We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great hotel in Boston very close to Boston University. I found the beds extremely comfortable. Good restaurants close to the hotel. Also ordered extremely late night room service and the food was outstanding and a great value. Next time I am in Boston, this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,182 - 2,188 of 4,534 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I took our 4yr old for his first overnight hotel stay ever and Hotel Commonwealth did not disappoint! From the toy wagon they rolled out for him every time we walked past the front desk to the excellent customer service - our stay was fantastic.

Our room on the 5th floor overlooked the iconic Citgo sign on Commonwealth Ave and the room size was generous.

We look forward to coming again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAunger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We've been staying here for 6 years whenever we come up to Boston. The service is outstanding, rooms impeccably clean and the food in eastern standard is fantastic! The beds could be a little more comfortable. I think it would be wise of them to change to some sort of pillow top mattress or featherbed. Other than that, I have nothing but warm thoughts everytime I think of it!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

spent the weekend feb 8th there. hotel and service are excellent. great location very convenient to attractions. we ate at both restaurants, eastern standard and island creek oyster bar and both were great. if you are an oyster lover, its the place to go, lots of different varieties and the shuckers do a great job. great overall experience, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed at Hotel Commonwealth on a business trip in February 2014. The hotel includes two restaurants and a frozen yogurt shop. It's conveniently located next to Fenway Park and Boston University's campus. I was really impressed with the hotel and will be staying there on my next trip. The room was clean, very spacious, and, although my 3rd floor room faced busy Commonwealth Avenue, it was very quiet. The staff was exceptional - everyone I encountered was extremely friendly and welcoming, and all were eager to ensure that my stay was satisfactory.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Was up to see Boston University. Cannot beat the location, very close to BU. very close to a T stop to go elsewhere. Clean room. Great friendly polite staff. We called the front desk to ask where we could get access to a microwave and they brought one to our room! This is a city hotel so parking will be tough, but the valet service was great. It better be for $45 a day. Free internet though and not skimpy but very high speed.

Only minor complaint is that the shower head cannot be changed from its very tight very hard spray. A wider spray would have been more comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back and you get a great view of Fenway Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slimed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We went to Boston in Jan 2014 and had a fabulous time all round. This hotel is very well located - about 10 minutes walk from the bars, restaurants and shops of Back Bay, a $10 cab ride (or cheaper T fare) from downtown, and 5 minutes walk from Fenway Park.

Inside it is wonderful - you feel looked after and pampered. We didn't try the restaurant, but room service for morning coffee was quick and tasty. We were upgraded to a suite on arrival (arrived on a Wednesday in case there's pattern for that) and were taken aback by the size of the room. Two TVs, a huge window overlooking B.U, and a comfortable bed. Outside was freezing cold, but the room was toasty warm. I'd even recommend turning the air con down at night as we got a bit too warm.

The staff were completely friendly and helpful too - lugging cases, giving directions and hailing cabs. I found the hotel as part of a cut price deal on Expedia, so paid barely more than some that looked far inferior. Would likely go back, and 100% recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ptg333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,420 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#12 of 84 in Boston
1,363 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#11 of 84 in Boston
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,968 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £137 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing