We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel Commonwealth is a beautifully appointed hotel in a great location. Easy access to the T while walking is also ideal because of the central location.

Rooms were impeccable. The staff was so friendly and welcoming. A great place to come "home" to after a long day.

Would stay here again without hesitation. We booked through Orbitz which was easy and a great deal.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank cmz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,267 - 2,273 of 4,520 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

A luxury, boutique hotel that is worth every penny! The level of customer service provided is exceptional! There are many noteworthy hotels to choose from in this beautiful area of Boston, but this one truly stands out. We had the misfortune of leaving an expensive camera in a cab on one of our recent trips. Nick and the staff took time to investigate and helped us track down the cab. He even offered to personally ship it to our home since we were checking out. Each and every employee exudes this level of customer service which is a welcome change in our busy and fast-paced lives. The restaurants are warm and accommodating (you have to relish the view of the Red Sox 2013 Championship banner hanging proudly over Fenway!), the rooms inviting, and the location is both beautiful and convenient. Since our son is a college student in the area, we will be in Boston with great regularity over the next four years. Hotel Commonwealth is our home away from home! Thank you to your management and your staff for the experience you create.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in November, we had been travelling around America and this was our last hotel of our trip. The hotel its self is spotlessly clean,The location is hard to beat and the room was a great size with everything you could need. To top it all off the staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful, which made this hotel the best hotel on our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth last year, and we liked it so much, we decided to stay here again this year on a weekend trip. I can't think of a better place to stay in Boston! We booked the bed & breakfast package which allowed us a meal at Eastern Standard.

We followed the same routine as last year and arrived into Boston on a red eye flight on Saturday morning. Took the airport bus to the subway, blue line to the green line, and in an hour (or so) arrived at the Kenmore stop. The Hotel Commonwealth is literally steps away from the exit which is nice and convenient.

This time around we showed up much earlier, around 8AM, fully expecting not being able to check in, but hoping we could. Unfortunately our room was not ready. The front desk clerk apologized and informed us that check in was at 3PM. We checked our bags with the bellman, and then went to use the restroom by the front desk. The bathroom was locked, so I had to go to the front desk to ask them to open it for me. I thought it was probably because it was still early in the morning and I was the first to use it. A bit irritating, but not a huge deal.

Since we had arrived on Saturday, November 2nd, we learned the Boston Red Sox parade to celebrate their World Series victory was going to begin at 10AM. What a perfect way to kill a few hours! Fenway Park is right behind the hotel across the freeway, so we followed the herd of people. We ended up in a great spot that wasn't too crowded about a mile from Fenway Park, and we got to see the whole parade from the front row. Pretty cool way to start the day.

Walked back to the hotel, arrived close to 11:00AM, and decided to see if the room was ready yet as we were going to the Boston College football game at 12PM. Asked the front desk if the room was ready, and unfortunately the answer was no. The clerk said he could call me when the room was ready, great idea! Went to use the bathroom, and it was locked. I guess it stays locked the whole time, not too happy about this, went and got the front desk clerk who opened it up for me. This was a new one for me, usually the bathroom in a hotel lobby is not under lock and key.

We left the hotel and took the green line out to Boston College. Halfway there I received a call from the hotel informing me that the room was ready! Too bad about the timing, but I appreciated the follow up.

After the game we took the green line back to the hotel and checked in. We stayed in a Kenmore room (last year we were in the much larger Commonwealth room), but we liked the Kenmore room. We had a peek-a-boo view of Kenmore Square with apartments right outside the window, but it was fine. The room is well appointed, plenty of outlets for our electronic gadgets, bathroom is a good size, very comfortable beds with nice linens.

Our biggest complaint which was the same as last year is that the water pressure is extremely high. I think more adjustable showerheads would help mitigate the issue. We told the front desk clerk at checkout, and based on his reaction/feedback, we were the first ones ever to mention this.

Apart from this interaction, most of the staff at Hotel Commonwealth are friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The hotel maintains historical charm while feeling fresh and current.

We checked out on Sunday and left our bags with the bellman again as we had more exploring to do. The bellmen are all very friendly and helpful. We returned later in the afternoon and decided to take a cab to the airport as the green line gets pretty busy on Sundays. Cost was $25 for a ride to the airport.

All in all another great trip to Boston and great stay at the Hotel Commonwealth. My wife and I look forward to doing it again next year!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Superb across the board...location, service, amenities...all were outstanding! Hard to top this class act. Close to everything...Fenway Park, Copley Square, Back Bay, great restaurants...one of the nicest parts of Boston! Room was spacious and well appointed. Both restaurants accessible from the hotel were superb. Looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We knew we liked the Island Creek Oyster Bar (the best) and the Eastern Standard (great for brunch) so when it was time for an anniversary overnight the choice seemed obvious and we weren't disappointed.

The room, bed and bath were great and the separate sitting room was great for an early riser.

Location was great for shopping and the MFA.

Nicholas was most accommodating with some anniversary special details - he even found a really fresh whole pineapple!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteadyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location, walking distance to just about everywhere you want to go, close to public transportation as well. Rooms are a nice size, well-lit, service is very good. Check-in and check-out were very efficient, and staff was very pleasant. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was priced as expected for an on-site restaurant. Plenty of fast-food available in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyetop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,412 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
1,354 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#12 of 84 in Boston
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,963 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 84 in Boston
3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £141 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing