We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Commonwealth
Nearby Hotels
Boston Marriott Copley Place(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$247
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Parker House(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$228
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Lenox Hotel(Boston)
US$394
US$354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Boston Logan Airport(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$255
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$362
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$339
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin Boston Waterfront(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$316
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$223
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$297
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sheraton Boston Hotel(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$365
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,628)
Filter reviews
4,628 results
Traveller rating
3,638
738
163
61
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,638
738
163
61
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseastern standardfenway parkisland creek oyster barkenmore squarefenway roomboston universityfront deskred sox gamejunior suitehouse of bluesroom servicegreen linefavorite hotelwonderful hotelsitting areathe entire staffroom was spacious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,075 - 3,080 of 4,628 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Went here for a quick getaway from Hurricane Sandy! We saw on Tripadvisor that it was rated #1 in Boston so we figured, "what the heck!" We were amazed since we have stayed at The Ritz Carlton and some of the other really nice hotels here in Boston! We could not have been more pleasantly surprised.

This is a wonderful boutique hotel in the heart of Kenmore Square. The rooms were fantastic and the bars and restaurant in the hotel were excellent! More important, the staff was outstanding--all very friendly and accommodating! (We thought we had to leave early for a family crisis and they were very willing to help in any way possible--luckily we did not!)

I would highly recommend this great little hotel (which is not so little) for any trip to Boston.

Room Tip: We had 328---at first I was concerned since we were on a low floor and faced Kenmore Sq---however, it was very quiet and absolutely NO street noise
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMSCLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My boyfriend I stayed here for two nights. We really enjoyed the great location, good service, comfort environment, and elegant room here. It was a good choice and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elise317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We arrived on our anniversary and were presented with a wonderful surprise of a bottle of prosecco and strawberries! A great start to our stay in Boston. We had a lovely room, the service was impeccable. Upscale toiletries in bathroom, good size room and very clean and comfortable. We ate in the two restaurants, the Island Creek Oyster Bar, which was more upscale. The food was very good. Mire low key eating available in the affiliated Eastern Standard, great atmosphere and decent food. Without exception all the staff associated with the hotel are courteous and charming.

Tube/subway station right next door but easy walking distance to Newbury St or elsewhere. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation!

Hurricane Sandy hit while we were there and we had to stay a day longer and due to the circumstances were given a reduced rate! Great customer understanding.

Room Tip: We asked when booking for a quiet room and we got exactly that"
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Recently we stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth, which is quite close to Fenway Park. We were very pleased with our choice and would certainly stay there again. The room was quite large, very clean and well appointed. We had free WiFi and bathrobes, two things that I have come to appreciate very much.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhiker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed at the Commonweaalth for 4 nights during our first visit to Boston. We could not be more impressed. Our welcome at the door when we arrived, the friendliness and efficiency of the staff at the front desk and our large and beautifully appointed room all exceeded our expectations.

Add to this the excellent restaurants, the metro station next door and the easy access to the hop on hop off tourist bus and to Newbury street and other attractions then you have the perfect base for explorating this wonderful city.

Room Tip: We chose a bit more expensive Commonwealth room which was large with a separate sitting area and TVs for this and the bed. A separate toilet and shower and plenty of storage space. Our rating of the pool and spa are average because we did not use them. We wouild suggest that the room include a tea/coffee making facility although we had no problem obtaining a kettle and cups.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews