We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bedtime Stories”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bedtime Stories”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife, two sons (6 and 4), and I stayed at the hotel on Friday night for the Bedtime Story package and it was excellent. I would highly recommend this to anyone with children in the same age group. When we checked in the kids were greeted personally and each given a bag with slippers, a book, chap stick, flash light, sun glasses, and binoculars. After that there was a magician, a book reading, a story teller (really great), and hot chocolate. Then pictures with Wally the Green Monster. And a cash bar for the adults.

In the morning there was a pancake breakfast where the kids got to decorate their own Chef's hats, then they "helped" to make the pancakes by mixing a bunch of ingredients in a big bowl.

The rooms are very nice as well - we had a king bed and two roll away beds, there's a curtain divider in the room, so we could give the kids "their own room".

It was very well done. The staff at this hotel is always top notch, very friendly and attentive - better than any hotel I've stayed at. Carly was especially great and made sure the kids were having a fun time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,413
    681
    140
    57
    24
See reviews for
1,374
1,248
200
900
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,027)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Boston roads are confusing, but the hotel was great. The rooms were the best that I've stayed in for quite some time and the restaurants on the property were fabulous. The location was also extremely convenient, right off the Mass Pike and over a station.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmooney94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I had a great experience from the moment I arrived; the young lady at reception found a room for me despite the fact that I was there at 10am, which is much earlier than the standard check-in time! She was so pleasant and friendly, unfortunately I didn't get her name, but she is certainly an asset to the hotel. My room was larger than I expected- I think she upgraded me, and it was fabulous. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was amazing, the bath products are really nice, and everything was spotless. I really like the location and will certainly stay here again. I had a very good meal at Eastern Standard, and enjoyed the art in the small gallery that is located in the hotel.
The Hotel Commonwealth has the perfect combination of old world elegance and modern amenities- well done!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattiellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Friendly & helpful staff. Great overall value although the parking is steep. Practical location. Fabulous restaurants and bars. I recommend the lobster roe noodle dish at the Island Creek Oyster Bar. Great mixologist at Hawthorne. Lovely hotel. Will be back!

Room Tip: Room 504 was very spacious with a cool view of Fenway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedy099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were extremely pleased with this hotel. It is elegant and beautifully decorated. Our room was very large and more spacious than we expected. Staff was very attentive and friendly including reception, doormen, room service, and housekeeping. It was a great location for our visit. Convenient to the shopping and restaurants along Newbury Street. There was no coffee maker in the room but the staff provided one when we requested it. Only negative is the cost of parking but parking seems expensive at competing hotels as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a top-notch hotel by any standard in a great location right by BU and Fenway Park (I'm a Yankee fan...near Fenway is a drawback for me!). Rooms are very comfortable, the HVAC system works really well, the staff is very friendly and efficient. Why not 5-stars then? The shampoo, etc. are in tiny bottles, and we quickly ran out. The front desk acts as both front staff and concierge, and was a bit lacking on the concierge aspect. One evening, the doorman was talking on a cell phone and we had to hail our own taxi in the freezing cold. Regardless, this is a great hotel and could be world class if they paid a touch more attention to the little things.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBAceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

If you're looking for a comfortable and clean hotel at a great rate, this is an excellent choice. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated very close to Fenway Park and the shops along Newbury. There is also a T-stop right in front of the hotel. I wouldn't expect a 5-star room or boutique-feel from this hotel, however the draw is the great value, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. We tried both restaurants attached to the hotel. Island Creek Oyster Bar is amazing; Eastern Standard was a disappointment. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,164 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing