We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and Comfortable”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had a reservation for an overnight stay in a standard room, but our GPS died and we got lost right on the heart of Boston. I called the hotel for directions and spoke with Sean, who guided us to the hotel, and while checking us in, upgraded us to a luxurious suite to make up for our hassle! Thank you Sean!!! The suite was absolutely gorgeous! The decor was modern and sophisticated and the bathroom had every amenity imaginable. Even though we had a sitting area with bay windows overlooking Commonwealth Avenue, the room was quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were soft and cozy. The hotel is within walking distance to everything, including several T stops. This hotel is well worth the price. I wish we had been able to stay longer!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domino4663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Domino4663,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and that Sean was able to get you here through the streets of Boston! We hope to be able to welcome you back often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,467)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Commonwealth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,800 - 1,806 of 4,468 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great location - close to Fenway Park, subway and bus lines. ALL of the staff are very much attuned to customer service, helpful with question about hotel and area. Room right on street -- could not hear any noise.

A Keurig coffee maker was provided upon request. Two restaurants in hotel and many more close by.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fore_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Fore_12,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel and that our staff was able to enhance the experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Beautiful hotel and the location is excellent. Service was very good and the staff is very friendly. Location to Bostob Red Sox Park and subway system is excellent. Plenty of restaurants are near by and a good shopping location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Warren B,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Nice hotel, within walking distance to Fenway Park & close to T-line (subway). No coffee maker in room . First morning there we were woken up by fire alarm & emergency evacuation - noisy & would not shut off! Second morning train derailment in subway. Fire trucks ambulances police helicopters......thankfully no one seriously hurt. Crazy stuff. Not sure I'd stay there again - need somewhere quieter.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Susan B,

Thank you for staying with and for taking the time to provide feedback. I'm sorry that we had an alarm during your stay however our system is intentionally sensitive to provide the highest level of safety to our guests. Once an alarm sounds, we are not permitted to turn it off until the Boston Fire Department gives us permission, regardless if we know there is no emergency. As for train derailments..........I wish I had control of that !! We do offer offer coffee makers in the room upon request in case you want to try us again for what I'm sure would be a quieter experience !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We arrived very late and we happy to find that room service served a limited menu until 2a. When the food arrived it was good except for the fact that 2 of our burgers were cooked rare to medium rare. When we called for the room service to be picked up we let the person know. I saw a $5 credit on our bill that may have been from the charge but there was no way to tell. The front desk ladies were great. However, when we asked about the included breakfast in our package the front desk manager seemed a little short with us when he didn't know or couldn't answer how the included breakfast was to be handled and the amount that would be applied. On last small issue was we requested a roll-away bed.. the bed was in our room when we arrived but no pillows our blankets were provided. House keeping brought them up quickly so it wasn't an issue. If you want to go to a Red Sox game or visit BU this is a great place to stay. BTW why do many hotels not provide an in room coffee maker anymore. Cost?

Room Tip: The Fenway rooms really don't offer much in the way of seeing into the park. Yes you can see a...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shanes730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Shane S,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel but do apologize for the room service, package and housekeeping issues that occurred during your stay. These are simple things that we clearly should have delivered flawlessly and I appreciate knowing about them. We do actually offer coffee makers upon request so the next time you stay, let us know and we will have one for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The reason I am giving this place a poor rating is due to their customer service and overall experience. Each room has an industrial size fire alarm. On the 3rd night, the loudest fire alarms you have ever heard went off very, very early in the morning almost giving my husband and I a heart attack (apparently, some jerk off pulled the alarm). Then the alarms continues to go off 4 more times throughout the morning- not cool at all when you are just trying to get some rest. Then when I talked to the front desk about what they were going to do to remedy the situation, they were less than sympathetic. They did not offer any compensation, apologies or show concern whatsoever. I would not choose this hotel if you are looking for a nice place to stay in Boston to relax :( Quite unfortunate to leave town on that note.

P.S They are connected to an Oyster restaurant next door which makes the entire lobby and elevators smell like dead fish :( ewwwwww

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great rooms, easy walking distance from Fenway and all area Bars and shops. Literally feet from subway station that will take you anywhere in Boston. Staff very helpful with guidance on places to see and go.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warren f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

warren f,


Thank you for staying with us and for providing your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was so helpful. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,353 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,322 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 84 in Boston
4,871 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,164 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £145 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing