We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Boston hotel”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Can't get a better location during baseball season! Great fun to sit outside on the lovely patio and watch the Sox fans streaming toward Fenway. Walking distance to the Fine Arts Museum and the Gardner Museum. We had the most wonderful time, and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Boston.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janepa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,098 - 2,104 of 4,580 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We went up to Boston to see the Red Sox vs the Cincinnati Reds game, and we stay at Hotel Commonwealth. Everything about the hotel was perfect! It is located in such a perfect area, we walked everywhere.... Newbury Street .... walked back from MIT.... Fenway .... Everyone from the second we checked in to the minute we checked out was very friendly, genuinely kind. We have previously stayed there a couple years ago and the stay was just as wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Hotel Commonwealth remains one of my favorite hotels in the world. It is small and personal and a fantastic location. The staff are professional and attentive from the moment you get out of your taxi through the front desk and with the service staff. It's recent refresh is lovely and a little more contempory. And the restaurants, Eastern Standard and Island Creek Oyster can't be beat. The new bar is a quiet repreive. Location is excellent. A quick walk to Fenway and strolls along the Charles River. Easy walk to Boylston and Newbury Streets and to shopping along Boston Garden. The Hotel is above the Kenmore T Station - convenient to anywhere in the city. There's a new Starbuck's underneath as well, albeit crammed with BU students. The BU Barnes and Noble across the street is awesome. But i keep coming back because the staff is so great, it's all about the people!

Room Tip: Get a Junior Suite. The extra room space is nice for working and for relaxing. Specify if you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very beautifull and convinient place to stay in Boston. People there are very pleased to welcome you.

I was there for my executive MBA program. That place is very near the Business University of Boston, and you can catch the train to go downtown just in front of the hotel.

A good idea for a few days in Boston.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Hotel Commonwealth is lovely, and that starts with the staff who are courteous, responsive and delightful. From Jeff, the valet who parked my car, to Sean the lovely young man who worked the reception desk, I was treated with the utmost courtesy and respect. It was so wonderful, I didn't want to leave. The Hotel is convenient within easy walking distance of shopping, restaurants, BU, and boasts the excellent Eastern Standard Restaurant on its property. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: I had a Junior Suite facing Commonwealth Avenue, which I loved because I could watch the city wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great location in a great city. Was upgraded to the Baseball Suite, Large room with alot of memorablia, wither your a Soxs fan or not, highly recommend this experience to anyone that is a fan of baseball. Staff was top notch and the cleanliness of the Hotel Commonwealth was second to none.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Never ever experienced such responsive and wonderful customer service. EVERYONE treats you as if you were THE most important person on the planet.

Phenomenal attitude and team spirit. You are so welcomed that you end up telling the front desk when you are leaving and when you will be back, just like you would someone who hosts you in their home.

The food in the restaurants is excellent and the service is even better.

The rooms are huge; the towels are fluffy; the coffeemaker is a BRAND name; and there is even a luxury robe.

You are in the middle of everything yet you can't hear a sound. You can get anywhere by walking out the front door of the hotel.

And did I mention, that these are THE nicest, smartest most wonderful hosts I have ever encountered???

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#11 of 86 in Boston
1,395 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,467 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#9 of 86 in Boston
2,567 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
5,005 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £140 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing