We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Customer Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth on 6/7. Stayed on the side facing the street, very spacious and comfortable room. I was most impressed with the quality of the service throughout my stay. All of the employees at the front desk were friendly and interested in our stay. I spoke to steven who is a manager at the hotel and he did an excellent job at handling a minor situation that occurred during my stay. I would certainly come stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Anthony D,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and that Steven and the Front Desk team helped enhance your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,343
    655
    137
    55
    24
See reviews for
1,333
1,220
197
881
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lumberton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Not worth the money. The hotel is in need of some serious updating. The rooms are outdated, but the lobby and restaurant were very nice . We stayed in one of the executive suites. It was very spacious, but the furniture was from the 80's or 90's. The bathroom was very small, even in the executive suite. The toilet was literally touching the bathtub, which made for an odd experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLady618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
TravelLady618,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay. The hotel at the time of your stay in April was in the final stages of putting all new furniture in place, a process that has since been completed. I hope you will consider giving us another try and see our new more modern and urban look which we are very pleased with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a wonderful experience here and would highly recommend this hotel and both restaurants that are on property. The bar was also very unique and I highly recommend that as well. We had a problem in our room one night the room above us overflowed their tub and it was leaking into our room, they took care of it right away and were very accommodating. We were able to put a fridge and microwave in our room and keep our athlete on his normal eating schedule for the marathon. We would stay here again for sure, it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Doctor MT,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and for staying with us to be part of the Boston Marathon. I apologize that we had some mechanical issues during your stay but pleased that it was resolved to your satisfaction. Also pleased to know you enjoyed our restaurants and Hawthorne Bar while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

This was our second time staying at the Hotel Commonwealth and it was fabulous even better than the first time!! We were in Boston for the weekend to see a couple Red Sox games and stayed at the hotel commonwealth. They remodeled all the rooms not that they needed to. We stayed in a Fenway room and the curtains had baseball stitching on them and they added a nice touch to the room. The beds were really comfortable and the bathrobes were extra soft!! They put tablets in the rooms to control the TVs and set alarm clocks, etc. that was a really nice touch!
The staff was fabulous! ! Frankie was the best and super nice!! Will always stay here when I am in Boston! ! A nice plus to is very close to Fenway Park!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Annie1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Annie 1420,

Thank you for your feedback and for being a loyal customer. I appreciate you comments on our new rooms (especially the baseball stitching!) and am always pleased to be reminded what a terrific Doorman Frankie is. We hope to be part of all your Red Sox getaways in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the charm and grace of the Hotel Commonwealth. The accommodations were both beautiful and comfortable. The staff was attentive, professional, and helpful. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Shannon G,
Thanks for your feedback and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to be helpful. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell Hall, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great water pressure in the shower, comfortable bed, plenty of drawer space. Valet service quick and convenient. Overall the rooms are classier than your typical hotel as is the hotel in general. Two excellent eateries on each side of the hotel. Staff are very polite/courteous. A little on the expensive side but still less than many good hotels in Boston.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
David K,
Thank you for your feedback and I'm pleased you enjoyed both the hotel and our great restaurant partners at Eastern Standard and Island Creek Oyster Bar. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This Hotel ALWAYS surprises me with complimentary Wine, Chocolates, Suite Upgrades, etc.. This hotel makes my trip memorable whenever I stay here! With Jeff skippering the front desk and assists from Steve and lovely Hannah and Frankie making it happen out front, you're sure to hit a HOME RUN at the Commonwealth.

Room Tip: I love the view of Fenway Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk6460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dirk6460,

Thank you staying with us and for taking the time to provide feedback.

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that several members of our team including Jeff, Steve, Hannah & Frankie helped make your stay more enjoyable.

WE hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,950 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing