We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Was in Boston for a Red Sox game and to do a little shopping. As always we find the staff to be very helpful and extremely friendly. The rooms are always clean and so comfortable, which just add to the enjoyment of being out and about in the beautiful city of Boston and then coming back to the room and relaxing in style. Everything the Hotel has to offer is top notch and we would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a friendly attentive staff and the comforts of any of the best hotels you may have stayed at in your travels. Thank you for everything and hope to be back soon !!

Rena

Room Tip: We stayed in room 434 great room and nice view of all the action on the busy commonwealth street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Mark D,

Thank you for your feedback and continued support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,343
    655
    137
    55
    24
See reviews for
1,333
1,220
197
881
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Husband & I came for a Red Sox game & only stayed one night, but the gracious staff, amazing room with an equally amazing view (which was upgraded for us by Nick, our enthusiastic concierge) and great neighborhood will bring us back again! I can't see Anything to complain about - it was ALL incredible! Highly recommend & will Definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFoodie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
travelingfoodie86,

Thank you for your feedback and so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Especially pleased to know that Nick helped make your stay more memorable.

Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

From the greeting at registration, to the personal handshake send off from the manager, the Hotel Commonwealth took great care of us AGAIN:) We're not special guests, it's just the way they do business. Very accommodating. Changed to King Bed although had booked us into lovely 2 Queen room - no problem. Forget your soda and milk in room fridge? No problem, we'll hold it for you at the front desk. Two best eats in town - the Oyster Bar and ES (Eastern Standard). At ES, ask if Matt is serving. Nice, thoughtful, and eager to please. What more can I say?

Room Tip: Face Comm Ave if you can. The Green Monster if you are really a BoSox fan - but hey, we're from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Steven K,

Thank you for your feedback, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made you feel welcome.
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is described as 5 star. The rooms are great; bathrooms clean and neat; people very pleasant and general location outstanding BUT...

I was disappointed that there was no bottled water in room, no wine or coffee in lobby at any time and no newspapers readily available, nothing in room bar, no continental breakfast and generally none of the extras that one expects at that price or rating. Although it is near the T, transfers are required to get to Cambridge. I would not stay there again if I had activities in Cambridge at busy time. Although it was pleasant and wi-fi was good and free, I might not stay there again -- I love morning coffee readily available without going to restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Claudette S,

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry that there were elements that disappointed you. If you do decide to give us another try, we do have in-room coffee makers upon request and do offer water complimentary in our lobby.
Again, thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Was in town for a concert and only ended up staying for one night. Arrived at the hotel around 1130am and was hoping to get an early check-in since I wouldn't be back until late that night - my room type wasn't available but was offered an upgrade to a suite for a low price and jumped on it so I could store my bags with peace of mind and know exactly where I'd be coming back to. Check-in experience was very smooth. Didn't get much time to enjoy the hotel but would definitely come back. Bed very comfortable, room and bathroom were very clean. No complaints!

Room Tip: Ended up staying in the junior suite - had a large room off the bedroom area that could be separated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Derek F

Thank you for your feedback and great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you again when you can stay longer !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the Commonwealth for 2 nights in May 2014. We were in a junior suite. The room was spacious and attractive. As others have highlighted - the staff is incredible. Helpful in every way and quick as well. Great neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNJTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
TheNJTraveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back in Kenmore Square again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Loved this hotel! All of the great amenities of the hotel were only surpassed by the amazing staff! It is located within walking distance of some great Boston landmarks, the subway and amazing restaurants.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel overlooks Fenway park, the front, a beautiful view of Commonwealth ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Tara H,

Thank you for your feedback, I'm pleased to hear that the staff and amenities exceeded your expectations. Hope to see you back in Kenmore Square again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,950 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing