We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Loved the service. Smart people who seem genuinely interested in making your stay convenient and comfortable. Great decor. They have renovated in one respect that was really annoying, however. In an attempt to be high tech and paperless, there are no guest books that explain about the hotel restaurants, and there was no clock -- just a small tablet-type device that worked the first night -- after much feeling around trying in an attempt to know the time... Next day, it was out of juice apparently, despite my replacing it on the cradle. What a hassle. One has to have a personal, charged phone to know the time. The TV wouldn't turn on and had to get engineering up. Was interested in room service, but no menus, just this device that was not working. No list of channels. Had to get one sent up. No movie on demand service either, so if you choose to leave your laptop at home, no movies without commercials and no choices or way to share a film in the room with your family. While I understand not wanting clutter around the room, the lack of information was really inconvenient -- even for someone who is accustomed to using digital devices. I can only imagine what it would be like for people who have never used tablets.

Room Tip: stayed in junior suite. great room, great bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSS007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,347
    656
    137
    55
    24
See reviews for
1,334
1,222
197
882
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,010)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel Commonwealth is particularly convenient to Fenway, Boston College, Boston University, and Newbury Street. The front desk workers, especially Nick, Steve, and Evan, are pleasant and accommodating. They are good at recommending restaurants and getting reservations. The restaurants at the hotel are very good. The rooms are spacious, and the bathrooms are updated. Some renovations to the rooms are being done right now, so ask for a room on a floor that's completely done. There are no minibars or movies to purchase,
but there is free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank springer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was a luxurious hotel in an incredibly convenient location. Everywhere is close and we had a very cool view of Fenway park even though we couldn't see the game. (that's the intentional design of Fenway, I am sure). the room had 2 queen beds and was really very spacious. the bathroom was very clean and white and a very good size. I understand that space in downtown boston has become very expensive but this was a pricey room. we were going to visit colleges with our son so I was looking for a convenient location. You can walk to BU Main campus or pick up the T from Kenmore (the hotel is built above it). the staff was very friendly and professional. I would recommend staying there again but be prepared about how expensive it will be. The only negative was that the pillows were definitely not that great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The staff is young, professional, and enthusiastic about providing a great experience. The were attentive to all our needs and promptly answered questions about the local area around the hotel. We arrived on the minute when check-in started and the room wasnt ready, however we were comped a free round of drinks at the Eastern Standard restaurant bar (an equally professional establishment with a great atmosphere). The room was recently renovated (within the week) and clean. I experience slight difficulty using the elevator as guests are required to swipe a room key (inside the elevator) before pressing the button for their floor. Every time we rode the elevator I could not perform this task quickly enough and we found ourselves (and other guests) being taken for an extra long ride. The system does not work when more than one guest enters the elevator at the same time. Since our room was on the second floor we often opted for the stairs but I was equally frustrated since the door to the stairs on the second floor was frequently locked and we were barred access. I'm puzzled since I thought that would be a fire hazard - and we could not find other stairs. Other than this hiccup I find the hotel well run with a the staff that is able to overcome any obstacle. Another example of their desire to provide a great experience: I mistakenly made my reservation at the Island Creek Oyster Bar for the wrong night and the restaurant/hotel staff made a good effort to get us in at a few hours notice on a busy night. And this is at a restaurant that easily books up several weeks in advance. Thank you! You made our weekend.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces Kenmore square, rather than the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aghalloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

From the moment I arrived I felt a warm welcome. The customer service was stellar. Traveling with an elderly person, I appreciated the kind care extended to him. The room was large, lovely and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nctn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were there for the weekend for the Boston Marathon with our family. We loved the Hotel!! The staff went out of their way to make all the best and the Oyster Creek Restaurant was amazing as well. The hotel recommented the best restaurants for us and booked everything we needed. From the time you arrived to the time you left they did all for you. Great area to watch the marathon as well. Right outside our front door was mile 25. GREAT TIME

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed in Hotel Commonwealth for the Boston Marathon weekend, and I did not regret my choice! This hotel had everything I was looking for, as a runner and a woman travelling alone :
- Great location, at a walking distance from Boston Common and Hynes Convention Center.
- Safe neighbourhood, I was not afraid to take walks alone even in the evening.
- The staff was really friendly and helpful.
- The room was very cozy and quiet, and the bed was so confortable! The bathroom was nice and very clean.
- The restaurant (Eastern Standard) had a great menu, I could find dishes that fitted my runner's diet!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarathonRunner2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,960 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing