We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff, spotless room, comfortable bed, great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We would absolutely, hands-down, recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay in Boston. It's close to Fenway Park, just a few blocks, we walked to the game. There's also a subway stop very close to the hotel. Great location, within walking distance to several good restaurants and shops. It was really the staff who added to our stay, their gracious thoughtfulness and friendliness was wonderfully refreshing. Several unexpected nice touches, the delicious cookie before the game, the generous bottle of champaign to celebrate our wedding anniversary and card - we felt like we were home, this hotel was so comfortable!!! Yes, we'll be staying there again next time we're in Boston. A sincere thank you to the extraordinary staff at the Commonwealth! Bev. & Joel

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,199 - 3,205 of 4,488 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

Beautiful, clean and great staff. I booked this hotel as a quick get-a-way for our 15th Wedding Anniversary while taking in a Sox game. Because our schedule was tight, my husband and I did not expect to spend much time in the hotel. However, that all changed once we returned from the game. Originally booked to stay in a Fenway Room, once the front desk, particularly Lucas, realized it was our wedding anniversary, we were upgraded to the luxurious Luxury Suite. It was truly amazing!! We have traveled quite a bit and have stayed at a number of first class hotels and resorts and this room and the hotel staff is quite exceptional. From the bellhop to room service to the front desk, all seemed eager to help and accommodate any need. Because we were so impressed with the attention to detail with the room and friendliness of the staff, we decided to have dinner at Eastern Standard which did not disappoint. We look forward to returning soon for another stay! Thank you for making our anniversary so special!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Having stayed here on a few occasions now, the Hotel Commonwealth can only be described as elegant, wonderfully comfortable and perfectly located. The service is professional and folks here go out of the way to make you feel welcome. You are steps away from Fenway and there is a great restaurant attched to the hotel. What more could you ask for?

The hotel is exceptionally clean and the rooms are spacious, particularly for Boston. Complimentary wi-fi only makes the deal better. In short, I don't think there is a better hotel in the city is you are looking for the full package. Remember that it's a boutique hotel but that only heightens the experience -- the Commonwealth is truly a home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDeacon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Very nice hotel close to fenway. Extremely clean and had all the features of a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Beautiful, clean, and very friendly staff. Great location on the subway T line only steps from the door. Walking distance to the Museum of Fine Arts, Fenway Park, and Newbury Street shopping and dining. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is because of some faulty housekeeping. Our room was always cleaned beautifully but we NEVER had our coffee pods replaced. We had to call for them all 5 nights we were there. Also, we asked the turn down service to come while we were at dinner, somewhere between 7 and 8:30, yet they always interrupted our cocktails in the room between 5 and 6. It's easily fixed and my only complaint so, not too bad. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We were not facing busy Commonwealth Ave. so our room was quiet. I don't know if the busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osbornat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Always wonderful to return to this fabulous first class hotel. It is truly outstanding in every way.

Room Tip: Junior suites are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The staff were very helpful and gave us a lot of good tips as to where to eat. The bar at the hotel is busy and also a good place to eat and has great service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kettro59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,383 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,339 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,242 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 84 in Boston
4,934 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £147 - £514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing