We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Billy Joel to bed”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked one night as a treat after a Billy Joel concert. The room was immaculate, comfortable, and the linens and pillows are great. The in-room safe, refrigerator, free Wi-Fi and Google tablet were a plus. Beautiful desk/table with many outlets and deep glass shelves in the bathroom provide lots of storage. We had a Fenway Park view room, but don't be fooled - you can only see its signs. Our room was on the fourth floor directly overlooking the air conditioning units, not a pretty sight, and a bit noisy due to the refrigerator's on/off cycles, the HVAC system and a housekeeping closet in the hall nearby. We were close to the elevator, a plus. Thankfully they provide very strong blackout curtains, because Fenway lights remained on after the concert! It was as bright as daylight with them shining, but the curtains did a great job of making our room dark. Had we booked for more than one night I would have requested a slight change in room location. I recommend this hotel, maybe with a few tweaks if you find yourself overlooking the roof. The hotel feels fresh and new. All employees encountered were helpful and friendly. This is close to shopping, the subway, and many of Boston's schools and attractions. It would make a great base for your travels.

Room Tip: Fourth floor near elevator has A/C units outside your window on a roof below. Fenway lights are sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

lynlynch,

Thank you for staying with us and for providing detailed feedback ( we are looking into the fridge issue). I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,939 - 1,945 of 4,492 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hotel Commonwealth was exactly where we needed to be. Less than 1/2 a block from the Kenmore subway stop (without having to cross a street), around the corner from Fenway Park and one subway stop from Newberry Street. Nick, the concierge, made us feel welcome and remembered every time we came in and went out. The complimentary refrigerator was a nice surprise and there is a complimentary Keurig and microwave for the asking. The room came with a tablet which was great for room service, television guide, The bed was so comfortable, it was like sleeping on a cloud and the area was so quiet - no sound from the street or the adjacent rooms. The two restaurants in the hotel - Eastern Standard and Island Creek Oyster Bar - were so convenient. And Newberry Street was full of restaurants and shops. The Old Towne Trolley looked like it would be very easy to use. We purchased a Charlie ticket at the airport and used it to get to the hotel and four or five times a day after that. The staff at the hotel were very helpful to give us restaurant recommendations and directions all over town. The doormen were very welcoming and polite and really tried to make us feel at home.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was wonderful. We could see Fenway Park out of window by the elevators. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanji404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

sanji404,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great service
Great atmosphere
next to Fenway park
Oyster bar restaurant (attached to hotel) is awesome best selection on bourbon I've seen in a while
Kerig coffee maker
Can't go wrong
If there is anything at Fenway ask for a commonwealth st room

Room Tip: I booked with hotels tonight and saved $250
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

yorock 1,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide your feedback. Glad you enjoyed Island Creek Oyster Bar during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Excellent location to Fenway Park, clean, friendly staff.

If you have any seafood allergy I would not stay here the smell of Oysters filled the lobby and checking area. Seating to the two restaurants gives no preference to guests of the hotel, the entrance is awkward either going through Eastern Standard or the main entrance both of which require stairs.

I think it was a very nice hotel, and if it had been $200-$250 it would have been all fives but my one night cost & 425 of which 46 was parking that was extra.

All that being said I would stay there again, I would however search the web for better rates instead of going directly to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAED1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

BAED 1,

Thank you for staying with us and for providing your feedback. I apologize that Island Creek Oyster Bar was sharing their scent with us, that's typically not an issue. Also, please not that there is an elevator for guests use through the main entrance that is next to Island Creek.
We appreciate you making us part of your Fenway Concert night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We visited Boston for a sold out concert at Fenway and didnt want to fight crowds afterwards. This hotel makes staying in the heart of Boston simple! Clean, comfortable and more than amazing linens! We had a junior suite, plenty of room and quiet (surprisingly given the number of people around). On property Starbucks and Eastern Standard (try the sweet cream custard) added to the simplicity, and we throughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Chele F,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Recently stayed for 3 nights in 2 rooms. Great location, great service, proximity to BU and Northeastern University. Plenty of great shopping and restaurants nearby. Class act all around. Only downer is the price to park your car - $46/day.

Room Tip: The Fenway rooms are plenty large for 2 people. They can even give you adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorGNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

DoctorGNewJersey,

Thank you for staying with us and for providing feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we will see you again on your next trip to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Pros: 1. 40 feet from the door to the "T." 2. Doorman at all hours. 3. 24 hour concierge that doesn't miss a beat. 4. Dunkin' Donuts and Starbucks are a few dozen yards from the front door (fresh coffee). 5. In-room fridge that stays out of sight in a cabinet. 6. Ample electrical outlets for multiple devices (we had 2 laptops, 3 tablets, and 3 phones). 7. Quiet, quiet, halls and rooms. 8. A jack for hardwiring if you prefer that over landline. 8. Free, fast daily wi-fi. 9. Fresh and plentiful linens at every room change. 10. Super clean premises and rooms. 11. Mini-tablet (on own charging stand) as the alarm/weather unit. 12. Great view of Fenway Park. 13. Wide variety of dining within a half-mile walk.

Cons: 1. No coffee maker in the room for those who expect it (see above). 2. A substantial walk from a local grocery mart if you need supplies that can't be gotten at a convenience store.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

April R,

Thank you for staying with us and for the detailed feedback. I appreciate your insight and hope we will see you again soon. We do indeed offer complimentary coffee makers upon request if you want one during a future visit. Wish I could do something about the grocery store !

Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,387 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,341 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,250 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 84 in Boston
4,938 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £148 - £514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing