We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standing Ovation for Encore!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I chose Boston to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We spent 4 nights at Encore B & B. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by David to our morning conversations with Reinhold, we knew our stay was going to be memorable. The Albee room was delightful with it's outside balcony and lovely view of the neighborhood along with it's theatrical decor. Breakfast was superb with fruit, yogurt and granola as well as fresh bakery. (We loved the sticky buns!) They even remembered our 30th anniversary with a bottle of champagne. A nice surprise was a free summer concert in a near-by park. Thanks so much Reinhold and David! We give you and Encore a standing ovation!
Dennis and Carole S.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Dennis and Carole. Your "Standing Ovation" mad our week! We were happy that you chose Encore for your stay in Boston on the occasion of your 30th wedding anniversary and happy to hear that you haven't been disappointed. You are always welcome for an "encore" visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at Encore B&B and had a great experience. Very good location, excellent restaurants, and a very comfortable, spacious room all made our stay memorable. Our host, Reinhold, was very accommodating and made sure all our needs were met. Though we checked out before breakfast time, Reinhold made coffee and served us breakfast before we departed. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Boston! I highly recommend this B&B.

Danny & Don

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Danny and Don. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Encore B&B. We are happy that we accomplished our main goal to make our guests stay memorable. Our list of repeat guests gets longer and longer every year and we are looking forward to hope fully see you again on the occasion of a future return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Jacqueline and I stayed 5 nights and enjoyed very much this nice place. Breakfast was excellent, good products, nothing to say it was very pleasant - Good and quieter location -Public transport to the center was very easy, bus number 43 is at 3 minutes walk -

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PASSETEMPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thanks for your wonderful review! I'm happy to know you found our location excellent and the breakfast of great quality. It's great hearing from you, and we all appreciate your taking the time to write up this review. Keep us in mind for the next time you're travelling to Boston! All the best, Reinhold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Sarah and I have a lovely experience at Encore B&B. The room was delightful and we enjoyed the modern furnishings (Marcel Breuer Wassily chairs, for example). Car parking was very easy. Quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast was great. We very much enjoyed meeting Reinhold. Location in South End is perfect - we felt like we joined the neighborhood for a couple days. Highly recommended. We will always remember our weekend their fondly and we would absolutely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArchUrban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Elihu and Sarah. Thank you for making an effort to write this fabulous review. I am so happy that we found the time to talk after breakfast for everybody else was served and also thank for the hint for you book about the Prudential Center. I ordered it and it arrived in todays mail. Hopefully I will find the time to read it till your potential next visit. I am sure the South End has a few more things for you both to explore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This lovely, Boston red stone B & B is close to the heart of the city and within walking distance of lots of good restaurants. Our room was beautifully and tastefully furnished and had its own balcony looking over the street. There was a good selection of continental breakfast foods and our hosts, Reinhold and David were absolutely charming.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Karen. It sounds like you took advantage of our location close to Boston's "Restaurant Row". There is even a Food-Tour for the South End and we tried it out, but sine it's scheduled at lunchtime it can include only a limited range of restaurants and therefor doesn't really point out the wide range of choices you have in 5 -10 minute walking distance. Thank you for writing this review and the compliment on the furnishings of our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for five nights and were looked after really well. This started before we arrived as we had an email from Reinhold offering to book us a place for dinner on the evening we arrived.
The continental style breakfast were good and our hosts very helpful in giving good advice. Transport to the centre of Boston is good.
Highly recommended

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bazzerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

What an exciting review after a recent let down. Coming back from a recent visit to NY we couldn't have a better welcome back. Thank you again for taking the time to write the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at Encore for 3 nights. We found the location excellent and very much liked our room which was spacious and comfortable. We felt welcome, but unlike other guests have experienced were largely left to our own devices. Breakfast was pleasant enough but not special in our view. We also did not feel that the level of housekeeping was quite as sharp as it could have been, with glasses not cleaned and soap and water not replenished and for this don't feel able to rate Encore as very good, though average seems rather mean. All in all though it was good value for Boston and we enjoyed our time there - but are just not able to enthuse as much as other reviewers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear guests. We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations, which have been based on Tripadvisor reviews. We pointed out on this site before, that city ordinance doesn't allow us to cook a full breakfast and at no point have we claimed to do so. We offer our guests 16 different choices from Boston's best bakery and most of our guest are in deed happy with that choice. We do indeed provide bottled water at the arrival of our guests, but haven't advised our housekeeper to replenish water on a daily basis, but after your criticism of this fact we will change our policy immediately. It would have been nice if you would have brought this issue together with the issue of replenishing soap to my attention. The problem could have been resolved very quickly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
3,376 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 84 in Boston
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,229 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#7 of 84 in Boston
4,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 116 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02118-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £105 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Encore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Hotel Boston
Encore b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing