We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and lovely accomodations!”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent location and lovely accomodations!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent a family vacation here with our children and grandchildren. The hotel gave us adjoining rooms which are large, fresh and comfortable. The staff is very pleasant and helpful, and the two adjoining restaurants are excellent. A subway entrance is just outside the front door, and many places of interest are within walking distance. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JgEg41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
JgEg 41,

Thank you for providing feedback and for making us part of your family vacation to Boston.
I'm pleased to hear you found are rooms so well suited to your family's needs. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,447
    685
    145
    57
    25
See reviews for
1,385
1,260
203
915
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Attleboro
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

! Great way to spend our anniversary in Boston and so close to everything. We selected the game on package and stayed at the hotel overlooking Fenway! It was wonderful. The staff was pleasant and professional .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbedard16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
rbedard16,

Thank you making us part of your Anniversary celebration and for taking the time to provide feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and especially glad to heat that our staff was accommodating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spearman
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel Commonwealth was wonderful! The staff was warm and very helpful. We had a second floor junior suite that was newly remodeled. Perfect. Both restaurants Island Oyster and Eastern Standard are very good. Great location for Red Sox games.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ginger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Ginger P,

Thank you for staying with us and for providing your feedback. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed both the hotel and restaurants. I hope the Sox won !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in a Junior Suite room at the Commonwealth for two days. We could not have asked for a more perfect hotel experience. The room was spacious, quiet, and well appointed. All of the staff, including car valets, front desk personnel, and room service personnel were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We generally had our in-hotel meals via room service, and the food and service were great!

A tablet PC was provided in the room, through which many hotel services and supplies could be requested. It also provided Internet access via free wifi. When we first arrived I found that it had to be rebooted (turned off and then on) before it would recognize me as a registered guest, and unlock some of these features. The one suggestion I would make to hotel management is that the tablet and its usefulness be called to the attention of guests staying at the hotel for the first time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Alfred W,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and your suggestion to add an orientation of the tablets to our check-in process is spot on and we will implement that right away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth on 6/7. Stayed on the side facing the street, very spacious and comfortable room. I was most impressed with the quality of the service throughout my stay. All of the employees at the front desk were friendly and interested in our stay. I spoke to steven who is a manager at the hotel and he did an excellent job at handling a minor situation that occurred during my stay. I would certainly come stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Anthony D,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and that Steven and the Front Desk team helped enhance your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumberton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Not worth the money. The hotel is in need of some serious updating. The rooms are outdated, but the lobby and restaurant were very nice . We stayed in one of the executive suites. It was very spacious, but the furniture was from the 80's or 90's. The bathroom was very small, even in the executive suite. The toilet was literally touching the bathtub, which made for an odd experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLady618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
TravelLady618,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay. The hotel at the time of your stay in April was in the final stages of putting all new furniture in place, a process that has since been completed. I hope you will consider giving us another try and see our new more modern and urban look which we are very pleased with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a wonderful experience here and would highly recommend this hotel and both restaurants that are on property. The bar was also very unique and I highly recommend that as well. We had a problem in our room one night the room above us overflowed their tub and it was leaking into our room, they took care of it right away and were very accommodating. We were able to put a fridge and microwave in our room and keep our athlete on his normal eating schedule for the marathon. We would stay here again for sure, it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Doctor MT,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and for staying with us to be part of the Boston Marathon. I apologize that we had some mechanical issues during your stay but pleased that it was resolved to your satisfaction. Also pleased to know you enjoyed our restaurants and Hawthorne Bar while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,284 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,261 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing