We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exaclty What I needed!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Nantucket, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exaclty What I needed!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

My Stay was in in late August 2011 I needed a room as it was the big hurricane of 2011 and I was in Boston for my Crossfit Certification Trainer Course. I called the Commonwealth and they provided me with a junior suite. As I pulled up to the front door after a long day of training I was happy to have a valet park my car and a great Doorman named Frankie who was very welcoming and by Nick who was engaging and hilarious. I went to the front desk and checked in by a gentleman named Luke who was very professional and got me my room very fast and explained the hotel to me. I was very suprised by how large the room was when I entered. I felt as if I was at home if I had the money for the furnishing's but you get what I mean! The bathroom was great and what I liked most about it was the toilet had its own room!! The room overlooked boston and the bed was amamzing to say the least. I showered and ordered room service. The gentleman brought my food called me Mr. Davis and explained what I ordered asked if he could assist with anything else and left! Now that is customer service. I could go on forever about this place I wish I could have stayed all week but I had to get back to life. All in all a wonderful experience and on the way out Frankie remembered my name after only meeting me once and Nick gave me a good laugh as I went on my Way. Thank you Hotel Commonweath for a great stay!
All the Best,
Mac Davis

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,343
    655
    137
    55
    24
See reviews for
1,333
1,220
197
881
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

I'm a local, but stayed in town for a work event. The staff was outstanding--friendly, efficient, energetic. The room was beautiful, location is perfect--accessible, close to the river, fun part of town. I felt like I was on vacation right here at home.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Commonwealth Ave have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cashea_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

My stay was a weekend overnight with my daughter who was meeting some friends at HOB for a show. The staff was friendly and very accommodating with everything. The location was perfect for us and we loved the view of Fenway! We had breakfast at Eastern Standard the next morning and that was great as well. I hope to get back there for a longer weekend stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed here one night for a scheduled meeting. The hotel is a beautiful place. The staff was especially willing to help and very pleasant to work with. The room was perfect with everything one could possibly need. I completely enjoyed my short stay but would gladly have spent a week there!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a very nice view of Fenway, you might consider asking about these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimsyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Our stay at the Hotel Commonwealth over the 2011 Thanksgiving Holiday made my family's holiday a truly special time. It is a very beautiful hotel in a great location with an exceptional staff. From the great doormen who great you upon every arrival to the friendly and knowledgeable front desk staff who attend to every need, to the exceptional dining venues (we loved Eastern Standard!) it is 5 star all the way! Great rooms, easy transportation and superb dining made for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Stayed for 2 nights, 11/27, 28. Very Nice! I recommend it highly. Staff was super accommodating. Doorman named Nick was especially polite and funny. Room was spacious and well-appointed. Be careful with inspecting the mini-bar as charges are made electronically as you remove items!! Beds were very comfortable. Our room overlooked the Mass Turnpike, but also had nice view of Fenway Park. Great for baseball fans. 2 highly-rated restaurants on site (Island Creek Oyser House and Eastern Standard) but didn't eat at either. Only downside was parking at $42 per day (2 pm to 2 pm). It was valet service, however. Kenmore Square Station (the "T") directly under the hotel with entrance less than 50 feet from front door. Walking distance to Newberry Street shopping, dining, etc. Boston University right across the street. Look for discounts online (Priceline, etc.). You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms along back overlook Turnpike, but have view of historic Fenway Park. Sorry, Yankee fans!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PA_Bill_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I think I may have already written a review last time I stayed there, I had my 3rd stay at Hotel Commonwealth over the weekend and it continues to be consistent on great quality, clean, beautiful hotel, great bang for the buck and, what makes me keep coming back is the kindness and warmth of the staff! I switched from Four Seasons and don't think I"ll ever go back! Top notch in every way.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoshanasmom012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,950 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing