We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Ranked #15 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a bit pricey but the rooms are exceptionally clean, they have among the best showers in any hotel I've ever stayed in, and the staff was very helpful. The location is good if you're in town for work in Downtown Crossing. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hello Mike D,

I’m glad you enjoyed the cleanliness of your guest room and our shower. I was pleased to note you found our staff to be accommodating, and that our location worked well for you.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,625
    679
    137
    35
    29
See reviews for
495
1,118
146
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Called the hotel direct to get rooms next door to each other for my family. Very accommodating. Great views from the room and right on the Freedom Trail. Concierge helped pick the perfect North End restaurant for birthday celebration. Highly recommend. The only nit-picky thing missing was a towel hook in the otherwise wonderful bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevators, can get rooms in same hallway area rather than adjoining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hello nhes,

I’m pleased we were able to accommodate your request for adjoining guest rooms, and that our Concierge assisted you in selecting a wonderful restaurant in the North End. Sorry about the hook.

We hope to welcome back soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Beach, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Spent a great weekend in Boston and enjoyed a perfect stay at The Nine Zero Hotel. The staff is genuinely friendly, accommodating and welcoming. Pet friendly and people friendly!
The hotel is clean, comfortable and has a relaxing atmosphere. Slept well on a comfortable bed as did my dog on the bed they provided. The bathroom is much larger than most hotel bathrooms. Biked around Boston on their loaner bikes and walked the Boston Common each morning.

Green Features: I appreciate the Nine Zero's commitment to being environmentally friendly. It is prove that quality and comfort need not be sacrificed by being responsible. In fact it is enhanced by respecting and recognizing the need to be environmentally aware and responsible.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coastal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hello coastal64,

I’m thrilled you and your dog both rated us at the top of the scale! I was pleased that you enjoyed our location, the complimentary bikes and the service provided by our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Walk to shopping, the waterfront, the commons, from the middle of the financial district. Plenty of restaurants and bars close by. No car needed for a great time in Boston. Go to the North end for endless Italian choices, walk the Freedom Trail (or maybe part of it). The hotel rooms are smaller but very nice and we were surprised (as Starbucks fans) that the complimentary coffee wa so good, everyone agreed on that. The staff is helpful and each one was friendly. And....there is a complimentary wine bar in the afternoon. It is pet friendly and the few dogs were leashed and well behaved. The cemetery is just across the street. The Baracuda, great food and drinks is less than a block away!

Room Tip: Don't bank on a good view although some rooms will have them. But the location makes up for that...
See more room tips
Green Features: This is not really something I focus on in hotels but this one met our other wants and was environmentally friendly as we'll.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LenexaTraveler0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi LenexaTraveler0423,

I’m glad you enjoyed our ideal location, and almost endless lobby beverages. I was pleased to note you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We spent a little more than usual on a trip to show my daughter a good time on her first hotel experience. The hotel did not disappoint. From the beginning, our room was not ready but they checked our bags, and while we were gone left my daughter a note, left some fruit and a cupcake for her, as well as a teddy bear snuck into her luggage (which they asked me about ahead of time, so I didn't mind them going into her bag). The location was nice, as you could walk to the Commons (park), and the harborfront/aquarium/whale watch boats in about 15 min. time. There is a great Walgreens around the corner to hit up for medicine, food, etc. Plenty of coffee places, dessert places, pubs, etc. nearby. Hotel was gorgeous inside, turn down service had cool purple modern lighting turned on in room, view from top floors is great. Room size was very large. All in all great people, great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello Sean S,

So it’s true; happy kid equals happy parent. Thank you for choosing us for your daughter’s first hotel experience. I’m glad you enjoyed our central location, your accommodations and the service you all received.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
401 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

To celebrate birthdays and our anniversary, we chose four nights in Boston to soak up history and marinara in the North End. The Nine Zero was a perfect location for both! We started in a corner room and loved the view but the space was smallish so we were happily transferred to a 19th (top floor) large king room with a great view of the Common,the Charles River and city sights. Great staff at the front desk, the Kimpton wine service from 5-6pm and a small but adequate fitness center made our stay perfect!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisgalChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi ParisgalChicagoIL,

I’m glad you found our location to be ideal for soaking up all that Boston tradition. I’m pleased with hit the mark with your top floor Skyline view room.

Thanks for celebrating with us,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel because it was rated highly by Travel & Leisure Magazine. It's very hard to find a nice hotel in Boston for a decent price. With that said, I don't think this hotel is anything to write home about especially for the price. If it was priced slightly lower, I would say totally worth it. I paid $400 per night for a basic room which seems to be the going rate in Boston. Based on the photos online it looks like all the rooms have floor to ceiling windows. That's not true if you get a basic Deluxe Queen Room, these rooms have no sunlight as you only have a tiny window facing a brick wall. The bathroom in the room was nice and the decor in the lobby was nice as well. The room itself was just average. A nice touch was the complimentary wine hour between 5pm-6pm. The hotel itself is in a great location, in walking distance to everything like the North End, Back Bay Area, restaurants, shopping and basically down the block from Boston Common.

Room Tip: If you care about your view, don't get the basic Deluxe Queen Room because all of the views for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MellyMel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi MellyMel87,

We do offer varying room types from a view and size standpoint at differing price points. I’m glad you enjoyed the décor in your guest room and our lobby, as well as our evening wine reception.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,950 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Property: Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108-4101 (Formerly Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing