We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, Connecticut
1 review
“Fantastic hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for one night with our two young daughters because we were going to the Red Sox game the next day. The location is great. Within walking distance to Fenway, good restaurants and shops and even a nice playground for the kids. Also across the street from the T. The staff was very nice and accommodating and the rooms were very spacious and nicely decorated. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,508
    697
    152
    57
    25
See reviews for
1,412
1,285
206
933
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,059)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Loved the hotel. Fun, funky decor in the lobby. Excellent service at the valet and check in. Polite, friendly, very helpful. Always asking if we needed more info or directions. Wanted to make sure we had dinner reservations because the area would be crowded that night after the Sox game. The room was very large, the furniture beautiful, beds very comfortable. Nice bathroom with good amenities. We had a great view of Fenway. Loved the white curtains with the red baseball stitch stripes. Subtle, clever, but not cutsie. Overall terrific experience. Wish we had more time there. We were in town for a concert at The House of Blues around the corner. Hotel easy walking distance to both Fenway and Newbury St.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of Fenway are pretty cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This was my third stay in Hotel Commonwealth and it did not disappoint. From check-in to check-out, great service all the way! I especially enjoy speaking with the friendly BU interns at the front desk. My room was very comfortable, clean, and everything worked properly. Also offers great restaurants.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here while attending a weeklong workshop at BU. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful from the moment of arrival. The room was exceptionally clean.

This was my second stay at this hotel, and I will stay here again when I go back to Boston.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountieFan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest City, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Vacationing for the first time in Boston, the main purpose was to see the Red Sox at Fenway. We had looked at so many reviews on where to stay we had almost drove ourselves crazy trying to decide. We finally picked Hotel Commonwealth. We are so glad we did. The staff was amazing. The location was perfect. The room was excellent. Being 100% tourist we were a little overwhelmed on where to start. The staff was very helpful. It was a short walk to the Prudential Center where we caught the trolley. Overall our only regret is we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saudi arabia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Hotel Commonwealth never fails to please. The bed and bedding are of excellent quality. The rooms are nicely appointed. The best part of this hotel? - the staff. From the front desk to the doormen, they are top notch. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Boston.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knowj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, NY
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We heard from friends about this hotel our daughter's senior year of college - we now come to Boston just to stay here!
Hotel staff is excellent, each room unique, Eastern Standard our fave for dinner, location is perfect! Not what I thought it would be PLEASANTLY surprised! Highly Recommend!!!! Nick at front desk is great too.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lllovetotravelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,329 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,301 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,787 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing