We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious & Comfortable”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Spacious & Comfortable”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a lovely old hotel. The furnishings are traditional, but the hotel has tried to stay up-to-date. The bathroom was large and well-appointed. The room was spacious and I really liked the semi-separate sitting area (there were drapes dividing the bed from the easy chairs and desk space. It was nice that there were 2 tvs. Great to have free wifi. But it makes no sense to have only 1 phone and that one is by the desk. There was no phone by the bed. This was complicated by the crazy "George" sound system in the room. While it is nice to have the ability to play one's iPod through the sound system and perhaps wake to it - the system was virtually impossible to understand and program. The small "remote" extension of the system with a clock by the bed had no instructions on it. The instructions on the base unit were hard to reach and even harder to understand. It was very difficult to program a wake up/alarm. Yet with the only phone on the desk I didn't want to have to leap up from the bed in the darkened room to answer a wake-up call. So I used my phone alarm but that was also difficult because all the extra electric outlets and charging station were on the desk (also only for the 30 pin iPhone/iPod - not the new iPhone 5 style). Had to move one of the bedside tables around to find an empty outlet. Advice to hotel - scrub the weird George system and put in an easier to understand iHome or other radio/alarm/iPod-iPhone sound system, phone and lamps by beds w/ electric outlets in base.
Staff was wonderful and friendly. Great location, especially if going to Boston University or Fenway (which is right behind the hotel - may be crazy when there's a game), upscale restaurants connected to hotel looked very popular. Also a couple of moderate-priced restaurants and Starbucks. Next to a T station and bus routes. Easy to walk to Newbury Street and a manageable walk to Copley Place/ Boylston Street shopping.

Room Tip: My street facing room on a lower floor didn't have bad traffic noise as I feared, but there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear CNPH,

Thank you very much for your detailed review about your stay with us. I apologize that the George system in your room was difficult to use. We are currently exploring new ideas for our in room music system. We hope to see you in the future.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,508
    697
    152
    57
    25
See reviews for
1,412
1,285
206
933
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,059)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed September 21st with girlfriends for a Red Sox game. We were offered champange upon check-in (nice touch), and the staff is very nice. The lobby is beautiful and comfortable. The room was well appointed, very roomy and luxurious. You can't beat the location, which is just a short walk to Yawkey way. There is no doubt I will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happygirl2008Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Happygirl2008Boston ,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. I hope you were able to see a Red Sox victory while you were here!

We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed for just one night...unfortunately.... a fantastic hotel. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite on the 3rd floor, the room was exrtremely spacious and clean, we had a large bathroom with bath as well as a shower and the bed was very comfy. We ate in one of the restaurants for Sunday Brunch and also for our Dinner and was not dissapointed. The hotel though is slightly away from the main areas in Boston but with the buses running straight outside and the Hop On/Hop Off stop nearby this is not a problem and the area is just as nice. Will we definitley stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela141250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear angela141250,

Thank you very much for posting a review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us along with our food and bevarage outlets. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

First time staying at the Commonwealth--stayed in many other Boston hotels so in a good position to compare. Fabulous staff--friendly-eager to help. Comfortable bed, quiet room--I would say that the Commonwealth is on a par or even better than the other luxury Boston hotels. It is conveniently located, has two great restaurants.I will definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 456cbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear 456cbw,

Thank you for your kind review about our staff. Our staff prides themselves on the level of service they are able to provide. We are also very fortunate to have Eastern Standard and Island Creek Oyster Bar located within the hotel. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed at the Commonwealth for 3 night, amazing hotel, fantastic staff, very helpful and knowledgable, minutes from Kenmore T.....wonderful corner Kenmore room and free wifi.... Would stay again and defiantly recommend to others
Bed was extremely comfortable, lovely pillows and linen, luxury towels
All in all Goidelic value for a good four star hotel

Room Tip: Corner Kenmore room is very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieE206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear JulieE206,

Thank you for your review and kind comments regarding our staff. The team is passionate about service and making our guests feel welcome. We truly appreciate the recommendation.

Warm Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The accommodations at the Hotel Commonwealth were wonderful. Our room was bright, tastefully decorated and very clean. Every member of the staff were courteous and helpful. The hotel is in walking distance to Newbury St. (Stephanie's Restaurant a must), Boylston Ave. & Fenway Park. The hotel is just steps away from the "T" (public transportation) which takes you everywhere. My wife & I walked the streets around the hotel and even at night felt very safe. We our looking forward to our next visit & staying at the Hotel Commonwealth.

Room Tip: Facing Commonwealth Ave. and choosing the Mini Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Richard D,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay. I'm glad Hotel Commonwealth's location worked to your advantage. The shopping and restaurants create a contagious energy that really completes the experience. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I loved this hotel and felt very comfortable there. My room was clean and spacious and very cozy. The staff were so helpful and friendly. It's my pick of hotels in Boston (having visited 3 times now). The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that I am vegan, and I really found it hard to get nutritious and amply-sized meals at the hotel. If they offered a good vegan menu, with more than just salad and fries and stir-fried vegetables (e.g. stews or curries with lentils or other legumes, tempeh, etc..). But I do have this gripe with just about every hotel I stay in around the world!

Please give Hotel Commonwealth a go - you'll love it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Stacey B,

Thank you very much for your review and kind remarks about our staff. I apologize that you did not find the restaurant menu adequate. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our restaurant management. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,329 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,301 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,787 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing