioning emitted a low screechy, grating noise when turned up two degrees. I was told it couldn't be fixed. Not very loud, but irritating enough. The air conditioning vent outside my room sounded like a vacuum cleaner switched on the entire day and I could see all the dust inside.

The staff were mechanical in their functioning and responses. One of them was rather rude in her response when asked where I could collect my takeaway breakfast that was part of the deal. She gave me a look as if I am stupid. The breakfast for a dollar more is a croissant and muffin and a portion of cut fruit.

I had to join the loyalty programme for access to free wifi which was not very consistent in signal strength in any case, or else pay something like $25 per day.

They give out only eight late checkouts, so be sure to ask for that on check in.

I won't be returning to this hotel nor any Kimpton hotel in future. Nor will my friends and their networks, when travelling to Boston for college visits, commencements or graduation days.

Room Tip: Certainly not one where you look into an alleyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pianamaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello Pianamaste,

I’m glad you enjoyed our central location with easy access to the T for getting around the city. The housekeeping shortcomings you indicated are certainly not acceptable. We do offer view rooms at different price points. Based on the number of arriving guests, we can generally provide some late check-outs each day.

Regards,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I like the Kimpton hotels a good deal and this one is certainly part of that family. Excellent service, clean and comfortable rooms with all the amenities, etc. The standard happy hour did not have as many appetizers as the other Kimpton hotels I've visited, but when the hotel is giving you free wine, I'm not going to complain too much! The location is great-- on the Freedom Trail across from the Granary Burial Ground and Park Street church.

The only really incongruous thing that I'd warn people with small children about is that there is a huge and super-cheesy, almost-porno painting of a naked woman on one wall of the breakfast dining area. It really did not fit with the coffee-shop wood and coziness of the rest of the room and was just a horrendous painting (no artistic value at all). I complained to the hostess and she said it was there because the area was a club at night (I don't think that it's the type of club where this painting belongs).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davisellu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi davisellu,

I’m glad you enjoyed the service, amenities we have to offer and our central location. My apologies for the artwork in our lounge not seeming appropriate to you.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Modern hotel with the usual Kimpton flourishes. A bit more restrained in decoration than some Kimptons I have seen. Very clean and kept up. Some have complained about the public space scents, but I didn't find them overpowering. We were upgraded to a corner room in the front. Some of the lower floor rooms in back look out on the building next door, so avoid those if you can. There is a popular bar in the building so great for easy drinks if you want. Part of the Kimpton vibe is friendly and informal service--so great it you like that. If you want a more reserved and professional style, then this is probably not your hotel nor hotel chain. For the first time, tried the "its our anniversary" note, and they left a nice food tray in the room. (it also turns our that my partner knew a former manager, so we got some bubbly and other items too). Location is very convenient. I did find it a bit expensive but Boston seems to be on the expensive side all around.

Room Tip: Rooms in front. Back rooms on lower floors look onto other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello Scott C,

I’m glad you found our hotel to be well kept, and was pleased to note you stopped into our Highball Lounge for a drink.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilsonville
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Kimpton hotels come with a high expectation, and Nine-Zero easily met that. Competent, helpful (and creative) staff, including excellent dining recommendations. Location hard to beat - easy walk or T access to just about anywhere in Boston, right on the Freedom Trail, right across/next to several historic locations and easy walk to Faneuil Hall, Aquarium, etc. We took advantage of a nice promotion to stay there, so good value to boot, but it would've been worth it at a higher rate. Kimpton In-touch (loyalty club) members get free wifi with no obligations or minimum stays, so why not (NOTE: this is not an ad for Kimpton or In-Touch). The bar is well stocked, as is true with most Kimptons, but is not a restaurant (there are plenty nearby though) and is actually a local hot-spot, so probably best not to count on a quiet drink (noise is confined to the bar, though). Only miss was the mattress overlay, which was losing its feathers (pointy end first) - couldn't figure out the problem at first, but those probably need to be replaced a little more often. Only other consideration is if you're taking the T from the airport: the closest stop on the Blue Line, Government Ctr., is closed for renovations until at least 2016, so plan on either getting off at State St. or changing trains to Park St. (closest stop overall); State St. is a few blocks farther but still easier than changing lines. We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Excellent sound-proofing: our room was directly across from ice machine and we never would've kn...
See more room tips
Green Features: Easy recycling, good insulation; Kimptons in general pay attention to this.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello Jeff R,

I was pleased to note you found our staff to be accommodating; you enjoyed our central location, and made your way to our Highball Lounge for a relaxing drink. I’m sorry you got the point from our feather beds; we’ll take a look at that.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Nice very friendly staff, rooms very nice ,clean, and modern. In great location right in the heart of the Boston Common. Beds very comfortable slept very well. It is also very easy to accesses the T from the hotel. I would definitely stay here again next time I come to Boston.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobLucky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi BobLucky3,

I’m glad you liked our comfortable bedding, modern décor and central location.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I had hoped that Nine Zero would live up to its reputation of being different and boutique, like other hotels in Boston such as the Marlowe Hotel for example. And I had also hoped that paying a small fortune would guarantee me a beautiful room with a beautiful view (like other hotels in Boston such as Westin Copley). In fact, Nine Zero was more expensive than much nicer hotels in NYC, and slightly more expensive than other beautiful hotels I've stayed at in Boston. And I regret making the decision to pay that much money to stay there. I would have expected:
- Less traditional decor
- Better views my room which was a "Skyline" view in fact mostly overlooked another building giving me barely any privacy
- A restaurant (they only have a bar with bar snacks)
- Friendlier less robotic service (other hotels I've stayed at in Boston really set an extremely high standard in customer service and friendliness)

Not to say that it wasn't a great hotel, with a brilliant location. It was just simply too expensive for what I got and I could've gotten better value for my money elsewhere.

Next time I'm in Boston, it will not be my hotel of choice, and nor will I be recommending it to my friends. If someone does really want to stay there though, I wouldn't dissuade them from doing so as it is a lovely hotel - so long as you're aware that you do have alternatives which are equal, if not better, in quality, views and service.

Room Tip: When you pay for a "skyline" room, make sure that you get one which doesn't overlook t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudgiesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello BudgiesLondon,

I’m sorry our décor and views offered didn’t meet your expectations and that you found our staff to be perhaps scripted. As noted, our Highball Lounge offers appetizers, and fantastic craft cocktails, and fortunately they are numerous restaurants in the area to choose from for full meal service. I was pleased to note you enjoyed our central location.

Regards,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,948 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Property: Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108-4101 (Formerly Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing