We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place with great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“A great place with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a great place to stay in Boston, especially if you're in town to see a Red Sox game. Every area is gorgeous and clean, and the staff are all very friendly and accommodating. They have two excellent restaurants attached to the hotel, and there are plenty of places nearby to eat and drink. We walked everywhere and took a short cab ride where we couldn't. For the price, this place can't be beat.

Room Tip: They have rooms with a view of Fenway, if that's what you're into.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
John G,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I;m pleased you enjoyed the hotel, restaurants and our convenient location. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,343
    655
    137
    55
    24
See reviews for
1,333
1,220
197
881
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Overall our stay was wonderful. We stayed here for a quick 4th of July get a way. We loved how close it was to Fenway. Just a quick walk over the bridge. We had rented a car and wished we would not have.. We took cabs everywhere and walked. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurants at the hotel were excellent. Our only complaint is they put us next to a family that had an infant. Our room had a connecting door so not sure if the walls were thin or because of the door..Needless to say we all woke up when the baby cried in the night. I really don't understand why hotels don't take families with young children into consideration. We all have been there, it is nerve racking for the young family and other guests around them. It was bad timing for us, because we were going on two days of 4 hours of sleep. We were hoping to catch up on our sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twolabfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
twolabfamily,

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed the hotel's great location but certainly apologize that you were not able to get a great nights sleep. I hope you will try us again the next time you are in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The staff was amazing. Hotel bar and restaurant "Eastern Standard" was convenient and delicious. They had a great staff and were very accommodating! Comfortable beds, spacious and clean rooms. Made our stay just that much better. Left my wedding ring in the room, they found it and are going to mail it... Hope it makes it safely! A huge thanks to Justin and housekeeping!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostonash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Bostonash,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. I'm pleased both the hotel and restaurant met your expectations and that Justin was able to find your ring !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The location and service at Hotel Commonwealth are unbeatable! We stayed in a Fenway Room and had a direct view of the Park. The curtains even had baseball stitching on it. Upon checking in, Sean greeted us and got to know us a little. He had great recommendations of various things we should do while visiting Boston. The second day we were in town my boyfriend proposed at Boston Public Gardens. When Sean found out, he sent a bottle of champagne and chocolates up to the room! We never needed or wanted for anything during our stay and felt very taken care of. The walk to Fenway for our baseball game was so quick and easy. We will absolutely stay at Commonwealth next time we are in town!

Room Tip: If you are a baseball fan, it is definitely worth the splurge for a Fenway Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Beth M,

Congratulations on your engagement and thank you for making Hotel Commonwealth part of it. I'm pleased that Sean at the Front Desk was able to enhance your stay and that you enjoyed our location next to Fenway Park. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I'd like to thank Nick, Sam, Sean, and Josh to name a few, for the care they allotted me and my family. They were courteous from the time I drove up to the time I checked out. They are highly recommended and well worth the expense. My girlfriend enjoyed the hotel breakfast I enjoyed the local restaurants and especially the very short walk to Fenway Park. We plan on staying again next year. It should be noted however, there is no pool.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones that overlook Fenway Park. However, there is no pool or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Tom V,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. I'm especially pleased to know that Nick, Sam, Sean I Josh all had a positive impact on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The service, door to door, at the Hotel Commonwealth was excellent. The room itself was a boring rectangle. I found the layout uninspired. It was very clean and nicely decorated. However, the room did not feel romantic: it felt utilitarian. The location was awesome. We ran on the Charles and went for a great dinner at a restaurant steps away. The next morning, we walked to Newbury and had a great breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Kara S,

Thank you for staying with us and for providing your detailed feedback. I pleased to hear you enjoyed our service and location but certainly sorry that the room decor did not meet your expectations. Just so you know, we are working on adding several touches to our rooms over the coming months that I think will address these very concerns you have. I hope in the future you will be willing to try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

You will LOVE the Hotel Commonwealth! Excellent location and walking distance to Fenway Park. We stayed in the Fenway room and they put us on the top floor. We had the most perfect view of the Fenway Park sign. The boys loved it! The staff is great! You will DEFINITELY want to take advantage of the breakfast (if included in your package). They give you credit to the restaurant that is attached (if you enter from the inside). If you enter from the outside, you will think it isn't a part of the hotel. Great breakfast options! We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the top floor (if possible). If you are going to Boston, you definitely want a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Victoria G,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experiences. I am so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and restaurants during your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,948 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing