We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
West Lafayette
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

My boyfriend I stayed here for two nights. We really enjoyed the great location, good service, comfort environment, and elegant room here. It was a good choice and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elise317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,336
    653
    136
    54
    24
See reviews for
1,332
1,215
196
877
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,005)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

We arrived on our anniversary and were presented with a wonderful surprise of a bottle of prosecco and strawberries! A great start to our stay in Boston. We had a lovely room, the service was impeccable. Upscale toiletries in bathroom, good size room and very clean and comfortable. We ate in the two restaurants, the Island Creek Oyster Bar, which was more upscale. The food was very good. Mire low key eating available in the affiliated Eastern Standard, great atmosphere and decent food. Without exception all the staff associated with the hotel are courteous and charming.

Tube/subway station right next door but easy walking distance to Newbury St or elsewhere. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation!

Hurricane Sandy hit while we were there and we had to stay a day longer and due to the circumstances were given a reduced rate! Great customer understanding.

Room Tip: We asked when booking for a quiet room and we got exactly that"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Recently we stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth, which is quite close to Fenway Park. We were very pleased with our choice and would certainly stay there again. The room was quite large, very clean and well appointed. We had free WiFi and bathrobes, two things that I have come to appreciate very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhiker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed at the Commonweaalth for 4 nights during our first visit to Boston. We could not be more impressed. Our welcome at the door when we arrived, the friendliness and efficiency of the staff at the front desk and our large and beautifully appointed room all exceeded our expectations.

Add to this the excellent restaurants, the metro station next door and the easy access to the hop on hop off tourist bus and to Newbury street and other attractions then you have the perfect base for explorating this wonderful city.

Room Tip: We chose a bit more expensive Commonwealth room which was large with a separate sitting area and TVs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
200 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Despite their great location, excellent service, comfort and three restaurants within the perimeter of the hotel property, their lack of human compassion and common sense was apparent during the passing of Hurricane Sandy. My wife and I were staying at the Hotel Commonwelath visiting our daughter who is a law student at Boston Univ during the weekend of Oct 26-29,2012. As it is known Hurrican Sandy roared into the Northeast Corridor on October 29, 2012. All of the flights from and to Boston as well as the Northeast corridor were cancelled. Logan Airport was not opened until the afternoon of October 30 and our flight back to San Juan, PR was scheduled to fly out of Logan on October 31, 2012. We asked the hotel if it was ok to stay for the nights of the 29th and 30th of October which they said yes, but charging us @ $359.00 per night. I asked if there was some type of compassion rate due to the fact that we were stuck in Boston. They said no. As I read on the Boston Globe, other hotels in Boston and Cambridge offered compassion rates at lower rates than the Hotel Commonwealth. Hotels such as the W, the Omni offered better rates. We could have moved but we would be far away from our daughter's student dorm.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed here for a few nights when visiting to a game at Fenway Park and sight see with the family. The hotel is very nice and on the upscale side. That being said it was very comfortable and the staff very courteous. The location was great being less than a 5 minute walk to Yawkey Way and the ball park. We even had a room with a view of the park, albeit all you could see was the outer walls and signage. We were also close to shopping and a quick subway ride to the more historic areas and the Freedom Trail. The rooms were a very nice size especially with what you get in city hotels. We got the Fenway rooms with a package that had snacks and baseball themed items for the kids, which were a big hit. The hotel also was anchored by 2 nice restaurant/bars. Unfortunately we could not get our schedules to work for having dinner at the Eastern Standard, but it was packed every night and the food looked good, so book early. Spent several nights at their bar, however. Great selections and decent prices for a hotel bar. TV's are on when the games are and you get a pre and post game Fenway crowd. For a more upscale bar scene try the other side of the hotel at the Island Creek Oyster Bar. Different drink menu and a different crowd. The raw bar was pricey but DELICIOUS. Can't say enough about the hotel other than I'd stay there again anytime with or without the family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EndlessCaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Literally every person on the hotel staff whom I encountered at the Hotel Commonwealth was friendly, helpful and just good old fashioned courteous including front desk staff, doormen, housekeepers and roomservice. Whether I needed more pillows, or scrambled eggs after breakfast hours or even a wheel chair (without an advance notice) each request was fulfilled promptly and politely. After I said thank you, the typical reply was "with pleasure."
Also, great fitness room with new high end equipment.
Very convenient for parents of Boston University students. Suggestion: quieter rooms on the higher floors, further from traffic noise below on Highway 90 on one side and Commonwealth Ave. on the other.
Located at Kenmore Square T station.

Room Tip: My room (502) was spacious with a large bathroom, 2 queen beds, 2 oversized living room chairs, a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SElizabeth4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,230 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,940 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing