We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Service Menu Needs Refreshed”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshires, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Room Service Menu Needs Refreshed”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The staff is always friendly, the room was nice, and it is my favorite place to stay in Boston, but it would be great to have some new items on the room service menu - specially for vegetarians (like a hummus and tabouli plate, or an omelet so there is protein, not just fat and carbs like in the other offerings). It also says soup du jour, but it is always cream of mushroom : (
Also, the room service menu lists eclairs (which were very yummy when I had them in the past) but they are no longer available despite being listed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M616M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear MMG616,

Thank you for your review. I apologize that the room service menu was not up to date. I can assure you we are in the process of fixing this issue. I have also passed on your recommendations to our restaurant. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,447
    685
    145
    57
    25
See reviews for
1,385
1,260
203
915
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Had the opportunity to attend a recent Red Sox night game at Fenway and needed a hotel within walking distance to the ballpark. The Hotel Commonwealth served my needs 100%. Only about a 6 minute walk to the ballpark, the onsite restaurant was always bustling and busy. I enjoyed their French Toast and freshly squeezed OJ. Location is also walking distance to a Starbucks, 7 Eleven, and Dunkin Donuts if you want other breakfast options. The room I stayed had 2 Hi Def Tv's and room was always perfect temp wise. My room had a direct window view of the famous CITGO sign. Also the hotel is located next to a common MBTA drop location. A great location to stay especially if have to walk to Fenway Park....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fratwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear fratwell,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us! I hope the Red Sox were able to get a win while you were here. I am thrilled you enjoyed your room and our restaurant Eastern Standard. We hope to see you again for another Red Sox game.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We originally chose this hotel for its proximity to Fenway Park, but we will return because it is a great hotel. Our room was spacious and comfortable, up to date but with an old Boston feel. Staff are friendly and helpful. And the location is the best. We learned upon leaving that we could have requested a coffee maker or teapot for the room. Having these amenities a,ready in the room would have been nice, but we will know to ask next time. The Oyster Bar is a fine place for drinks and seafood dinner.

Room Tip: You get a good part of Boston lore if you choose a room facing Fenway Park. The rooms are very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingJane11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear TravelingJane11,

Kenmore Square is a great area to be in, especially during Red Sox season. I am glad you were able to give Island Creek Oyster Bar a try as well. We are very fortunate to have them on property.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is officially our favorite Boston hotel. It is beautiful, with large, comfy rooms - top amenities (wooden-handled umbrellas, thick robes, charging stations) - nice bathrooms - great location near Fenway Park and right by an entrance to the T (as in 20 feet from). The staff are incredibly friendly, and helpful. Walking through, I commented to my husband that I was very thirsty, while going for the lemon-infused water offered in the lobby. Staff immediately offered complimentary bottled water to take to our room. Keurig machines, with tea and coffee, are also complimentary - as are turn-down services in the evening. Need boarding passes printed? Front desk does it, and has them delivered to your room.
Add to this the three truly great restaurant/bars attached to the hotel (oyster bar, awesome cocktail bar, fabulous restaurant) - and we are happy campers. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear L S,

Thank you for your kind review. We truly appreciate your feedback. I am happy to hear that you appreciated the service at the front desk. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny.
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Pleasant, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Excellent location for subway stop and Fenway Park is a five minute walk. Hop On Hop Off stop right next to Fenway Park. Nice, safe area with some shops and restaurants close by. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Lani H,

Thank you for your review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the location of our Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Lovely hotel in the heart of Kenmore Square. The staff is super friendly and helpful. On a Saturday my room was ready by 11 AM and I was upgraded to a Junior Suite. The only draw back is that there is no coffee in the rooms. There is a Starbucks a few doors away but you can't exactly have your coffee in your pj's. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. I would have liked to smuggle them home with me.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhelmig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear nhelmig,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We do offer complimentary Keurig coffee makers upon request. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so I can add this note to your profile. I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were so impressed with the staff at the Commonwealth. Not only were they over the top friendly, but they also went out of their way to make sure that our stay was perfect. From the gorgeous room to the concierge to the guys at the door- everything about our stay exceeded our expectations. We will definitely be back!

Added benefits: This hotel is located right next to the T which made sightseeing so easy. They are also about a block from Fenway which made catching a game incredibly convenient.

Room Tip: We chose the "Fenway Room" and had an awesome view of Fenway Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Amanda W,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Commonwealth for such a special occasion. I hope it was a memorable one! We hope to see you again next year.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,285 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,261 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing