We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Encore B&B this week and loved it! The neighborhood can't be beat - it's just a couple of blocks to great restaurants and all the fun of the South End. It was also close enough to walk to Boston Common's or to catch a train or the T. Reinhold is a wonderful host - beautiful breakfast each morning and wonderful advice on restaurants, transportation, the sights, etc. Plus, the B&B is beautifully appointed, lovely, modern and comfortable decor throughout. All in all we loved our stay at Encore and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Sandy. We are happy to have made your visit to Boston looking around for colleges an enjoyable one. Thank you for taking the time to write this outstanding review.Of course we hope that your daughter decides to come to Boston despite the cold winters, but we can assure you, that the last winter was on of the toughest in memory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed two nights at Encore B&B in Boston's South End in March 2014. It's within walking distance of the city center and a number of excellent restaurants. Reinhold, our host was very kind and accommodating right from when we arrived by grabbing my heavy suitcase and running up to our room on the 3rd floor with it. The room was beautiful with very chic modern furnishings, a totally comfortable bed, and balcony. Everything was incredibly clean. Breakfast featured fabulous fresh baked goods and excellent conversation.

For the location, Encore B&B is incredibly reasonably priced. Parking is also available. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Paula. Thank you so much for your efforts to write this favorable review. Part of the credit for the breakfast we owe to Flour bakery, who's owner just got nominated for the prestigious "Beards Award".
We are especially grateful about your comment regarding pricing. Some people forget that you have to pay for location (especially in Boston, mainly for property taxes)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here while in Boston at a conference. Reinhold, the host, is very kind and accommodating with many top restaurant tips.
The space itself is wonderfully designed and very clean.
The neighbourhood has a number of amenities and is within walking distance of many sights. It is also easily accessible by transit.

I would highly recommend this space!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Paul. It was a pleasure having you here and since you were so well prepared for your Boston visit, you really made it easy enough for us. Your knowledge about the city and our neighborhood have been so up to date, that we were unable to make additional suggestions.
Just in case you didn't read the previous comment. The owner of Flour got nominated for a Beard Award. Looking forward to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed in the Encore B&B for 3 nights early in October 2013.Our bedroom (top floor room) was very comfortable and spacious and it also had a balcony! Very friendly and helpful host who also served us a delightful breakfast every morning. The B&B is situated in a very nice area of Boston - good restaurants within walking distant and also near public transportation (subway & buss).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Manager at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Anne. We are proud that you have good memories of your October visit at Encore in Boston. We hope that a lot of Norwegians are going to read it, because not too many from this European country come to stay with us. As mentioned before, we are lucky to have Boston's best bakery so close to us, which allows us to serve fresh pastry every morning for breakfast and we are sure our 16 choices offer something for every taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Nicely sited in South End, felt very local not too 'touristy'. We enjoyed walking into the city centre and also to Fenwick Park for baseball, but also near public transport stops. Good range of bars and restaurants also within walking. Bedroom (top floor room) was lovely, very comfortable and spacious. We saw the July 4th fireworks fin the skies from our balcony! Breakfasts excellent, hosts cordial.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTW-in-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Liz. Thank you for a late response to your February review here at Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you have good memories of your July stay and are happy that you could enjoy the partial view of the July 4th Fireworks. Since you only rated the service somewhat lower, we would be very interested to find out in what area we could improve. Any hints via e-mail (reinhold@encorebandb.com) would be highly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights in late October at the end of our visit to New England. The B&B is in a very pleasant area of Boston and well within walking distance of the City Centre and its attractions.

We were warmly welcomed by David on our arrival and had an extremely comfortable, quiet and pleasant room for our stay with a delicious breakfast provided each morning. We enjoyed the relaxed informal atmosphere, but appreciated the help and advice that was so readily forthcoming if requested.

Reinhold and David have gone to great lengths to provide a great deal of information for their guests about Boston activities and have produced an outstanding guide to local restaurants within walking distance of the B&B. We really appreciated this and enjoyed three superb evening meals, each unique, based on their recommendations.

We wouldn’t hesitate to stay again and would highly recommend the Encore.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheshirekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

We are delighted to receive such a flattering review 3 month after your stay. We are happy that you had a great experience both at Encore and the Southend in general. We hardly venture out of the neighborhood when it comes to restaurant choices, because there are so many in walking distance and we always want to be up to date about their offerings. BTW Petit Robert has a great new chef (in the kitchen)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Discovering a new B&B in a place you know well is always most welcome. The Encore B&B is just such a find and the entire property is quite charming and inviting.

Reinhold & David are excellent hosts and the conceit of naming the different rooms after celebrated American cultural icons (Robbins, Sondheim, Bernstein & Albee) is a great idea. We stayed in the Bernstein room and it had posters and other items related to Bernstein's cultural legacy.

For me, breakfast is always important at a B&B and this aspect of our stay was top notch. Great coffee, a wide range of pastries (including some gluten free options) and nice people to talk to throughout the stay.

The accessibility to great restaurants and jazz clubs like the Beehive and Wally's was another plus. Just walking around the area is a bit of an urban history lesson and I can't think of a better B&B in Boston!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesecondcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Max. Thank you so much for a stellar review - we both hope you enjoyed your stay with as much as we appreciated our conversations at breakfast. You missed to mention the closeness of Symphony Hall and you missed a great event which happened there last night. Golijov''s "La Pasion segun San Marcos was per formed by a group of Venezuelian musician's under Robert Spano. I literally got carried away! We call ourselves lucky to have all these opportunities close by and are especially happy, when our guests recognize all the opportunities that the location of our B&B has to offer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,415 reviews
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#4 of 37 in Boston
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 37 in Boston
364 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#7 of 37 in Boston
422 reviews
Downtown
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 116 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02118-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £115 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Encore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore b&b
Encore Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing