We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and quality service”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Large comfortable room, attentive and friendly staff, great restaurant and and enjoyable stay despite the time being for work. I appreciated the large bath, view from the window and especially the comfortable bed. A home from home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyAttwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,062 - 3,068 of 4,578 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

On our drive to Maine from Philly, we stayed a single night in Boston last week, and chose the Commonwealth. We could not have made a better choice. Due to rush hour traffic, we were running a bit behind for a restaurant dinner reservation we had made beforehand (Atlantic Fish on Boyleston). I was going to cancel it, since we were down to the wire and I expected it to take some time to get the car valeted, check in, and get luggage from car to room. To my wife's and my surprise, we pulled up to the front of the hotel, and were instantly greeted by the doorman, Jeff, who not only made sure our car was properly and promptly valed, but had our luggage up to our room by the time we checked in - which was only 5 minutes. We double-timed it to the restaurant, and were only 15 mins late (it was a 12 minute walk). Amazing! Plus the hotel is beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The view overlooking Commonwealth was amazing. The service couldn't have been better - we got the same expert treatment on our way out of the hotel. My wife and I are discerning travelers, and we couldn't stop talking about how amazing the Commonwealth was for the first 30 minutes during our drive to Maine. We are definitely staying here again!

Thanks, everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAIRdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

I recently visited the East Coast for the first time, taking in a once in a lifetime baseball trip with my sons to New York and Boston. The proximity of the Commonwealth to Fenway Park (a five minute walk) was ideal. The Hotel's service was absolutely outstanding. Never one problem arose and the staff was always bright and friendly, ready to take care of our needs promptly. The only minus was the shower mats, the pointy things were a little annoying for my feet, but if that is the only issue, it can be tolerated. Overall, a wonderful stay in my Fenway room. Although pricey, I would highly recommend the Hotel Commonwealth to any potential visitor to Beautiful Boston.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Lovely hotel! My husband and I were attending a conference at BU, and were looking for a place to stay the night before. Since it was also my husband's 40th birthday, I hoped to find something a little ahead of the curve. I liked the look and location of the place, but travelocity said it was booked for the date I wanted. Undeterred, I called the hotel directly, and they promptly found a nice room after being told of the special occasion. Upon arrival, we found we had been upgraded for free to the "reading room" -- a fabulous choice for my bibliophile husband, as the room is well appointed in classic literature! We also found a bottle of champagne, 4 lovely chocolate truffles from the restaurant onsite, lotion, soap, and a Happy 40th birthday card. The staff was helpful and courteous. This is not a bargain hotel, to be sure, but a solid choice for pampering and great service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Great service and setting right opposite Fenway park on coom. Avenue. The rooms are large and comfortable. Definately will be back. The famous Oyster island restaurant is right next door so it was very convenient for a late dinner. Next time in Boston will definately visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Nice hotel, good location, but pricey for the amenities. No coffee maker or microwave, just a mini bar with $4 cans of soda. Room was spotless, but the maids were very noisy in the morning. The doormen were exceptionally helpful. Internet was free and a good selection of channels on tv. I stayed there on business, but could not afford to stay here at a normal room rate.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddlembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Myself, my son and his partner recently stayed here for his 30th Birthday. I live in London and they live in Toronto. I had contacted the Concierge, Sam, before we stayed there and he recommended restaurants for my sons birthday and booked it for us. When we arrived he had arranged a bottle of Prosecco, fruit and nibbles and a birthday card for my son. A very nice touch. We had a room overlooking Fenway Park and the room was very big and spotlessly clean. There was only 1 robe in the room but they quickly sent up 2 more and slippers. The staff were very good. The Hotels brasserie was excellent with a great buzzy atmosphere around the bar and the waiter who served us was brilliant as was the food. The hotel is in an excellent position, as we had tickets for the Red Sox and very close to Newbury Street shopping. We all loved Boston and the Duck Tours are well worth doing, which you book in the Prudential building, where there is also the Legal Seafood Bar which was amazing and would really recommend it especially to sit up the bar and try their clam chowder. I would always recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Boston and get in touch with Sam who is so helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,466 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 86 in Boston
1,395 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#9 of 86 in Boston
2,559 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
5,002 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £137 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing