We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I highly and enthusiastically recommend Encore B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, California
12
Reviewed 27 February 2006

To get immediately to the point: Encore B&B is a wonderful and charming B&B with an overall impeccably refined style, amazing breakfasts, lovely and clean rooms, and Innkeepers with ample amounts of hospitality. I loved my stay at Encore B&B.

For those wishing a bit more details: I always stay at B&Bs when I travel on vacation in the U.S. – and I am extremely particular. My trip to Boston was business related – and it was my first trip to the city, as well. While my colleagues grumbled about their not-so-great-stay at our conference hotel, I was well rested, well fed, and, well taken care of by the good folks at Encore B&B.

Prior to my arrival, the Innkeepers at Encore B&B gave me detailed instructions on how to get from the airport to them – invaluable as this alleviated all stress afer a long flight! The B&B is conveniently located in a quaint neighborhood with great restaurants (ranging from Ethiopian, Italian, Chinese, Pub food, formal dinning, etc.), neighborhood pubs/bars (gay, straight, romantic, quiet, edgy, hip, low key, etc.), nice boutiques, and a wine store just up the street. Adored the surroundings!

Rooms are super cozy, clean, and comfortable. The bed was so comfortable. Wireless Internet access, invaluable. Great reading lights, a plus for me. There is a range of breakfast foods that will keep you satisfied until lunch – crucial in a city were everyone walks. During breakfast, you have a great view from a picturesque window that overlooks the neighborhood. The Innkeepers, are wonderful – sweet, charming, accommodating, and helpful. Loved ‘em! I highly and enthusiastically recommend Encore B&B. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 817 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
New Jersey
11
Reviewed 27 February 2006

February in Boston, 9 degrees outside with a 20 mile an hour wind making it nearly impossible to walk more than a few blocks. But we didn't need to. We were cozy and warm in our room at the Encore. The rooms (we saw them all) are charming, clean, romantic, and comfortable, all the way to the down comforters, crisp sheets and feather pillows. The location, just a short walk from the nearest subway, the Prudential center, and plenty of restaurants, is perfect. Breakfast was served right on time and was delicious: croissants, eggs, wonderful muffins, fresh fruit, ham, cheese..... and our host, Reinhold, was extremely friendly and accommodating.

We spent two nights at the Encore and will be returning for three more nights in May. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Hanover, NH
11
Reviewed 26 February 2006

My friend and I recently stayed at Encore B&B during a recent weekend trip to Boston. The Encore, located in a beautiful brownstone, has a stylish, contemporary decore.
The room we stayed in was clean, comfortable and elegant.

The European flair of the Encore was evident in the delicious prepared breakfasts that are provided. We had wonderful full grain breads, croissants, and fresh fruit and juices.

The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful with ideas about where to eat and what we should do and see while we were in Boston. When I am in town again, I know where I'll be staying!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Providence, RI
11
Reviewed 26 February 2006

The Encore Bed and Breakfast is a charming house in a lovely neigborhood. We had easy access to Boston's amenities and the hosts were gracious and knowledgeable in their suggestions for dining and entertainment.
Our room was stylish and elegant and the theatre theme of the room was fun and entertaining.

Our stay at the Encore B and B added a wonderful touch to our weekend in Boston and I recommend it highly. I look forward to our next opportunity to stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2006

My husband and I recently stayed at Encore in celebration of our one year anniversary. Given their tremendous reviews (one of the best on this site) and how successful we had been in the past using Trip Advisor advice, we thought our stay would be nothing but the best. Perhaps it was overly hyped or perhaps other guests didn't expect excellence, but we were surprisingly disappointed in our stay.

First, the room we stayed in was very noisy. We constantly heard footsteps above our heads, and the kitchenette where breakfast is prepared and guests eat was DIRECTLY outside our door. To make things worse, there was a sizeable gap underneath the door, making all our sounds and the sounds outside strikingly noticeable - - - not necessarily the kind of thing you want for a romantic weekend away!

Secondly, the breakfast was terribly awkward. Guests receive ONLY the food requested the night before - no more, no less. If guests want any more than they thought they might want the night before, there is no chance to get anymore. This is a very cheap practice, if you ask me. Guests don't pay $150 a night so that they have to sheepishly ask for seconds. That's just tacky.

Another important element of the breakfast is that the hosts actually stand there and watch you eat! It's a terribly uncomfortable experience. Oh - and if you don't eat all you've been given, expect some guilt-ridden remarks to force you into eating what you've been given.

The most difficult part of the breakfast was that there is only 1 table for the entire hotel! There are 4 guest rooms, with potentially 8-10 people in the B and B at any time, but only 4 seats at a cramped table. One morning my husband and I were asked by the host to finish our breakfast in our room! This, again, was terribly disappointing.

Aside from that, the rooms were not clean, the hosts bickered in front of us on more than one occasion, and we paid the same price as those guests whose rooms had better views and no noise overhead.

On a brighter note, the neighborhood is absolutely lovely, the restaurants nearby are excellent, and the hotel is within just a couple minutes walk from the closest T station.

My husband and I managed to have a fantastic time in Boston, but that experience had little to do with Encore. We suggest people who are looking for a romantic getaway in Boston pass this hotel by. I know we will in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Piper81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Walpole, Massachusetts
1
Reviewed 9 February 2006

Our room was comfortable, inviting and stylish, the breakfasts were fabulous, and the hosts were warm and friendly. We'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2006

What a find! Charming little B&B, simple yet pleasantly designed, impeccably clean with the most attentive service. We felt like being at home in the South End. Just around the corner is an abundance of excellent bars and restaurants in what emerges as Boston's hot spot.
Reinhold and David run a beautiful place I'll definitely come back to.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABD119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,456 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 86 in Boston
1,973 reviews
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#2 of 37 in Boston
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#6 of 37 in Boston
449 reviews
Downtown
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina
Jamaica Plain
Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 116 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02118-1203
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £83 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Encore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore b&b
Encore Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing