We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Commonwealth
Nearby Hotels
Boston Marriott Copley Place(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$266
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Parker House(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$235
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Lenox Hotel(Boston)
US$407
US$354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$327
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$362
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$339
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Kimpton Onyx Hotel(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$244
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$223
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$297
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,628)
Filter reviews
4,629 results
Traveller rating
3,638
739
163
61
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,638
739
163
61
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseastern standardfenway parkisland creek oyster barkenmore squarefenway roomboston universityfront deskred sox gamejunior suitehouse of bluesroom servicegreen linefavorite hotelwonderful hotelsitting areathe entire staffroom was spacious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,126 - 2,131 of 4,629 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

From the greeting at registration, to the personal handshake send off from the manager, the Hotel Commonwealth took great care of us AGAIN:) We're not special guests, it's just the way they do business. Very accommodating. Changed to King Bed although had booked us into lovely 2 Queen room - no problem. Forget your soda and milk in room fridge? No problem, we'll hold it for you at the front desk. Two best eats in town - the Oyster Bar and ES (Eastern Standard). At ES, ask if Matt is serving. Nice, thoughtful, and eager to please. What more can I say?

Room Tip: Face Comm Ave if you can. The Green Monster if you are really a BoSox fan - but hey, we're from NY.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Steven K,

Thank you for your feedback, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made you feel welcome.
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is described as 5 star. The rooms are great; bathrooms clean and neat; people very pleasant and general location outstanding BUT...

I was disappointed that there was no bottled water in room, no wine or coffee in lobby at any time and no newspapers readily available, nothing in room bar, no continental breakfast and generally none of the extras that one expects at that price or rating. Although it is near the T, transfers are required to get to Cambridge. I would not stay there again if I had activities in Cambridge at busy time. Although it was pleasant and wi-fi was good and free, I might not stay there again -- I love morning coffee readily available without going to restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Claudette S,

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry that there were elements that disappointed you. If you do decide to give us another try, we do have in-room coffee makers upon request and do offer water complimentary in our lobby.
Again, thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Was in town for a concert and only ended up staying for one night. Arrived at the hotel around 1130am and was hoping to get an early check-in since I wouldn't be back until late that night - my room type wasn't available but was offered an upgrade to a suite for a low price and jumped on it so I could store my bags with peace of mind and know exactly where I'd be coming back to. Check-in experience was very smooth. Didn't get much time to enjoy the hotel but would definitely come back. Bed very comfortable, room and bathroom were very clean. No complaints!

Room Tip: Ended up staying in the junior suite - had a large room off the bedroom area that could be separated by a curtain with a desk, couple chairs, and second TV. Felt like that scene from stepbrothers - "So many activities!"
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Derek F

Thank you for your feedback and great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you again when you can stay longer !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the Commonwealth for 2 nights in May 2014. We were in a junior suite. The room was spacious and attractive. As others have highlighted - the staff is incredible. Helpful in every way and quick as well. Great neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNJTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

TheNJTraveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back in Kenmore Square again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Loved this hotel! All of the great amenities of the hotel were only surpassed by the amazing staff! It is located within walking distance of some great Boston landmarks, the subway and amazing restaurants.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel overlooks Fenway park, the front, a beautiful view of Commonwealth ave.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Tara H,

Thank you for your feedback, I'm pleased to hear that the staff and amenities exceeded your expectations. Hope to see you back in Kenmore Square again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews