We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasons for the Rave Reviews”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Wow! What a cool place and great location with lots of great restaurants and shopping within walking distance.
We spent almost 4 days out in a chain hotel in the suburbs before moving to Hotel Commonwealth for 3 days. Valet parking whisked us out of our car and to the reservation desk. We received a complimentary upgrade to a Junior Suite on the second floor. This great room included a living room sized suite and king sized bed with lots of room so your suitcases and other possessions stayed out of the way.
The staff was polite and helpful in every instance we interacted with them. One person at the desk walked me through the instructions for using the boom box for an iPod in our suite. Another time I was filling the ice bucket and trying to fit enough ice in the little bucket with the larger sized plastic bags that don't fit the buckets when filled with ice when one employee saw me struggling not to spill the ice and reached in to give me a hand in holding the bag. He asked if I needed more ice than what I was getting. In a world where travelers routinely encounter unnecessary problems and rudeness (sometimes it's the travelers who are rude), Hotel Commonwealth and its employees were refreshingly polite and helpful.
The Oyster restaurant attached to the Hotel was popping on Friday night. We had eaten at an another great local restaurant and stopped in for a nightcap. The place was so packed we couldn't even sit at the bar. From watching all the people while waiting to see if we could get seated, you could tell there was a reason for all the people smiling and enjoying themselves.
Hotel Commonwealth is our new go to hotel every time business or pleasure takes us to Boston.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,251 - 2,257 of 4,565 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

My spouse and I stayed on a recent Monday evening so that we would arrive on time for early morning appointment at Longwood area hospital. From making our reservation to our leavetaking in early morning, everything was perfect. Reservations did not hesitate to honor a room rate that I quoted from Groupon. Our room on 2nd floor had great view of Fenway Park - room itself was spacious and impeccably clean. Bathroom with soaking tub also large and immaculate with lovely toiletries. Room very quiet - no traffic sounds from street or hallway. Staff was all very attentive, professional and courteous. Valet overnight parking pricey, but worth the peace of mind.
Thank you, Hotel Commonwealth for a most comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caro10104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I've stayed numerous times, and have always had a wonderful time. It is conveniently located, has two great restaurants and a T-stop just outside the door. The staff is always friendly and willing to help on any occasion. My requests have been varied, and they always come through.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcarringtonhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Lovely ,classic hotel. Staff was gracious and professional from the the time I made the reservation and throughout my stay. The room was well appointed with luxury linens and a very comfortable bed. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear janice W,

Thank you for providing us with feedback about your stay. I am happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable from beginning to end. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I will always stay at this hotel, very European feel, near everything you could want, excellent staff and very friendly
2 great restaurants connected to the hotel, Starbucks adjacent
I was upgraded to a jr suite with a great view at no extra charge

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soldbysonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Soldbysonny,

I am thrilled that you enjoyed the upgrade into our Commonwealth Junior Suite, along with so many other aspects of your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I am a very young professional and I stayed at this hotel with my partner just for a nice weekend out. None of the employees there took us seriously because we did not look "rich and fancy" or more of a mature age. We left the hotel to go to a show and upon returning we were turned away by the door men who said you don't look like you could afford to stay here and we had to pull out our room key and receipt to prove that we were in fact staying at the hotel. After leaving I spoke to said manager who was not apologetic and said he would "try" look into it. All in all it is a beautiful hotel and I would love to stay there again but because of the way I was treated I will move my business elsewhere. Advice for any younger professionals do not stay here they will think you are not worthy of their business.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank aliciaa_jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear aliciaa_jean,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I will certainly use this information as training with my operational team. I would love to discuss your stay with us further. Please contact me at your earliest convenience. I can be reached at (617) 532-5055 or at the email address below. I look forward to speaking with you.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Hotel Commonwealth is a lovely hotel that is perfectly located.What makes this hotel even more special is the first rate staff! Super friendly and helpful! I have stayed at other Boston hotels and now I only stay at this jewel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BUm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear BUm0m,

Thank you very much for your compliments of our staff. We all take great pride in the level of service we are able to provide. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,452 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#12 of 86 in Boston
1,377 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#9 of 86 in Boston
2,467 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
4,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £121 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing