We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in a nice part of Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Nicely sited in South End, felt very local not too 'touristy'. We enjoyed walking into the city centre and also to Fenwick Park for baseball, but also near public transport stops. Good range of bars and restaurants also within walking. Bedroom (top floor room) was lovely, very comfortable and spacious. We saw the July 4th fireworks fin the skies from our balcony! Breakfasts excellent, hosts cordial.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTW-in-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Liz. Thank you for a late response to your February review here at Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you have good memories of your July stay and are happy that you could enjoy the partial view of the July 4th Fireworks. Since you only rated the service somewhat lower, we would be very interested to find out in what area we could improve. Any hints via e-mail (reinhold@encorebandb.com) would be highly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
There are newer reviews for Encore Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights in late October at the end of our visit to New England. The B&B is in a very pleasant area of Boston and well within walking distance of the City Centre and its attractions.

We were warmly welcomed by David on our arrival and had an extremely comfortable, quiet and pleasant room for our stay with a delicious breakfast provided each morning. We enjoyed the relaxed informal atmosphere, but appreciated the help and advice that was so readily forthcoming if requested.

Reinhold and David have gone to great lengths to provide a great deal of information for their guests about Boston activities and have produced an outstanding guide to local restaurants within walking distance of the B&B. We really appreciated this and enjoyed three superb evening meals, each unique, based on their recommendations.

We wouldn’t hesitate to stay again and would highly recommend the Encore.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheshirekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

We are delighted to receive such a flattering review 3 month after your stay. We are happy that you had a great experience both at Encore and the Southend in general. We hardly venture out of the neighborhood when it comes to restaurant choices, because there are so many in walking distance and we always want to be up to date about their offerings. BTW Petit Robert has a great new chef (in the kitchen)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Discovering a new B&B in a place you know well is always most welcome. The Encore B&B is just such a find and the entire property is quite charming and inviting.

Reinhold & David are excellent hosts and the conceit of naming the different rooms after celebrated American cultural icons (Robbins, Sondheim, Bernstein & Albee) is a great idea. We stayed in the Bernstein room and it had posters and other items related to Bernstein's cultural legacy.

For me, breakfast is always important at a B&B and this aspect of our stay was top notch. Great coffee, a wide range of pastries (including some gluten free options) and nice people to talk to throughout the stay.

The accessibility to great restaurants and jazz clubs like the Beehive and Wally's was another plus. Just walking around the area is a bit of an urban history lesson and I can't think of a better B&B in Boston!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesecondcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Max. Thank you so much for a stellar review - we both hope you enjoyed your stay with as much as we appreciated our conversations at breakfast. You missed to mention the closeness of Symphony Hall and you missed a great event which happened there last night. Golijov''s "La Pasion segun San Marcos was per formed by a group of Venezuelian musician's under Robert Spano. I literally got carried away! We call ourselves lucky to have all these opportunities close by and are especially happy, when our guests recognize all the opportunities that the location of our B&B has to offer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed at Encore for 4 nights in November 2013. Our bedroom was on the top floor and was incredibly spacious and modern. The bed was so comfortable we really struggled to get up each morning to explore Boston! The bathroom was spotless and had lovely Aveda products provided.

Breakfast was granola, fruit and yogurt and a choice from a huge selection of pastries, muffins and breads. The quality of the food was exceptional. Each morning the host Reinhold walks to the local gourmet bakery to purchase your requested items so they are very fresh and delicious. What a treat!

This really is a lovely B&B situated in a fabulous, foody area of Boston. I cannot recommend it more highly.

Just a tip for potential guests. The owner is not kidding when he says there are lots of stairs in the property. It is a renovated brownstone townhouse over three floors. The B&B is situated on the top two floors so there are two-three steep flights to climb. It really isn't an issue and Reinhold very kindly assists with hauling bags to the room, but I may be something for some guests to consider.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Peita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Peita. Sorry for the late response to you outstanding review. By now you should be back in Australia enjoying the warm summer weather. We had an unusual cold spill all over the US which made you think you are living in the arctic. Of course we can't wait for Spring to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

If you are looking for somewhere that is quiet, tastefully designed and in walking distance of the concert hall, theatres and downtown, then this is just the place. With just a handful of rooms, this lovely place to stay is situated in a historic town house in a pleasant area. The local library next door permits guests to the city to check their e-mails which is very handy. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful, but also respect privacy. I was here for a conference and a short holiday and I would happily stay here again. It is also very clean and the breakfast is good.

Room Tip: If you do not mind climbing stairs, then the Albee room at the top has a balcony with great views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Mary. A very late thank you for your effort to write a review on Tripadvisor, which reflects your appreciation of Encore. We are especially happy that you mentioned the branch library next door, which is very helpful for guest who want to travel without any computers. You also mention Symphony Hall, which is in walking distance and we are able to get discounted tickets if we know in advance whether our guests are planning to go there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

For our first trip to Boston from Adelaide,Australia we booked Encore wholly & solely based on reviews read on Trip Advisor.This utterly charming establishment lived up to and eclipsed these,for us there were no faults to be found.Our wonderful host Reinhold was warm,welcoming and most informative.Encore was beautifully clean and stylish and we so enjoyed our breakfasts,try the fabulous granola! the location is ideal with so much close at hand while still in a truly lovely neighborhood setting.Our only regret is that we were unable to spend longer,we felt we were leaving home on our last day! Our warmest thanks to you Reinhold and David,we loved Encore and Boston and hope to return one day.It really is a pleasure to recommend Encore,take a bow!

Room Tip: We found the Bernstein room excellent,stylish,clean & comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guests. Thank you for taking the time to post this heartfelt review. We especially appreciate it form Australian guests - we appreciated the hospitality we experienced nearly through our entire trip last year. I definitely would prefer to be in Adelaide right now as opposed to Boston.
Thank you for all the great conversations during breakfast on a wide range of issues. If you feel your time in Boston was short, our time in Adelaide was even shorter and that makes us want to come back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent nearly a week in this B&B and had a lovely time. Very comfortable atmosphere, the rooms have theirits own bath/shower/toilet. TV, free WiFi.
But the best was the breakfast: you get to choose from all sorts of possibilities and you'll be served at the table by the innkeepers.
We bet it would be hard to find a nicer place to stay in or around boston!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidSch_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear David. We are impressed, that you took the time so short after your long flight back to Switzerland, to write this review. Thank you very much. Are you aware that you helped achieve a landmark, because this our Review #500 of all the excellent reviews. Part of the credit should go to Flour, the bakery that provides us with the delicious selection of fresh baked goods.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,353 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 84 in Boston
3,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 84 in Boston
4,870 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 116 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02118-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £103 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Encore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore b&b
Encore Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing