We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Providence, RI
11
Reviewed 26 February 2006

The Encore Bed and Breakfast is a charming house in a lovely neigborhood. We had easy access to Boston's amenities and the hosts were gracious and knowledgeable in their suggestions for dining and entertainment.
Our room was stylish and elegant and the theatre theme of the room was fun and entertaining.

Our stay at the Encore B and B added a wonderful touch to our weekend in Boston and I recommend it highly. I look forward to our next opportunity to stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2006

My husband and I recently stayed at Encore in celebration of our one year anniversary. Given their tremendous reviews (one of the best on this site) and how successful we had been in the past using Trip Advisor advice, we thought our stay would be nothing but the best. Perhaps it was overly hyped or perhaps other guests didn't expect excellence, but we were surprisingly disappointed in our stay.

First, the room we stayed in was very noisy. We constantly heard footsteps above our heads, and the kitchenette where breakfast is prepared and guests eat was DIRECTLY outside our door. To make things worse, there was a sizeable gap underneath the door, making all our sounds and the sounds outside strikingly noticeable - - - not necessarily the kind of thing you want for a romantic weekend away!

Secondly, the breakfast was terribly awkward. Guests receive ONLY the food requested the night before - no more, no less. If guests want any more than they thought they might want the night before, there is no chance to get anymore. This is a very cheap practice, if you ask me. Guests don't pay $150 a night so that they have to sheepishly ask for seconds. That's just tacky.

Another important element of the breakfast is that the hosts actually stand there and watch you eat! It's a terribly uncomfortable experience. Oh - and if you don't eat all you've been given, expect some guilt-ridden remarks to force you into eating what you've been given.

The most difficult part of the breakfast was that there is only 1 table for the entire hotel! There are 4 guest rooms, with potentially 8-10 people in the B and B at any time, but only 4 seats at a cramped table. One morning my husband and I were asked by the host to finish our breakfast in our room! This, again, was terribly disappointing.

Aside from that, the rooms were not clean, the hosts bickered in front of us on more than one occasion, and we paid the same price as those guests whose rooms had better views and no noise overhead.

On a brighter note, the neighborhood is absolutely lovely, the restaurants nearby are excellent, and the hotel is within just a couple minutes walk from the closest T station.

My husband and I managed to have a fantastic time in Boston, but that experience had little to do with Encore. We suggest people who are looking for a romantic getaway in Boston pass this hotel by. I know we will in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Piper81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Walpole, Massachusetts
1
Reviewed 9 February 2006

Our room was comfortable, inviting and stylish, the breakfasts were fabulous, and the hosts were warm and friendly. We'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2006

What a find! Charming little B&B, simple yet pleasantly designed, impeccably clean with the most attentive service. We felt like being at home in the South End. Just around the corner is an abundance of excellent bars and restaurants in what emerges as Boston's hot spot.
Reinhold and David run a beautiful place I'll definitely come back to.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABD119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Brooklyn, NY
1
Reviewed 18 January 2006

I loved this place. I wasn't even planning to go to Boston, but when I found about the B&B online I decided I wanted to stay there. I had a good feeling about the place. It was great! Reinhold and David are great hosts, warm, friendly, creative, and interesting. They have an awsome collection of masks from around the world decorating their walls. The rooms are big, comfortable, and beautiful! It's well located in a nice neigborhood. don't think it twice, you'll love it.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2006

Reinhold, whom we had the pleasure of dealing with on a daily basis, was very efficient and pleasant, yet quite discreet... Our room was well-appointed and very, very clean. Breakfast was always delicious (tip: spring for the delish muffins!) and served on time. Our stay was a true pleasure. The Encore's location is ideal and within walking distance of great restaurants -- making it out to the Wharf and other Boston areas of interest was a breeze. Thanks Reinhold and David -- lovely to meet you!
Nadine and Bernard, Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montreal_CanadaNadou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, WA
12
Reviewed 17 December 2005

I recently had a long weekend and decided to travel to Boston. I found the Encore B&B online and decided to take a chance and book a room. It was the best decision I made in my travel planning. Reinhold and David have a wonderful place that is warm, elegant, and perfectly located no matter if you're traveling on business or on vacation. The rooms are nicely done with upgraded amenities and a great continental breakfast. Traveling to Boston?? - Stay at the Encore Bed & Breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,421 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#4 of 37 in Boston
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 37 in Boston
365 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#7 of 37 in Boston
433 reviews
Downtown
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 116 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02118-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £104 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Encore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore b&b
Encore Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing