We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay!”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great one night stay!”
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Went to a Red Sox game, the hotel couldn't be in a better location, takes about 5 minutes to walk to Fenway. Close to all stores on Newbury too. Hotel was clean, and beautiful. Room (we stayed in a Fenway room) was large, and had a nice view of Fenway. Got room service, it was fastest I have ever seen. The staff were all very friendly. I would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,483
    692
    147
    57
    25
See reviews for
1,399
1,274
204
926
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,045)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge, ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2009

When I recommend places to stay in Boston this is always the hotel I suggest. So my family stayed here for a couple of days. Everything about it is wonderful: comfortable beds, spectacular service, luxurious, high-quality linens, gracious staff, perfect location for sightseeing. My family truly enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenn012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

I just had a superb 3-night stay in a junior suite at this impeccible boutique hotel. If you are on the fence about budget, I recommend spending the extra money to stay at the Commonwealth. It's a very low-key, high-quality experience and it added a lot of comfort and pleasure to my recent conference time in Boston. The room is perfect, functional, tasteful, and clean. Service is enthusiastic and responsive. This is not a trendy hotel, but rather a contemporary update on a classic hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraLLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

The staff, service, and quality of rooms were exceptional. If you are going to be in the back bay area for any reason.. this is the hotel.. a few blocks from newbury st. , a 2 blocks from fenway, and a 10 min. walk to copley square. The kenmore square T stop was right next to the hotel's main entrance. The staff was the most friendly and cooperative staff we had encountered in a long time. For the overall price per night and the service.. ... a secret in boston!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbeeCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth, mi
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

There really isn't anything negative to say about this hotel. The staff is friendly, attentive and available. The elevators are fast and quiet. The Linens are high quality. The rooms are spacious and clean. The valet service is fast and friendly. The attention to detail at every step is fantastic.

Located on Commonwealth Avenue, you are around the corner from Fenway Park and The House Of Blues - an easy and safe 10 minute walk, tops. A longer, but very feasible and beautiful 25 (or so) minute walk gets you to the Boston Common and the heart of the city.

The hotel smells great and everything is in complete order. It is not a budget hotel - you will play more that most chains - but I feel that the rate was very reasonable and worth every penny. We felt very comfortable there and would glady stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adavici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2009

This was a beautiful hotel & the service was excellent. Well located with the "T" @ our door step & walking distance from many attractions. I would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ireneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We had a wonderful stay here over Valentine's Day weekend. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and we heard almost no outside noise. The turndown service was wonderful, including the special Valentine's Day treat. The staff was wonderful, too. They have an excellent collection of DVDs that you can get for free to watch in your room, which we took advantage of during our stay. The location is also excellent, as it's right next to a "T" stop if you want to use mass transit to get around Boston. It's also within walking distance of many of the top sights in the city. As a newspaper lover, it was great being able to pick up a free London Times, NY Times or Boston Globe at the front desk, even on a Sunday! Even though we didn't have a laptop with us, it was nice to see that there is free Internet access in the guest rooms, which isn't always the case at the pricier hotels. A friend who lives in Boston told us the restaurant located in the hotel was excellent, although we never got a chance to sample the cuisine. If I got a good rate, I would definitely come back. I'm afraid this place is out of my price range with its normal rates.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,299 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,274 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing