We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is lovely but the staff is outstanding”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is the second year that I have taken by granddaughters to the Pajama Party and Story telling at the Hotel Commonwealth. The staff at Hotel Commonwealth is not only courteous, but equally as patient with all the children running around. I would strongly recommend this hotel and event.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CitypenguinNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear CitypenguinNan,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am thrilled you enjoyed our pajama party again! It is such a fun event. We hope you will be able to join us again next year.

All the best,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,813 - 2,819 of 4,541 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

I am serving as an adjunct professor for one term with Boston University. My task is to fly in teach and fly out. Though a wonderful opportunity this schedule is quite taxing. The MARVELOUS STAFF at Hotel Commonwealth made my recent trip absolutely seamless. Just one example. As I rushed off to my Saturday class I realized I had left my brand new BU coffee mug in the room. I asked the staff to retrieve it and keep it at the front desk for me. When I returned to pick it up it my thermus cup was washed out, shined up and in a lovely bag. How kind. Regarding the accomodations; my room was well appointed and every ammenity was available. Room service was promt and the food quite good. I look forward to my next two visits. BRAVO to the staff. My stay was perfect.

Room Tip: I was on the foruth floor and though this hotel is on a very busy street, it was wonderfully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zinajacque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Zinajacque,

Thank you very much for your glowing review, we really appreciate it. I am thrilled you enjoyed your accommodations and our staff. We look forward to your upcoming visits.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The staff was extremely courteous and always prepared for any questions I had. The hotel was gorgeous and they had everything I needed. My room on the 4th floor had views of Fenway Park. Very close to Boston University as well as other Back Bay areas.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Emily M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Spent an overnight at the hotel taking daughter and friend to a concert at the House Of Blues. First time there. Very nice hotel. Friendly service. Room service was fast!! Comfy beds. Great restaurant, too! Nick helped us with our bags, funny guy!!

Room Tip: Fun to have a room overlooking Fenway Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CT_Traveler1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear geanak,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am thrilled you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, including our concierge Nick. He is a great asset to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

No wonder why this property is #1 on Trip Advisor for Boston hotels. Spent one night there during President's Day Weekend. Every single staff member was courteous and friendly. The room was very large and beautifully decorated. It was equipped with everything a traveler would need. The ammenities are of very high quality (Malin & Goetz).
Had breakfast at Eastern Standard and it was exquisite (the staff there was awesome as well).

I have a new favorite hotel -- would love to go back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdddieEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear EdddieEddie,

I am ecstatic that you found our staff so friendly and accommodating. We take pride in the level of service we are able to provide to all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Perfect! Traveling with daughter to visit colleges. Great location and friendly attentive staff. Wonderful restaurant next door and cozy upscale bar on first floor. The concierge, Nick McDonald, answered all our questions and made our first trip to Boston so pleasant...just wish he could have made the weather a little more pleasant!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmcalister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear jmcalister,

I am elated to hear that you found our concierge Nick so accommodating. We are fortuante to have him as part of our team. We hope you will return in the future and we will do our best to provide some nicer weather for you.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
SmCweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We were on an East Coast college campus trip and while in Boston stayed at Hotel Commonwealth for a night. We found the location very convenient, the accommodations very nice, and what really stood out was the friendly, helpful staff. Also, there is a great restaurant, Island Creek Oyster Bar, on premise!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9Deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear 9Deborah,

Thank you very much for providing us with feedback. I am thrilled you enjoyed our location and our staff. We love hearing compliments like that. I hope you enjoyed the colleges on the east coast. We hope to see you in the future.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#12 of 84 in Boston
1,365 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#11 of 84 in Boston
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,970 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £137 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing