We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel was highly recommended by friend and locals or we would not have stayed here. In the end it was a great experience. We upgraded to the suite when we go there and it made a big difference - right on Kenmore Square is very central and easy access to the T.
There are literally three very different restaurants and/or bars connected to the hotel but you would never know it. We went to the two close in (Oyster and a little place underneath) and they were fabulous. They only issue we had while there was minor - the integrated internet and cable didn't work but they quickly responded and wired an external cable. Also, never found the remote to the stereo either and it appeared to require it. These are non-issues to me.

Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nppaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,377
    668
    138
    57
    24
See reviews for
1,354
1,237
199
887
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,016)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a wonderful Boston weekend where we stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth. We stayed Friday and Saturday evening at the hotel as this was the "home base" for the wedding festivities. Overall, the service, location, and ambiance of the hotel was top notch. Our room was on the 5th (top) floor and our hotel room window overlooked Fenway Park. The bathroom amenities included the brand "Fresh" soaps, shampoo, etc which is a very, very nice. We asked the front desk staff for some Saturday brunch recommendations and the staff was extremely accommodating and went over and above by calling a few nearby restaurants for us and writing the restaurant info down for us.

Additionally, there are 2 restaurants and 1 bar located in the hotel. We had drinks Saturday night a The Hawthorne bar which was more lounge style and very comfortable with hand-crafted cocktails. The other two restaurants in the hotel, particularly Eastern Standard, is highly recommended by my local friends, but unfortunately we did not have time to try it out on this stay.

I also did a quick workout in the hotel gym. The gym has a few treadmills, free weights, floor mats, etc. While it's not a huge gym, it has the basic equipment anyone would need for a workout.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us. A T train stop is just outside and the overall neighborhood is an upscale residential area, but just a few short blocks away is Newberry Street with plenty of shops and restaurants.

Overall, while the room rate may be a bit of a splurge depending on your budget, for me I think it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room overlooking Fenway Park available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth for a long weekend in Boston, and loved it! Kenmore Square has really come up in the world. The Hotel Commonwealth is an ideal spot to stage your Boston weekend. It's footsteps from the Kenmore Square T station and a lovely stroll through the Back Bay to downtown Boston. My suite (they gave me an upgrade!) was spacious and comfortable, and they provided the extra housekeeping touches you would expect from a high end property. For example, when I returned to my room early in the evening, my ice bucket was full. The restaurant/room service was a bit limited, but you have so many options in Kenmore Square, it really doesn't matter. Being in the heart of BU was fun for me, as an alum. This will be my first choice for a hotel for future visits.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacTown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Our stay at the Commonwealth was driven by two things - my husband's birthday and the reviews on Trip Advisor.
So glad he picked Boston and so glad everything we read about the Commonwealth is true.
The staff is professional yet warm and friendly. The accomodations - clean, luxurious and tasteful.
So much to do and see:
1 Celtic game (thanks again Nick!), 3 Red Sox games, the Fredom Trail, USS Constitution, shopping, Cambridge & Harvard, Rino's Place, Sam LaGrassa's, Legal Seafood, Island Creek Oyster Bar (wicked oyster sliders), Eastern Standard (yummy trout & schnitzel)
This was our first trip to Boston and I dare say it won't be our last. When we retun, it will definately be here

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennings, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We were in Boston at the end of May, 2012 to see the Red Sox play in Fenway Park. The Commonwealth really made our stay so special. Our "Fenway view" room was spacious and so comfortable. The entire hotel was immaculately clean and welcoming. Fenway is walking distance, of course, so going to and from the park each night was a breeze. The concierge and lobby staff helped us with directions to get around the city, which turned out to be so easy with the green line station right outside the hotel door. We were able to travel easily to the Boston Common and to see the beautiful city in the 3 days we were there. A front door attendant from the hotel even came into the subway to help us get our card and when we were checking out at 5am the front desk attendant, Jeffery Ney, walked down the block to hail a cab for our trip to the airport. If you are going to Boston and want a luxury hotel with impeccable service, you have to try the Commonwealth.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Third trip to Boston in less than two years. Booked the Commonwealth the first time account great reviews by other Red Sox Nation members. Despite its proximity to Fenway Park, the hotel is very quiet, both during and after games. The staff is friendly and helpful and more than willing to answer nearly any question sent their way. Complementary Champagne at check in was a welcome surprise after traveling 3/4 of the way across the country to get there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Great hotel, great service, friendly staff and great location. I would and have already recommended it!

Room Tip: I had a corner room and it was quiet and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,051 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing